We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water and very basic amenities!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lodge
Lot 47, Section 3, Brinchang, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No hot water and very basic amenities!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

At first glance, the hotel looked quite nice. It was a nightmare when it came to showering though. At night, the hot water came on and it was barely a trickle, 30 seconds later, it stopped completely, leaving me soapy, soaking wet and freezing cold! And in the morning, forget about about a shower completely! Unless you are willing to settle for a cold shower..in freezing cold temperature!

Bed was too soft, you just sink into it the minute you put your bum on it. And restaurant was supposedly under renovations.

The only good thing that made me pick this hotel was because they had their own parking area. It was a nightmare going around the whole town looking for a place to park coz the other hotels in the area did not have their own parking area. But I'll give it to them that the staff were very friendly and apologetic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have just spend 3days 2nights in Cameron Highland with my family members of 16 adults and 2 children and 1 baby. After checking through the internet, I decided on this hotel because we wanted to be within walking distant to the Pasar Malam.

I booked 3 family suite and each family suite comes with two queen size bed and 2 single bed. The only setback, we have with the family suite is that it has only one toilet to cater to 6 persons. It took us a long time to bath and to get ready every time, we want to go out.

This hotel only provide the basic amnenities and on every floor there is a big water boiler in the common corridor which provide the guests with hot drinking water. We were surprise to find that the rooms do have Astro channel.

The traffic jam at night was very bad as it was a public holiday but because everything was within walking distant, we are able to avoid all the traffic jam. It will be a hassle to find parking especially if you are traveling in a few cars.

However, those with the elderly, shall find the road going up to the hotel, quite sloppy. But going down is a breezy. Even though the hotel is in town center but because it is on a slope, it is quiet and do provide a good view of Berinchang Town.

There is not enough parking in the compound of the hotel and those who double park are required to leave their handphone no with the reception. I actually witness a couple of cars having problem leaving the next morning especially if you wants to leave early. It took a while for the receptionist to call the car owner to repark their car.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

aku pgi cameron and stay for 3 days and 2 night. We rent for 2 apartment for my big family it is 15 childrens and 14 adults. The view was very beautiful. From the apartment you can go to night market about 5 minutes from there. The best thing this apartment have their own parking. Very comfortable and beautiful view and very cold. My father and mother was very happy and we satisfied with the management . The apartment also very clean . I suggest to the reader if you want to rest and relax this apartment is the best place to stay .....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

The hotel apartment is located at the top of a hill, sort of coz it was quite a hike when we had to abandon our car since there was a broke down tour bus blocking its only entrance/exit.

We had a three bedroom apartment. The place is spacious and could actually place 7 adults comfortably. Nonetheless everything else, the curtain, TV, furniture, kitchen are dated. There used to be stove at the kitchen but not anymore. But there is a medium size fridge and it works fine.

The scenery from the balcony is nice overlooking the Brinchang town but not as good as Equatorial's. The town itself is rather scattered and there was a lot of construction when we went there.

Food is easy to get, restaurants are all around. Also for KFC lover, there is one near the main road. There is also a night market when we there (Saturday), not sure if it is a daily event. U can also eat at the hotel Chinese restaurant. Quite nice actually. We had our BF there since it is inclusive.

A must try in Cameron is their mushroom fritters and scone, apple pie and definitely tea at the Boh Tea Plantation.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: Lot 47, Section 3, Brinchang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brinchang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Brinchang
Country Lodge Cameron Highlands/Brinchang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.