We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for room..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kota Sri Mutiara | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15150, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free All Day
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Okay for room..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in early June 2013..during school holiday. Buffet breakfast was quite a large spread, but there was crowd of people. Booked executive room but not really use the lounge as limited food selection. Room was clean and comfortable. Heated swimming pool..just nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    92
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
55
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on the fact that this is the only five star in town. As I am very particular about the comfort and cleanliness, I booked this hotel for 2 days while visiting my husband's relatives. Well,overall I must say that this hotel is nice and clean, but if you are an observant person, then you can detect some 'not-so-clean' item inside the room, such as the edges of the bathroom floor has cracked, the sink lining has not been cleaned properly. But it is just some minor things that may not affect the overall condition of the room. The mattress was quite hard for me, but the pillows were just fine.
Maybe the best thing that I can say is that their service was excellent. The room service provided was up to the standard of a five star hotel. The food was excellent, especially the local dishes like nasi dagang and char kuey teaw, really my favourites. We even had our lunch at the restaurant, as my daughter loves the char kuey teaw.
Overall, this hotel is recommended for people who are travel on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is the only 5 star business hotel near town, about 5 mins or a rm10 taxi away. Rooms are a bit dated, hence suit the name Renaissance. Personally wouldn't grade it 5 star but merely a 4 star. Breakfast quite a large spread and the club lounge which I used as I got the club room was quite limited in selection. Breakfast was not served in the club lounge and evening tea time did not have any alcohol served, unlike other renaissance or Marriott globally.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The only decent hotel 3-4 star hotel in town: mostly business professionals on official trips will bunk in this hotel. The breakfast is good: try the local nasi dagang and nasi lemak: best in town in my opinion. Staff very helpful. Convenience store is just opposite the road

Room Tip: Higher floor is less noisy from the road below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love the pillow......the whole family sleep soundlessly. Feel like on a water bed....so soothing
I love the varities of breads presented all over the dining hall.
At times of emergency....help comes all the way very fast

Room Tip: Ever room is a pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two days and i really loved the experienced.The room is spacious and the bathroom is clean. The location is strategic and easy access to any part of town.
For the food,i can only say this...yummy.
Will come here again during next visit to kota bharu.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

its always good to be back to this hotel - they have the fluffiest pillows that are actually super comfy. another plus now is the 'healthy' section of the breakfast buffet. they have cereals, low-fat milk, a myriad of fresh juices and overall good spread.

its one of the better hotels in the area - and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Address: Kota Sri Mutiara | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the rich Malay culture at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, the city's only five star international class hotel and premier convention and wedding venue. Conveniently located in the heart of Kota Bharu's commercial and shopping district and also close to the domestic airport. For business or leisure traveler, the 298 spacious accommodation rooms and suites provides world class service and facilities including High Speed Internet, 2 Executive Floors with dedicated Club Lounge,Business Centre, wireless meeting rooms with Grand Ballroom, an on-site event management to create exhibitions, conventions, meetings and most extravagant weddings. The Renaissance Fitness Centre is Kota Bharu's largest gymnasium equipped with latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi and a heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel Kelantan
Kota Bharu Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.