We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Cameron Highlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A gem in Cameron Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were spending our 40th anniversary touring Malaysia, from KL to Penang. I hired a car to climb the hill to Cameron Highlands in difficult weather conditions and discovered The Lakehouse. Our welcome at reception was exemplary and our 4-poster room superb, At dinner time our table was decorated with rose petals and we were presented with a cake by the staff. The lounges, plural, were discrete and very comfortable. The weather outside was constant monsoon but the service was more than warm. This hotel and staff are absolute gems.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe lave view room, never mind that dredging work has turned the lake cappuccino colour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear mjw44

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    151
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
113
199
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had so much fun at this hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and informative. The room is cosy and clean. We love the common area and reading area especially the fire place where guests could request for it to be lit up. The outdoor terrace and the pockets of gardens are nice too. The tudor inspired architecture of the hotel is simply impressive and awed upon. The lushes green that surrounds the hotel somehow creates a sense of unparalleled tranquility. Best to follow the North bound Plus highway and take Tapah exit if one chose to stay here since its nearer this way. An excellent place to stay and have family & friends fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CheHasnadi

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel, its gardens, the fireplace which we light up every evening at 7pm and the service during your stay.
The hotel was built over a 4 year period from 1966 by an eccentric retired British colonel, and we do invest annually to preserve the quality and maintenance of the building for our guests to have a genuine experience during their stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendations and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent service, excellent accommodation, excellent staff, excellent place, excellent F&B experience, excellent environment!
This is our 1st wedding anniversary trip, after a year of hectic lifestyle, we just wanted to spend quiet time to relax. We definitely came to the right place! I loved the lovely essential oil that they burn, smells relaxing.
Upon arrival, we were given hot towels & welcome drink. it was a nice gesture after being stuck in stupid jam at Kea farm and Brinchang town. Then we were brought to our room which was freely upgraded to the Junior Suite (super large room with my dream bathroom). They folded Swan towels with rose petals & rose bouquet for us... aw.... that's super sweet of them... and then another card from the management wishing us happy anniversary... that's super nice... makes me want to move in and be permanent guest already..
I super love the smell of their toiletries (especially the lotion!)
The overall environment of the hotel is lovely with beautiful garden and herb garden.
The afternoon tea was alright... we had better one at Cameron Highland Resort... but to be able to sit outside in the garden and have afternoon tea, that was a nice experience.. try having tea at 4pm in KL or Kuching outside ur own garden, you'll drown in own sweat...
We made a dinner reservation and when they bring us to our table, it was covered with rose petals... omg... which restaurant do that? that's just soooo super romantic... the food is great.. and then we move to the bar to have our cheese platter... and suddenly, the manager, Mr Thiru brought out a chocolate dessert with "Happy Wedding Anniversary" and presented it to us... How can you not love this hotel and their staff?? the attention that they give us.. almost makes us feel like the royal family!
Thank you so much for making it such a memorable stay for us on our 1st anniversary... we definitely plan to come back again...
Keep it up! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear JennKuching_Malaysia

Thank you for the wonderful review and strong recommendation on Tripadvisor
We are delighted to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and succeeded in providing you with a memorable experience that made your anniversary special.

We are pleased to see your detailed review highlighting each and every aspects and areas of the resort. This will not only inform our future guests of your experience and what they can expect from us but it is also a great media tool to motivate and reward our Hosts.

Once again, thank you very much for the strong recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Lakehouse. We found it to be a good location as it is south of Tanah Rata meaning you avoide the crowds and the terrible traffic. The hotel was serene with great views across the lake and gave us a taste of oldy worldy Malaysia - not unlike oldy worldy britain! A little taste of home in some ways. The food was great and the room super comfortable. Sitting in the bar by an open fire after a long day trekking in the jungle was bliss. There's not many places on the equator where you want to do that! The staff were attentive, polite and friendly and the food was great. All round a top stay and would highly recommend the Lakehouse over and above similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ruth81

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to rest and be away from the busy city. The lakehouse provided us just that. From the moment we arrived, We were served with chilled drinks and a hot towel to freshen up. We were then brought to our room, where the moment you step in, you don't want to leave the room at all. The ambiance of the room was amazing and the scented candle burning just makes you drowsy in love. There was a plate of fresh fruits and at night a platter of pure butter cookies was served. The beds were so comfortable and we slept really well. The staffs were very helpful and gave us tips on where to shop and even provided us the capacity to store the fresh strawberries we purchased. All in all we were really satisfied and will definitely return to this beautiful scenic place again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which are above as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Geraldinearianne

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands.
Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

100% English feeling in a far far away country. Very friendly staff (all Indian/Sri Lanka origin?).
Quiet setting with view over a (brown coulored) lake. A bit isolated, so having your own transportation is handy. They even wash your car for free! F&B is excellent. All sight seeings within a 30 min drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Beemsterboer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

Again the team and I are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a short getaway to rest and relax, and The Lakehouse was the perfect place for us. Though the journey there was quite arduous in my opinion (but then it's the same for most scenic spots) - we took a flight from Singapore to Ipoh, followed by 1.5hrs by taxi through terribly winding narrow roads.

The hotel is situated just off the main road, some distance from the main town Tanah Rata. Which is great cos we prefer the peace of being rather secluded. For people who need to be near shops and other activities, the Lakehouse may be a little inconvenient if you don't drive. The hotel offers a free shuttle twice daily to/from Tanah Rata; otherwise, a cab costs RM25 per way.

The lovely cool weather makes it very pleasant to sit out on the terrace and have a cup of tea, read a book, or enjoy the view of the green hills and (muddy) lake. The only slight downside is the traffic noise which intrudes into the peaceful vibe of the hotel, and the pesky flies swarming around if you tried to eat outdoors. There are plenty of armchairs and couches indoors as well, plus a lovely fireplace.

Our room was very clean and cosy. The highlight for me was the bed - the sheets are incredibly soft and comfortable and we slept so well. Traffic noise from the road can be heard if the window is opened, but once closed, we hardly heard anything.

Food was average and expensive, and considering that there isn't much choice of dining spots around, i would have preferred more variety. The breakfast includes a buffet spread of Asian and Western items, plus a choice of eggs from the ala carte menu, which we found to be quite generous. For lunches and dinners I would have liked more options for bar snacks and appetizers, as well as light meals, due to the fact i fell sick during my stay and could not manage a slab of steak or a roast chicken. Nevertheless, i appreciated that the staff accommodated my request for soup noodles which was not in the dinner menu.

Service staff were polite and helpful. I had informed the hotel beforehand that we will be celebrating my husband's birthday, and on our first evening we were served their signature chocolate cake with compliments.

Overall, a relaxing and comfortable stay. The Lakehouse is a wonderful place to recharge the weary soul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear aurora2412

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.

We are pleased to see your detailed review highlighting every aspect and areas of the Hotel and the surrounding areas. This will be helpful information for our future guests on what they can expect from us
I have shared your comments with the rest of my team, which I know will only continue to motivate them.

Thank you once again for choosing The Lakehouse and sharing your staying experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plan brings you back to Cameron Highlands

Best Regards


Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.