We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel, 4.5 star price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Brinchang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“3 star hotel, 4.5 star price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a very long time. Large, bare rooms (minimal furnishing), dirty linen (we had to get housekeeping to change everything from the comforter to the pillowcases, etc.) and the bathroom looked like it was going to fall apart. The shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold! The room smelled dusty and musky so thankfully there were a number of windows that we could open to air out the room.

The service is appalling. We checked-in past 4pm (check-in time is at 3pm) and were told that our room wasn't ready and that it would be another 40 minutes (we were eventually given our room 20 minutes later). Front desk didn't offer any apologies but gave us a voucher for 2 fruit punches at the bar, which was closed for a private function. Housekeeping didn't apologise for the dirty and ripped sheets either.

Location-wise it isn't that great either. Apart from the few shops and restaurants on the property itself, you have to drive to get everywhere else.

The only good thing was the food at breakfast and the wait staff at the coffee house were efficient and attentive.

Did not use the pool but from what I saw, it looked like it could use a good clean!

Never again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
45
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Copthorne is ideally located to walk to markets, butterfly farm and strawberry farm. However, it is a large hotel that claims to be 4 star, but really just makes three.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the Saturday night buffet was quite good, but the restaurant gets very busy to the point of overcrowded. Drinks at the Cricket bar were quite expensive (about US$9 for a beer).
The restrooms in the lobby were dirty and well overdue for a clean.
The hotel was at maximum capacity, so perhaps things would be better at a quieter time.

Room Tip: Try to book mid week when it is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I love Cameron Highlands and so for her Birthday I thought I would take her for a weekend away, this time staying at the Copthorne. Previously the Equatorial Hotel I did some research and found that there were mixed reviews from Very Good to Poor. But as they say the proof of the pudding is in the tasting so as this was a hotel that was new to both of us I decided to give it a go. For MYR1000 for two nights we booked an Executive Suite. On arrival at the hotel it was extremely busy as there were a number of groups booked in. However reception was empty and we were able to check in immediately. So while out room was not ready (3:30pm) we went and had a coffee at the coffee shop that also doubles for breakfast in the mornings. We did not receive breakfast as part of the booking but for MYR25 per person we opted prepay for the two mornings we would be there. Once we entered our room there was a strange smell that luckily abated once we opened all the windows. This is a nice change as most hotels now lock their windows. If that had been the case I think a replacement room request would have been forthcoming. The room was very spacious with a connecting lounge area with it's own TV, couch and chairs. The bathroom was clean however very old. It must be noted that when showering any small movement of the tap made the water either freezing cold or boiling so we did have to take care. On inspection I noticed that the bed covers were stained and filthy as well as numerous holes. A quick call to reception had someone up in 5 minutes to replace with fresh linen that was clean. Apart form that and a number of funny structural anomalies the room was quite pleasant. Whilst only having an overhead fan and no aircon, leaving the windows open produced a lovely cool breeze which is what you expect in the Highlands. The next morning we went down to Breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by the array and quality of the food. This was by far one of the better buffet style breakfast settings I have experienced. Other things to note is that Room Service does not operate after 10:30pm so if you want to eat in your room don't leave it too late. There is free wifi in the rooms though the signal can be quite weak at times and the TV's are connected to some cable channels. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Apparently they have been slowly renovating the higher floor rooms so that may be a step in the right direction. There are also apartments available however we did not get to see them. The Copthorne is definitely very well located and does have wonderful views being at one one of the highest points in the Highlands. Overall I would say that after our initial concerns over the room we did have a nice stay though I do feel we paid too much for what was on offer. Would I recommend the Copthorne? Hard to say. I will say that we did feel that it was certainly better than the supposed 5 star Cameron's Highlands Resort where we had stayed previously. (Note to self to write that review) though again the price was I think too high. I think I probably would have scored this higher if the room wasn't so dated and we hadn't been confronted with the dirty bed linen. I wouldn't say steer clear of this hotel because it certainly had it's good points but there are other nicer alternatives available.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just submitted a review for Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands on Agoda..really a big disappoint on a whole.

" Checked-in at 3pm, not enough staff at Reception, very slow. Staff also show no urgency in doing their work.

11th Floor walkway from lift to room was dusty and dirty with litter, same rubbish on walkway for the 3 days duration of our stay despite complaints made to Reception. Staff never came to vacuum. Just imagine, 3days of not vacuuming the common area!

Deluxe Room was newly renovated but room floor from door to toilet was dusty and had litter. Am pretty sure carpets in room not vacuumed for ages. My wife started sneezing as soon as we got into the room.

Indoor Heated pool was ice cold! The 1 and only toilet in changing room smelled of urine(smelt like a public toilet) and had toilet paper on the floor. Reception staff said to make a complaint via email/internet. No sense of urgency and responsibility to guests!

Despite bad reviews on F&B, food was nice. Breakfast was good value for the price. Lunch A'la Carte Menu was good as well, except for the Vegetable Soup of the day which smelled and tasted like it was spoilt to me.

Requested for an iron and ironing board and they sent an iron with burn stains and material stuck on it. How not to get upset?

Location of hotel I would have to say is Excellent. That is all the hotel has going for it..location and food I would say.

Hygiene and cleanliness of hotel rooms and common area sucks big time..no maintenance. Reception staff very slow moving and blurr. Housekeepers don't take care of hygiene on floors and rooms. Restaurant staff are good though!

Very disappointing experience on a whole. Will never recommend to family or friends and will never return back to Copthorne Cameron Highlands that's for sure!"

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel on top of a hill. The room was clean and bed was super comfortable. Toilet was good too. Nice breakfast spread. Check in was smooth and the staff was helpful and accommodating. Strawberry farm and butterfly farm is within walking distance.
Their Chinese restaurant is good too. The staff there is worth a mention. Very pleasant and helpful

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very bad hotel .It was the worst hotel I've ever seen.It's service is too bad.The only thing that i love was the sweet room which is also joint.There was also a carpet which much more comfortable than any other hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms will be the 713+712 and 11th and 12th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've booked two standard deluxe room for one night only through booking.com Price was one of the lowest price among all top ranked hotels in Cameron Highlands. When we arrive there, our taxi driver said its a bit far from the main city but when we arrive at hotel, we couldn't imagine what we got from the lowest price. Morning breakfast was not included in our package but its ok with us as we give only around RM 175+ / night.

Room was very clean. We got some view from the windows. We didn't used the pool, so can't say anything about that.

Room Tip: Must try the Steamboat dinner into the hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: Kea Farm, Brinchang 39100, Malaysia (Formerly Equatorial Cameron Highlands)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Brinchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at 1,628 meters above sea level, surrounded by majestic mountains and gentle undulating valleys, Copthorne is the only resort situated at the highest accessible point of highlands. The Resort offers accommodation option of a tudor-styled apartments or a hotel block and complemented with 3 restaurants, a swimming pool, a gymnasium, tennis and squash courts. Recreational activities available include country-side tours, guided nature walks, jungle trekking, 4x4 adventure and organised visits to the Semai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equatorial Cameron Highlands Hotel Brinchang
Equatorial Hotel Cameron Highlands
Equatorial Resort Cameron Highlands
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands Brinchang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.