We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed OUR stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Intimate Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Enjoyed OUR stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

You know how reviews are-all over the map. Well, regardless of the previous poor reviews, and having been in 125 countries, trust me, this is a nice place.

We stayed in the Foster Suite in the Annex Building for two nights. This is very warm and comfortable. See the photos.

As to the staff, they were just fine. The meals were what you would expect-very adequate. (This is not Paris). We thought it a simply delightful place. Take a chance to relax and not be too critical.

Room Tip: The Foster Suite in the Annex Building was worth the money to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarron_Nelson, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear jwhitehouse,

Thank you for your confidence and staying with us during your recent trip to Cameron Highlands.

We are very glad to hear that you and your partner have enjoyed our Foster Suite and had a relaxing holiday here, especially coming from a frequent traveler like your goodself. Indeed an excellent decision for a cozy retreat, the Foster Suite which was also the residence of the late Colonel Stanley Jack Foster, the original builder and owner of The Lakehouse, offers luxurious privacy and comfort, it is a good choice for those who seek a peaceful holiday.

jwhitehouse, we thank you once again for giving us an opportunity to host you and your partner. We trust you had a safe journey back home to California and we look forward to have you staying here again should your traveling plans bring you back to this part of the world anytime soon.


Best regards,
Karl Muir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    148
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
110
194
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We took a two day tour of the Cameron Highlands with a private driver. We called at a waterfall we had seen before which was okay but not that special. It may have been because we had been before. We were told drink was expensive at the Lakehouse (drink was expensive everywhere in Malaysia), so the driver took us to a mini mart so we could buy some supplies.

The Lakehouse was built in the 20s and is tudor style. We were given a friendly welcome and a lemon and ginger drink which was refreshing. We drank this on the hotels terrace which was lovely with amazing views and it put us in a holiday vibe straight away. We also ordered lunch of burgers which were pretty so-so.

The hotel also offered a guided jungle walk free which my hubby went on for about an hour. The bathroom was Art-deco style.

On our first evening we got a taxi and ate at the famous Smokehouse hotel and restaurant. It had been my husbands wish to try it as we didnt get to do this when we stayed here several years earlier. The meal was only average, cost around £90 and taxi there and back was around £14. The service at the Smokehouse was over attentive and your plate was whipped away too quickly. I felt the Smokehouse restaurant, menu and staff were locked in the 70s somewhere.

We also visted a Butterfly farm and a Bee farm and also visited a tribesman who showed us the blowpipe.

Breakfast at the hotel was a mixed bag really. The self service toaster took ages, the coffee was cold and the fruit juice didnt taste fresh. Also the staff didnt speak very good english and kept asking for our room number and also to repeat our order. We also ate one evening meal in the hotel and it was okay but way over priced (approx £70 plus).

The bedroom was comfy and very quiet so we slept well. I probably would stay here again as it has fantastic views but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was here in 2007...with my boyfriend and felt like I was transported to Europe...very classy and beautiful...

- Rooms are Beautiful! !!
- it has a fireplace place and a very colonial set-up
- food was decent
- view was spectacular
-just off the main road - so we could walk to the local bazaar

All in all - LOVED it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I spent a few days at the Lakehouse recently. The hotel looks nice on the outside but the service is not upto par with 5 star standards (expected for more that RM600 per night!). Where the rooms are concerned, some reviewers mentioned that its better to get a lakeview. Are you kidding! The lake is a joke, it's just one big puddle of muddy water. Apart from mediocre surroundings, another point regularly pointed out is the food. The food quality is bad and to top it up, the staff were not attentive. I noted that the GM regularly addresses the reviews on tripadvisor but frankly, action should speak louder that words. For those planning a trip to Cameron, try the YTL property instead.

Room Tip: Forget the lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent the CNY break at the Lakehouse with family and friends. While the hotel was quite charming, the food and the service was horrible. Some of the staff were clueless and lacked training. The breakfast spread was limited and guests were not informed that they had a choice of both (not either) the ala carte and buffet. The overall quality of the food was bad for the price. The hotel boasts having a nice spa but unfortunately its only run by 1 staff!! Shocking! Our worst experience happened when we checked out; our luggage was just left unattended outside the hotel by the side of our car! We demanded for the GM to get in touch with us so that we could address our issues to him directly. Unfortunately, we did not get any call from him. The Lakehouse pretends to be an exotic luxury hotel in the highlands. Well, its not. Despite some of the positive reviews, you are better off spending the night in another hotel.

Room Tip: For those who want a Lakeview, think again! Its just muddy water. Just choose another hotel with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarron_Nelson, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear AMenon68

Greetings from The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands,

Thank you for staying with us at The Lakehouse over the CYN period, I do apologise that we were unable to meet your expectations during you visit. We have taken note of your concerns and shortfall in services we will ensure this is addressed with the team, with continuous feedback from guest experience we are able to improve on meeting and or exceeding guest expectations.

I do hope that you we able to spend some quality time with your family and friends throughout your stay at our Hotel.

If any reader of this review has any concerns, please feel free to contact myself on aarron.nelson@lakehouse-cameron

Yours Sincerely,

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
The Lakehouse Cameron Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I spent quite a few relaxing breaks at the Lakehouse during the 1990s. Wonderful times... So, with the kids off on school trips we decided to revisit the place after a break of almost 15 years. Pulling up the steep drive it was like coming home. Inside the place looked like time had stood still, the same furniture, the same furnishings, even the same carpets in some places.

Check-in took a little longer than expected (we weren't carrying our passports) but it gave us a chance to chat to some of the staff who seemed friendly enough. We then dropped of our bags and went on to the verandah for afternoon tea. When the food arrived we were a little disappointed at its quality. The sandwiches seemed to consist of lots of mustard plus a little filling, either egg, chicken ham or tomato, while the pastries were either shop-bought or poorly made.

Historically, the Lakehouse had always had an excellent restaurant serving authentic, good quality European cuisine, a major attraction for us, and a dress code for dinner. This remnant of colonial days past was a wonderful touch and was so in keeping with the settings of the architecture itself. Accordingly we dressed for dinner only to find that there was, apparently, no longer a dress code. The menu was limited and the food disappointing.

Another highlight of the Lakehouse was always breakfast. English breakfast with its bacon and sausages, real porridge and the option of kippers... These days the restaurant only serves halal food so processed chicken ham and beef sausage has replaced the real thing. The only porridge available is rice porridge and no kippers.

All of this may seem inconsequential but, for us at least, staying at the Lakehouse was always been an experience. From chatting to the staff, to the four-poster bed, to the gardens, the climate, dressing for dinner, excellent food and an English breakfast. It was like staying at a small country house in the Yorkshire Dales without the hassle of a 14 hour flight. Today? Yes the building still retains its olde worlde charm and is a nice enough place to stay but the spark that made it special has gone. The food is average at best (I suffered from food poisoning on my return to KL, but this could have been a coincidence) and, for what it is, is dreadfully over-priced. Perhaps, sometimes, it's best to keep places as one remembers them...

Room Tip: At present there are some major roadworks taking place just outside the hotel and the lorries are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarron_Nelson, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Bob-Kajang

Thank you for sharing your experiences through tripdavisor, it’s certainly interesting to hear from a guest that stayed at The Lakehouse in the 90s.

I do apologise that we were unable to rekindle your experience from a number of years ago, although as you have mentioned we have change considerably. Lakehouse now has a number of sister boutique hotels and part of our rebranding was is to create a relaxed homey experience, we were unable to maintain traditions since as dress codes for the outlets, although you will still find guest wearing a tux during festive periods which is great to see.

The evolvement of Lakehouse with our other properties is developed through guest experiences with feedback and comments, without this change we would not be able to maintain current expectations, one of our recent changes this month was placing TV’s into each guest rooms, Lakehouse had a Long tradition to maintain guest rooms without TV’s, although we would love to maintain this tradition we did succumb to overwhelming guest feedback and recommendations.

Thank you for your comments on the food, we will discuss this with our team and ensure we maintain some classic dishes, and look into your other recommendations. Our current prices has been reduced over the last year, yet we have maintained to improved quality with our ingredients, our prices are considerably cheaper than other properties in the highlands within the same market for food, we are careful not to out price ourselves, we would be keen to hear back from other guest on this as well.

Within the last 15 years the Lakehouse has been through 3 refurbishments, recently in 2011, we did maintain the furniture as these are antiques, yet we did reupholster majority of the furniture to give a refreshed look & feel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us; we would hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
The Lakehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent a romantic weekend at The Lakehouse with my fiance.

The place is out of this world and makes you forget you are actually in Southeast Asia. It feels very Swiss/German/Austrian, only the snow is missing. If you are in for something different, this is the place to be.

The restaurant was excellent, and so was the service. The food was very delicious. The rooms are beautiful and traditionally decorated and come with rotary dial telephones and no TVs. Although, I am not a traditional person and prefer the modern style, I truly enjoyed myself being surrounded by so many traditional details, including the decoration in the public areas. My fiance and I enjoyed having our red wine right by the fire place in the lobby, playing Monopoly and other board games (provided by the hotel) late into the night. It's just one of these places that put you back in time and make you enjoy something completely different.

The location is superb. Away from the crowds and yet easily accessible.

Ms. Yong Yen Yin who processed our researvation over the phone was most helpful, friendly and professional. She made the difference right at the beginning, and was instrumental for chosing this place over others.

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Ringlet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.