We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well developed without being over-developed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taman Negara National Park

Taman Negara National Park
Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 64 Attractions in Pahang
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Well developed without being over-developed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The only thing Taman Negara doesn't have is a good selection of better hotels. Aside from that this place has everything the heart desires.
Canopy-walk? Easily the best I have experienced, be it the length, views or simply the fascination of walking in the tree-tops.

Boat hire and off we went up the river to find a cool place to swim - a bit of a drought lately so the trip was eventful for its navigation of shallow rapids - after a good hour's walk we found our spot - simply lovely and refreshing.

Food isn't expensive, though the choice isn't great.

All in all a very worthwhile trip, great to get away from the haze and the general crazyness of KL

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    11
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forest is beautiful but the eco tourism staffs are plain lazy and very rude!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrives at the park center at 11am and in front of us were a group of europeans. The staffs at the reception were very rude to them because they did not have loose change for rm50.

They took forever to register us after settling with that group. Later we were notified but a nice lady that the canopy walk closes at 12pm on friday due to friday prayers. We rushed and tried our best to walk 1.6km into the canopy site. We arrived at 11:50am (10mins before closing) but the canopy staff ranger already locked up and was on his way out. He refused to let us in despite us rushing there before the actual closing time. The european group was also with us and expressed that they were leaving tomorrow and really wanted to do the walk. But the ranger at the start of the canopy line station continued to refuse.

After that we continued our journey towards bukit terasek. The trail was clear on the way up but as we descended back down the signs were very misleading and unclear. Some of the wooden steps were also badly damaged and can cause danger to inexperienced hikers. We got lost but managed our way eventually.

Bottom line is, taman negara is a beauty among nature but is horribly tainted by rude and lazy staffs of the eco tourism. Its a pity and shame. Malaysia Tourism should really do something about the hospitality of the staff attitude and put attention to the signboards and maintenance of the park.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We went there after 3 days in Kuala Lumpur & we were so happy to discover this nature. The forest is wonderful & it s so relaxing to spend few days there. There s really a lot of trecks, shorter or longer in the forrest. To leave the place we took a dugout canoe for a 3 hours trip on the river & this wasl also a nice experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and amazing rainforest and river. Dont expect elephants or tigers around the corner though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

1.Accommodaion was at Mat Leon chalet. Cheap but basic. Pretty isolated but its OK. Owners are friendly and offer free boat ride or 4WD ride to jetty.

2.Trip to Lata Berkoh was the highlight. Amazing view, crystal clear water with lots of fish.

3.Lata Berkoh was good for swimming with some big fishes in the water, difficult to climb down due to rocks. Hiked back for 4 hours(optional, otherwise the boatmen wait until you return), some markers on the trail decayed, the Taman Nagara authority should make sure the trails are well marked.The trails are easy to go through but can be tiring due to lots of climbing.

4.At night went on a Night Safari which was like a silly tour through the Palm Oil plantation on 4WD cab, saw an owl and a wild boar, no elephant even though the guides says they saw some last night. Cost RM40 pp. Not recommended unless u have extra cash and have nothing to do at night or live in a chalet with no TV.

5. The overall experience was positive, the jungle was pristine and the streams amazing. The place is also relatively clean. Boat rides to key locations can be expensive at RM160 but its the best way to enjoy the river.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Firstly you have to get tickets and a licence etc, we got ours from the tour agent for 63Rg each. A bus picked us up 9am and took us to the Kuala Tembeling jetty, we then headed off up the river which took 2 hours to get to Kuala Tahan village, which is a nice, easy and an interesting way to get there, however there were not many of us, so we could spread out and relax over the bench seats, it might seem longer if you are sat up all the journey. The village is on one side of the river, its a great setting, especially with the sun shining as it was grey on the way up, You then have to pay 1Rg to be dropped over the river to the Jungle/rainforest experience. We walked passed all the chalets and onto one of the various walks you can take, which was great, we then did the canopy walk for 5Rg which is a must. After, we walked up & up to get to Bukit Teresek(810M high) then steeply down the virtually untouched path on the other side, but I wouldn't recommend this unless you have a good sense of adventure, direction and a couple of hours to make your way back to the boat drop off jetty! Later the bus then drove us all the way back to Jerantut which is the main town south.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taman Negara National Park also viewed

 
Kuala Lipis, Lipis District
 

Been to Taman Negara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taman Negara National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.