We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 1 night, the room was clean and neat, nice deco, breakfast there was very delicious and had lots of selections of foods, satisfied with the service, and the room price for the weekend. Even though the building is quiet old, they manage to keep the hotel look clean and presentable.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    63
    28
    16
See reviews for
77
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was here for the weekend.
24th-25th January 2015 to be precise.

We arrived late in the evening due to rain and some unforeseen circumstances. checked in took quite a while probably the credit card machine isn't working properly due to heavy rains earlier and maybe the staff who attended to me were new. maybe.

Anyway, we were given 9th floor room (smoking floor) without a balcony which i remembered clearly I did call twice and specifically asked for room with balcony. but didn't matter so much.

The funny events started after 10pm. We took a shower and watching telly and fell asleep. we saw something in the room. i thought i was the only one who saw it but my husband saw it too. it was a figure of a woman with long hair like mine:'( it was creepy really. i couldn't sleep well that night as i kept on waking up in the middle of the night and the room gives u this chilly creepy feels. But probably the room was the only haunted room in this hotel.

Overall the stay was ok. the view in the morning is superb (we got mountain view room).
the shower was ok. the telly channel was ok too. except for that "stranger" in the room. she shouldn't have stand there and watch us sleeping. gahhhhhhhhhh

the location wise is awesome i must say. you can just walk down the road you can find Pasar (Market) where they sells fresh vegetables and souvenirs. and walk up the hill a little right across the hotel you can go to Raju's farm and eat lots of scrumptious food.

i would love to come to this hotel again just to check on other floor if its haunted too :)

one more thing the access from parking to the room. i know some guest were complaining about the security matter. although it didn't matter to us but i think if ur staying more than just a night that security thingy does matter. the front entrance only be guarded with security after 10pm i think. hence during the registration they need to know you car registration number so the security guard can telly check with the registered car number with car coming in and out of the hotel after 10pm.

Room Tip: choose room with balcony. even if you are not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights for teambuilding activities with other 28 colleagues. Stayed in twin bedded room in level 8. Bed was comfy with down pillows. But i dont like the setting of twin bed placed next to each other, not much different from queen bed. Eventhough we slept on different beds, but we can still disturbed each other's sleep like staying in the same bed. Blanket was warm. Be warned, among all hotels in Cameron Highlands, Copthorne is at the highest level. So, pack enough warm clothing. Was made to understand that this was previously known as Equatorial Hotel. Was re-launched by Tourism Minister in 2014 as Copthorne Hotel. But it was obviously an old property.
The sink in the room leaked. Cold and hot water in the shower was very hard to be balanced.
On our 2nd day, the housekeeping staff forgot to leave our 2nd bath towel. A friend complained that his bed was not made up, eventhough the room was cleaned.
Food taste and quality is just average. Buffet spread for lunch is limited, maybe due to small number of patrons during this hour. Staff service was great! They are very friendly and helpful. On our first day, a housekeeping staff helped directed and ushered us to a Prayer Room.
The Kea Market is just few minutes walk down the road. Warnings! If you want to buy cheap fruits and veges, buy at the market (i.e. the road stalls by the road). The price are cheap (e.g. 3 items for RM10). The price at the farm is much more expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms should have nice views, but the views are marred with those excavation works on the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First we had a superior room. We arrived late and went straight to bed. Next morning we saw how dirty it actually was. Dirty curtains, dirty walls, dirty floors (lots of hairs), broken shower.

After complaining we got a free upgrade to deluxe room. Renovated rooms which are much cleaner. But noisy rooms. You hear the elevator and every little bump.

Pool heater was broke so the water was too cold to swim. The gym has no working equipment. Cab to brinchang is 25 RM, tanah rata 30 RM. Nearby some nice farms to visit. Mossy forest is a must see!

Breakfast is ok. Restaurant itself is just a lot of tables and chairs.

I wouldnt recommend the hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Copthorne is my choice hotel for Cameron Highlands. It is away from the traffic and crowd and yet within walking distance of some farms, cafes and restaurants, the new Aranda Nova shopping complex included and Kea Farm market with many vendors selling local produce like strawberries (surprisingly sweet this time) and other fruits plus vegetables and a short drive from Brinchang town.

The recently renovated deluxe rooms were tasteful and of good size. Guests who insist on integrated bidet toilets will not be disappointed (apart from those familiar with the Japanese versions).

WIFI was good. Just to manage expectations, be prepared with your request list because the hotel now practices a minimal amenities policy. So items like bedroom slippers and hand towels are supplied upon request.

Services from arrival to check in and check out were great. The grant of interconnecting rooms without request was pleasant surprise.The hotel has presented itself with a challenge with light coloured carpets in corridors and lifts and regrettably has failed. Peak periods may be rather noisy as the doors are not sound proof.

Try their peanut butter cake.

Room Tip: If you want least noise disturbance, choose the end of corridor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a negative experience during my stay at 3 Bedroom service apartment(M$620 per night) unit no:17316.

I booked for the weekend duration from 16 Jan to 19 Jan 15 but after staying from 16 to 17 Jan 15, I decided to leave the place early and checkout on 17 Jan 15 night.

The water pressure was very bad and not possible to take a proper shower and even reporting the issue numerous time it was not resolved.

There is no ventilation system in the unit at all, not even a fan or heater system.

Overall condition of the apartment was also not satisfactory.

I am disappointed with the services by the staff and even when I was checking out the matter was left to the trainee staffs who were lost and not clear of the procedures but the manager present at the front desk did not come forward to serve or assist and there was number of clarification made between the manager and the staffs thru which the trainees were trying to explain to the queries I post on the checking out issues and documentations.

II will not recommend anyone to stay in this Hotel which need a complete change over in the way it is manage and the hotel also need a complete renovation works.


Regards
Kumar

Room Tip: I am not sure about the rooms in the main block but externally the Hotel looks run down and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there 10-12/01/2015 with family, overall the room is newly renovate, clean and comfort. But maintenance required like the fridge not cold(cant keep strawberry) , the toilet bowl water dispensers(spoil) ,and door auto lock are not in good condition.

Went Cameron many times before, January this time Weather are surprisingly cool (18c morning , 17c night).

Location is very good, walking distance to Kea market.

Suggest the hotel give restaurant promotion coupons for guest stay, as we have our dinner at coffee shop in the hotel, where there are no other guest. Their food are not bad, but no guest eating there.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brinchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at 1,628 meters above sea level, surrounded by majestic mountains and gentle undulating valleys, Copthorne is the only resort situated at the highest accessible point of highlands. The Resort offers accommodation option of a tudor-styled apartments or a hotel block and complemented with 3 restaurants, a swimming pool, a gymnasium, tennis and squash courts. Recreational activities available include country-side tours, guided nature walks, jungle trekking, 4x4 adventure and organised visits to the Semai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Cameron Highlands Hotel Brinchang
Equatorial Hotel Cameron Highlands
Equatorial Resort Cameron Highlands
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands Brinchang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.