We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a major upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“needs a major upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stopped over for a night on my way back from penang to kl. stayed in the 2 rooms apartment. very spacious, average cleanliness but really in need of refurbishment. enjoyed the spacious balcony too.... those with big families and who do not mind the shortcomings i mentioned, this should be for you...

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    86
    74
    32
    17
See reviews for
96
85
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, you can already check how cold the temperature is in Cameron because of the very big thermometer at the entrance.
They've got friendly receptionists and a map is available at the lobby.
The room is cozy, I only wish that towels and toiletries are readily available in the room, I had to request for the towels to be delivered plus the shower heater is quite difficult to regulate.
Overall, the hotel is okay, the view from the room and the location is near the markets and other places of interests.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we always come to cameron highlands and stay at copthorne. it used to be Equitorial hotel.
this hotel never disappoint. from the breezy check-in to the wonderful steamboat dinner.
we always request for higher floor rooms. room is spacious and clean. room service was also delicious.
hotel is near to market square, butterfly park and strawberry farm.
very good for free and easy travellers. dont require tour guides or cab unless you want to visit other attractions.

Room Tip: higher floor for great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Service: Called to book hotel a month before arrival but was told no reservation under our name on arrival day (they said the booking was on different date). Nonetheless after standing around for about an hour, they 'upgraded' us to the hillside apartments, not the most polite staff but the management was very kind and quick to respond to our disappointment.

Room condition: Apartment with very disappointing facilities - no self catering facilities, aged furnishings. Deluxe room are much nicer that apartment but it still lacked in-room amenities.

Location: Walking distance to kea farm, Raju's strawberry farm and a few other shop. There's a night market nearby, nice local food.

Hotel facilities: Didn't get to use the indoor pool (very disappointed) since the pool heater was under maintenance. Dinner buffet has a lot of choices, quality is not bad. Sad there wasnt coffee though.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall: Our first impression was that the hotel was a bit old, but has a quiet feel to it as they are located inside Kea Farm.

Room Condition: When we checked in the rooms, the bathroom and the curtains was a bit used, and I think they should consider to replace or renovated. However, the ambient lights gives guest a very warm feeling and comfortable mood.

Front Desk Service: The response of the front office is good, but needs to consider better communication when exchanging ideas to guest and proposing solutions. For example, we requested for an extra pillow, but the operator didn't quite know how to respond to my request constructively. Keeping it simple, I explain in the "Bahasa" language and was able to attain to my request.

To try: The heated pool (though a bit old) its worth a try, after hiking and off road biking for one full day.

Conclusion: Therefore, with the combination of front desk service communication and room condition, my personal rating for this hotel will be 5.5/10

Room Tip: High floors which overlook farms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was like 10 years ago since we last stayed in this hotel. Previously it was managed under Hotel Equatorial. Book online for the awesome cool rate whereby the price is average. Arrived at the hotel early in the morning but however the room was not ready as seem that there was a big group the previous night. However the staff was helpful and tactful and keep us informed of the room readiness. The reception staffs were friendly and would like to mention Ms Samantha. We use the room upgrade voucher being a MNC loyalty club member and therefore was given the newly renovated deluxe room. The room is truly being renovated with new furniture and fitting which include the carpeting and wall. The toilet was also renovated. The room look airy and feel fresh. The location is walking distance to where you can buy fresh vegetables, strawberries and souveniers. The lobby area is very spacious and they put in new chairs. However there is a small negative side is that the stairs leading from the B1 car park to the lobby is dark since there is no lighting, Overall it was a nice experience to be back to the same hotel after 10 years and I would say the new management put in lots of effort in rebuilding the hotel image.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor to have a better surrounding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thought that as this was a Copthorne it would be pretty good. However, it's only been a Copthorne for a year and there is a lot of work to do.

We booked a two bed apartment and it was like stepping back to the 70's. Really awful furniture, mould in all kitchen cupboards which stank, no self catering facilities whatsoever, beat-up sofa smelled mildly of urine, drab beyond belief, no aircon or heating.
The balcony was a good size, but that's all I can say about the room. There is no wifi or ethernet in the apartments... you have to go to the lobby. In 2015. Sheesh!

The food was just barely reasonable for the prices they charge, except the chips, which were cold and not properly cooked.

Basically Copthorne should have brought the hotel up to Copthorne standards before going into business.

One positive.... the staff were helpful and friendly.

We won't be staying there again, and actually cut short our visit as the place was just too depressing!

Room Tip: Don't get an apartment until they've been cleaned / renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at 1,628 meters above sea level, surrounded by majestic mountains and gentle undulating valleys, Copthorne is the only resort situated at the highest accessible point of highlands. The Resort offers accommodation option of a tudor-styled apartments or a hotel block and complemented with 3 restaurants, a swimming pool, a gymnasium, tennis and squash courts. Recreational activities available include country-side tours, guided nature walks, jungle trekking, 4x4 adventure and organised visits to the Semai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Cameron Highlands Hotel Brinchang
Equatorial Hotel Cameron Highlands
Equatorial Resort Cameron Highlands
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands Brinchang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.