We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Incredible in every way "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Batu Manikar, Labuan Island 87014, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“" Incredible in every way "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were completely blown away by our stay here. Everything was amazing - from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Any pictures that you see and any reviews that you read cannot do it justice. Previously a lot a reviewed only talk bad about the resort BUT now is a new management , slowly everything will run smoothly and the new picture will coming up soon . The new management do a very hard job and refurnished the resort rite now. After complete this is the only best resort on the Labuan Island.

The hotel itself is indescribably beautiful and the surroundings, location and nature are peaceful and utterly amazing. The beach is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen.

We will return to this hotel and I will recommend it to anyone who will listen! Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    29
    8
    14
See reviews for
12
12
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were a little apprehensive as the hotel has changed management and we were not sure if standards may have slipped.

Love the beach and natural beauty as much as guests do. i hope to visit Manikar Beach Resort at least once a year. Paradise in Labuan is the only way to describe the Manikar . This is a place set in nature & for people who come to relax away from the city or for nature enthusiasts.

Another wonderful trip to the Manikar .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We got ourselves the Deluxe Twin (Sea View) and the room was massive! I thought it was perfect for families, could probably fit two more singles or if you have small ones that are younger than 9 maybe, you can squeeze them perfectly with you on the bed :)

Some friends from TripAdvisor actually commented that the place looked scary, creepy and a little overworn. I must admit that I could tell the place must have been around for quite sometime now, but I experienced nothing like those (e.g damp and smelly), some parts yes were rusty, the water shower was a little too strong but I was alright with it because I used it to massage my back (haha). But you may want to use the tub for the kids instead.

There were also iron, iron board, hangers and coffee & tea making facilities.

The dining area is massive too. Seems like everything about this place is huge. For dinners, luncheons or breakfasts, I can assume this place can cater up to 300 people or more at one time.

Ah, the pool. It was beautiful and really inviting. There was a dude who cleaned up the pool when I went in on Sunday morning, so I could say it's very well maintained.

There's this small hut right across and another a little to the right. These are beach pavillions which were used by some dudes partying on the day we came. They were blasting some real "happening" music - one could only assume it was some awesome party. You can think about hosting your birthday parties (with barbeque) maybe, at this resort too :)

It has a sports net. You can actually play some football here, and bask in the sun. It could be fun and convenient.

Doesn't have a fantastic beach, in fact I didn't thought the water was inviting too, but the stretch was "fairly" clean. There weren't as many trash as some beaches. The sand wasn't soft, it was brown, a little muddy but you could still find a spot to sunbath to I believe.

Breakfast here is moderate. There's nothing to shout about really, you have the usual Mee Goreng, Cereal, Juices, Turkey Ham, Toast, Sausage, Hash Brown, unlimited coffee and tea and then some.

Location wise - bear in mind this is NOT in the city, it's off the city about 20minutes away. If you're from Kota Kinabalu, Brunei or other neighbouring areas there's a huge parking space for you and maybe you're family could find useful of. What I find was most commendable was the fact that they actually made sure we could use the complimentary shuttle bus at night as and when we want, to wherever we want. That was quite a service from them. They brought us to the city at 8pm and actually fetched us from where they dropped us at 10ish.

All in all it was a good experience, nothing to complain about. Good for a weekend getaway.

I think Manikar is perfect for school holidays. Drive down to Labuan, bring your family once in a while, check it out and you might be pleasantly surprised :)

Review from: http://jacqkie.blogspot.com/2012/04/manikar-beach-resort-labuan.html

Room Tip: Choose "Sea View" the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel has the best views on the island. They are actually undergoing renovation to make it really beautiful - I can see the tremendous potential, especially with the awesome pool and the exclusive beach! The staff are great and very friendly, big rooms and overall I had a pleasant stay - I can't wait until the upgrades are complete. I believe it has the potential to be the most incredible hotel in Labuan. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel being renovated so no pool facilities, no internet in room wifi in lobby, no phone line and only one channel tv.
Checked in, staff very friendly. Shown to room and was hit with this awful smell of damp, looks like the hotel has beed severly damaged in a tornado by the smell and upper roofs.
Checked out again so did not stay.
On a brighter note, i would say once they get thinbgs straight it might be ok but 25mins in taxi to Labaun town.
Had food which was ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This beautifully positioned hotel has just changed hands and there is a lot of renovation work being done to upgrade it. There have been poor reviews in the past but that is all going to change. I live near the hotel and use it often for meals and the wonderful swimming pool which has the most incredible view. Don't be put off from coming here, it's so much nicer than the town hotels and the staff are friendly and helpful. The place needs upgrading but the rooms are lovely, the views incredible and it is so peaceful. Give it a try!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Last minute plan end up myself checked in this hotel. Well, i thought the hotel would be nice since its situated just beside the white sandy beach. But the fact was the hotel was under staff, not well maintain, & above all quite scary at night.

My room is very spacious & the bathroom quite big as well. The room has a nice balcony facing the sea. I had a sleepless night due to the door of the balcony cannot be locked.

The food was quite simple but manageable & its quite cheap compared to other hotel. The best part was its quite near to the nice sandy beaches.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Batu Manikar, Labuan Island 87014, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Resort & Spa has come under a new wing of management. The 245 room resort which offer business leisure and tourists alike fantastic value accommodation. We would like to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves. Palm Beach Resort & Spa announced that a new management structure for the resort has been implemented with effect from 01 January 2013. The resort is led by a management team comprising Mr Chai Tze Khee, Managing Director and a group of young and vibrant staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.