We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Labuan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billion Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Billion Waterfront to your Saves list
Billion Waterfront
1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waterfront Labuan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Waterfront hotel is set in an ideal location close the financial centre (shopping mall) and only a short walk from the city centre.
The room itself was big and spacious and had all the mod coms I required. The Hotel staff were friendly but at times a little slow! The hotel pool was great and the Sunset bar overlooking the docks was terrific.

I certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would always recommend a non-smoking room, even if you are a smoker! Much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
4
4
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Actually it should be a nice hotel, has big rooms, waterfront and has nice pool. Regrettably, the hotel is lack of maintenance and service. The wifi in my room (2nd floor) was very weak and instable, you can forget it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was good but the hotel needs a bit upgrading. The room was big, the batroom was nice and clean. Internet was working good. Breakfast was ok with asian selections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Granted it is Malaysia but I did expect better. At first glance all looked ok but things quickly went down hill. The rooms are in need of a good deep cleaning! The hair dryer cord was connected to the wall and only about a foot long which made drying my hair a little difficult. That of course was after my shower in which I had to use one hand to keep the kink out of the shower hose and try and use the other to actually shower. There was no ironing board or iron in my room nor robe. Breakfast was included in my stay but wasn't really spectacular. That of course is on my point of view since I'm used to the more traditional American breakfast, not Asian. The pool and outdoor bar were nice. Overall not sure how to compare it with other hotels since this was my first visit to the island. Will try Dorsett across from this hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is one of the the two better hotels in Labuan. Taxi fare from ferry terminal is quite cheap....less than RM 10/- Reception staff unfriendly when we checked in . Hotel guests are mainly the staff from the Labuan oil rigs etc.Room is basically quite clean even though dated with old furnishings. Swimming pool looks great.
Breakfast spread and service is disappointing though.

Room Tip: You can get free hotel transfer to airport or ferry terminal when you check out. Just inform the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Many buisiness trips (maybe 20 nights spent) in last 2 years.

PRO: renewed room very cosy and modern style. Large and comfortable room. Very nice and large pool. Fair restaurant. Good place in safe area. Close to ferry terminal, Labuan financial center and next to the sea.

CON: I cannot see any ba points unless internet charges. (best is to buy a prepaid Sim card using phone as modem it is cheaper and works everywhere 8MYR / day)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Front desk very friendly and would help out when they can. Beer a little to expensive so worth drinking in Labuan. Food good and pool excellent. Only thing that lets it down is the workers in boilersuits at meal times.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Billion Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billion Waterfront

Address: 1, Jalan Wawasan, Labuan Island 87000, Malaysia (Formerly Waterfront Labuan Financial Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billion Waterfront officially opened its doors on the 01st December 1994 and was launched by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. The hotel is developed on approximately 4 hectares of reclaimed land adopting a contemporary architectural style with its external and internal decors. In 2004, the hotel received a 4-Star hotel rating from Tourism Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Billion Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billion Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.