We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Bharat Tea Plantation

Cameron Bharat Tea Plantation
12-16 Main Road, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Penang
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Easy to access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is just located at the roadside, can be easily spotted. However, if compared against the Boh tea plantation, both has its pro- and con-. As the road to Boh tea plantation relatively "dangerous" (narrow and a lot of turns), I would recommend this one. The cafe is as usual very busy, don't expect any superb services here. They did over-charge on drinks and foods but this is normal at tourist spots in Malaysia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    46
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“makes my Cameron trip perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

i would not call it a trip to Cameron if we didn't visit a tea plantation, luckily my brother agreed to go back a bit later.

there are a few tea plantations in Cameron, we choose this one coz we can have a panoramic view of the plantation from the cafe. even the end-toilet in the wash room comes with a big wide window for you to enjoy the view. i didn't brave that try. i prefer to do my business in one without window.

we ordered a large pot of tea in the cafe, the lemongrass tea was really aromatic. my sis tried another scone here & liked its texture but thought the cream was not thick enough.

we went near the tea plants for photo shooting. but the stairs from the main road did'nt lead all the way down the valley. if you really want to be surrounded by tea plants, get ready to walk down its descending steep slopes. anyway, it's still a nice experience to look at the sea of green.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a place you have to visit! When my family and I went, we had cups and cups of tea! The ice tea is mouth watering and the view is amazing! You can just run around the field like you own it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not 100% Highlands Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Bharat Tea Café is the only tea plantation open on a Monday approximately 4km south of Tanah Rata and the first foray up the hill with panoramic views of the tea plantations. The tea and scones were enjoyable but a taste of friends' brownies suggested they had the better choice.
The purchase of a quirky little 'Cameron Valley Tea' caddy of course requires filling with the signature brand tea although the staff do give you a non-labelled tea supply. Imagine my surprise when later reading the label in depth to discover the tea is 'Imported from China' and repacked by 'Bharat Group'. Was I ever drinking Highlands Tea?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great tea, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Bharat Tea or Cameron Valley Tea Plantation is located at the main road going up to Tanah Rata from Ringlet. There are two separate tea-house can be found along the main road facing Bharat plantation. The tea house has a cafe, which is essentially a covered terrace that opens up to an impressive view of the plantation. Parking spaces are limited though, we are lucky as we came on a non school holiday weekday. Unlike the Boh Plantation, it does not offer any factory tour.

You can enjoy the ambiance simply by sipping some tea and enjoying some cakes at the cafe. For the locals, the price might be a bit high considering a cup of tea may cost you rm5 and cakes can go up to rm7-8 per slice. There is also a trail leading to the tea plantation if you wish to have a walk between the tea leaves. There are also shops selling Cameron Valley products and Cameron Highlands souvenirs in the premise.

The only thing that needs to be improved here is their staff. They need to smile more. They look fatigue and demotivated to serve.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Bharat Tea Plantation also viewed

Cameron Highlands, Pahang
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 
Cameron Highlands, Pahang
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Cameron Bharat Tea Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Bharat Tea Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.