We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
1 review
“Great first stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with the wife. It was a late check in (about 7pm) and we were tired after the long drive, but the counter staff made the check in hassle free and quick.

One thing about the hotel is it is in a great location. Since Cameron weather is always great for walking, a short walk will take you to the Cameron Square (still newly opened so not many shops yet) and the morning produce market. Traffic's over there is quite congested so being able to just walk there is a bonus.

We took a walk around at night as well. Nothing to see but a small playground and a small garden. If the management would add a small, well-lit park (with benches) for people to chill, that would be great)

The Superior room was in the tower and very high up so the view was good.

Breakfast was good, had a good selection to cater to Malaysian and western tastes

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    92
    78
    33
    18
See reviews for
98
93
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a big family room with 2 bed rooms for 6 members from 2 familiies
Excellent stay
Very good location for local sight seeing and local market
very Good viewing from private gallery
breakfast is good
ideal for family stay
campus is good

Room Tip: Ask for a good mountain facing corner room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I guess the saving grace for this hotel would be the location, the peak of Cameron. You get an almost nice view of the valley below, I say almost cause its sad to see the deforestations happening all around.
The room itself is pretty standard, even when we got upgraded to a deluxe upon check in, there were ugly stains in the washroom area. I'm just too particular about cleanliness in this places.
Outside the hotel, is another story. Surrounded by lush greenery and lovely flowers. We enjoyed the nightly stroll outside in the cool temperatures.

Room Tip: Parking gets awfully pack at night times, so head home early folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's in a good spot and the view is good if you get high level rooms. The breakfast was good and had variety. But it's not included in most of the hotel deals.

But it was overpriced with that kind if service and quality.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1) We booked a double bed and while checking in was told that we asked for twin beds!!!!

2) There was no water supply for shower on our 1st morning staying at the hotel. I have never in my life stayed in a hotel with no water supply!

3) The pillows smell and super uncomfortable. The vacation ended with me having sprained neck. The mattress feels like budget hotel.

4) Towels frill and stained.

5) The only good thing about this hotel is the food except for the buffet breakfast.

6) the room looks like it needs a makeover despite that we were convinced at the reception that the deluxe rooms have been recently refurbished.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The market at Cameron is quite segmented. There are few high-end places (e.g., Smoke House) and many low-end budget places. Lots of places to keep European and American back-packers happy with RM25/night dorm rooms. But in the middle of the market there isn't much. The Copthorne is one example of about three in total. The hotel service is good and the staff are friendly. The hotel is noisier than I expected and despite some superficial recent renovations it is rundown and feels dated. Forget getting good coffee and cocktails at the Cricket Lounge are dreadful. Breakfast food is not extensive, but good quality. The chef is very good. I'll stay here again but only because the view is great and the price is reasonable.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stay here before (formerly Equatorial Hotel). The reception service is good and no problem checking in. It was refreshing with so beautiful flowers and plant surrounding this hotel. Relax the mind and enjoying the scenery but then this time my stay was not so pleasant as before. Not sleeping well cos the bed is hard and noisy on the 10th floor. Breakfast was awesome with many choices but many flies around. Not healthy need improvement and upgrade...

Room Tip: Higher and Quiet floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at 1,628 meters above sea level, surrounded by majestic mountains and gentle undulating valleys, Copthorne is the only resort situated at the highest accessible point of highlands. The Resort offers accommodation option of a tudor-styled apartments or a hotel block and complemented with 3 restaurants, a swimming pool, a gymnasium, tennis and squash courts. Recreational activities available include country-side tours, guided nature walks, jungle trekking, 4x4 adventure and organised visits to the Semai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Cameron Highlands Hotel Brinchang
Equatorial Hotel Cameron Highlands
Equatorial Resort Cameron Highlands
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands Brinchang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.