We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-Star Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Batu Manikar, Labuan Island 87014, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3-Star Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Overnight in this resort 31 May 2013. Hotel is located at the north of Labuan, the resort provides shuttle bus so don't worry about the distance to town. The room is clean and pleasant but it needs refurbishment. The hotel staff was friendly. Pool is big, beautiful landscape in the hotel. One thing they need to pay attention to cleanliness - there were flies around breadfast buffet. And beer bottles, cigaretts buds all over the bar counter, swimming pool area.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing sea view. So no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
14
15
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is currently undergoing a big refit, but is ideal if you just want to get away from it all.

Service is very slow, check in and check out especially, the weekend we were there the card processor was not working, so accounts had to be settled manually.

The room was well appointed and clean, the shower head was not very good but nothing to moan about really.

Breakfast was excellent, the staff, although slow, catered for every need.

A beautiful private beach which seemed to stretch for miles.

An excellent pool witha good bar.

all in all a very slow pace of life, and an ideal resort to wind down

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were going to Labuan to attend a friend’s wedding. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We were initially a bit sceptical to stay in this resort after reading mixed reviews on tripadvisor, we were not disappointed.

I have booked a room by contacting the resort directly. The check-in was smooth without any hassle. We had a fantastic wedding dinner. The hall was well decorated with the foods were amazing.

The room, grounds, pools, restaurants and especially the staff were all fantastic. The upkeep of this resort is nothing less than amazing with staff cleaning, gardening and maintaining all aspects of the property every day, from the grooming of the beach to the pruning of any plants that needed it.

Food was very good for what is an isolated resort, with plenty of variety from the restaurants. The staffs were always willing to help with anything, always with a friendly smile. Beers were really cheap too. Front desk & Concierge team are accommodating & responsive to every request. Good job!

We stayed in the garden facing suite. It was very spacious, with very tranquil setting. We really enjoyed our peaceful time by the beach and pool. The free shuttle bus service to Labuan town was good as it was always on time during our stay.

All in all, an enjoyable holiday, made even more so by the warm and caring staff. It truly deserved a high praise from me and my wife. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, Manager at Palm Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Play T ,

What a pleasure to learn of your GREAT review here on TripAdvisor! We are most grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing excellent facility and service.The team at Palm Beach Resort & Spa looks forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After several attempt to book a hotel in Bandar , my company desperate to find a room for me booked me via Agoda from March 06th to March 15th out there...
The hotel is about 17kms from Bandar, 13 to 15 US$ by taxi one way, sometime 15 minutes drive some other day 30 minutes in peak hours.
That place would be ok if one does not need to go work everyday in Labuan Supply Base , and also one is not too difficult for food.
I will not comments on the troubles you can have asking for "fried eggs sunny side up" and some toasts.
I will not comments when they don't have any fried chicken (habis!) so I ordered a sirloin staek and what came was just an absolute disaster, that must have been a piece of T-rex or Buffalo meat , could not cut it with a knife and surely could not chew it...
The nasi goreng and nasi lema is fine of course.
Room 3211 King Size is OK but nothing xtra, I tapped up some loose electrical wire, TV has 5 or 6 local channels and 2 english one, but pictures let to be desired, flat screen 40".
Laundry is Ok, nice pool, you cannot swim in the sea as there are dangerous jelly fish, cobra snake seen at the entrance of the hotel...
Free shuttle to Bandar airport and downtown 5 or 6 times a day. Free WIFI fast enough.
So it is not so bad as a short stay for tourism, but not for a long business trip if you work in Bandar.

Room Tip: Sea front king size bedroom (3211 etc..)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Labuan and was really looking forward to it.
We were a group of twelve adults and seven children ages ranging from three to ten.
The hotel it self was looking very tired and needs a major face lift.
When ordering food you must be prepared to have a long wait and on one occasion after the long wait to be told that certain food had run out.

Breakfast- the food was cold as was the tea and coffee.

Swimming pool- this is really nice you can sit and relax and watch the sea roll in and watch your children but be aware of the sandflies.

The rooms are very big with enough space for our family of four. But that's where it ends. The bathroom was in a need of renovation. The spa bath did not work and the shower door locked itself.
On our second night we had to be moved owing to the ants that covered both of the bed.
I feel if this hotel spent time renovating it would be a fantastic place. Until then not a hotel I would go back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If u looking for a not so commercial n busy beach,this is a good choice. Is like private beach just walking distance.
1. Ferry and town pick up was on time.
2. Friendly staff
3. Spacious room
Will come back in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, Manager at Palm Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jessiethy18,

Greetings from Palm Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for choosing Palm Beach Resort & Spa for your recent stay. We appreciate your positive feedback .

We continually strive for Operational Excellence and you may be rest assured that we will be continuously improving our facilities and services to maintain Palm Beach Resort & Spa as your preferred Resort in Labuan .

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

On behalf of the team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Palm Beach Resort & Spa in the not too distant future.



Very Truly Yours,

John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's a good choice for those who want to escape from the hustle & bustle of the Labuan town. But you have to rent a car, or else it'll be difficult for you as the location of this resort is quite far from the city (even from the nearest restaurant).

The room (with a king bed) was spacious, very clean & well maintained. Unfortunately, the water smell weird during my stay (but can be accepted). And the other disappointment was the pool was not in good condition (the water was turbid & a lot of leaves on the pool). huhuuhuuu

The scenery of the the seaside from the pools was awesome too..I might spend whole day there if I don't have any other activity :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiaralabuan, Manager at Palm Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Aimi A,

Greetings from Palm Beach Resort & Spa .

Thank you for choosing Palm Beach Resort & Spa for your recent stay.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the water smell weird and the pool was not in good condition these issues have been highlighted with the Maintenance & Recreation Manager .

We continually strive for Operational Excellence and you may be rest assured that we will be continuously improving our facilities and services to maintain Palm Beach Resort & Spa as your preferred Resort in Labuan .

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

On behalf of the team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Palm Beach Resort & Spa in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

John Chin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Batu Manikar, Labuan Island 87014, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Resort & Spa has come under a new wing of management. The 245 room resort which offer business leisure and tourists alike fantastic value accommodation. We would like to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves. Palm Beach Resort & Spa announced that a new management structure for the resort has been implemented with effect from 01 January 2013. The resort is led by a management team comprising Mr Chai Tze Khee, Managing Director and a group of young and vibrant staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.