We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Habib Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Habib Hotel to your Saves list
Habib Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1159-1162, Kota Bharu 15000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My FIL made the booking via internet for my BIL's engagement.The hotel is owned by the Habib Group, a renowned jewellery company in Malaysia. The rooms had the basic needs, a comfy bed, an LCD tv, a functional toilet, coffee tea making amenities. But one thing it doesn't have is a fridge. I think seeing that we're in a country where the climate is hot and humid, a fridge would be nice to have when you'd like a nice cold drink without having to go to the cafe downstairs.

The food at the cafe is quite good. Recommended dish would be the kuey teow Cantonese and the fish & chips were not bad too. The breakfast buffet was simple but absolutely delish. There was an elongated sardine pastry which was divine and the banana "cekodok" which is my daughter's favourite tasted absolutely homemade.

Our room is situated right in front the ironing station so it was convenient to iron our clothes for the function.

Travelling with a big family can be quite rowdy, so when people start peeking out their doors to see who's making so much racket, you know it's time to bring the kids in. But staying in a 3 star hotel one can't expect 5 star sound proofing :P

There are some great eateries and shops within walking distance of the hotel and a museum too. Overall a nice place to stay which is convenient if you'd like some place close to town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdulazri, General Manager at Habib Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Mdm,

Thanks for your kind review and we would be very happy to host you again in your next visit. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are many things good about this hotel. First, is its location. It is situated really in the middle of city center. You can virtually walk to many interesting places or shopping places. It is sorrounded with great restaurant and shopping malls to buy souvenirs. Secondly, the room is also nice, maybe because the fact that this hotel is still new. But you get what you paid and it really worth the money. The bathroom and bed were also great. The were plenty of parking places in front of the hotel for those with car. The staff were also helpful and easy to communicate. The only minor point I can say is regarding its cafe or coffeehouse. The breakfast are quite pathethic and you cant get much food at the cafe. But the again, with its ideal location, who wants to eat at the coffeehouse when you can get much more nicer foods just around the block!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdulazri, General Manager at Habib Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thanks for your review and we would like to host you again during your next visit. Have a nice day.

Regards,
Abdul Azri
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

No complaint. Been there for 3 nights and everything was as expected from a 3 star hotel. The receptionist was helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was great. Oh, forgot to mention, the location was also superb. If you are on a tight budget, this is a hotel that you should consider.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is a working trip for me but my spouse and 2 children wants to follow for it is the school holidays. I requested for a hotel nearby Pasar Khatijah and my staff in Kota Bharu suggested Habib Hotel. I stayed from 21/12 - 23/12/2012 @ RM138 per night.

The room was spacious with a big flat screen TV and can accomodate 2 extra mattresses with plenty of extra space for them to play. My king sized mattress is firm, solid and I loved it.The room feels fresh and the bedsheets were crisped white; the bathroom is big and has hot water. There is also hot drink facilities provided. The only bane is that there is only 1 electrical 13 amp outlet; not enough when we have so many equipment that need to be charged at night.

Overall it is a good stay in Kota Bharu although it rained every day.

Room Tip: When locals recommend, usually it's because they know the condition of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here for one night only (22-23 October) since my other preferred hotels were fully booked because of the Aidiladha celebration. I would not deny that its location is excellent as everything is so nearby - the bus station, shopping complex and definitely food. The room was spacious, but looked a bit worn out. I didn't have the opportunity to try out the breakfast as I needed to leave early. The breakfast time is at 7.30 am (if I am not mistaken), and I needed to leave by that time, so cannot really say about the food. The lift is another 'interesting' aspect about the hotel as it doesn't have a 'proper' door', just the wall and the entrance door at each level. I don't want to talk further about the 'speed' of the lift (it takes forever just to move from one floor to anther) as I feel that at least the hotel has the lift. So personally I do feel that if you don't have any other hotels to stay in, then this is a quite decent place to stay even though I feel this hotel will be my last resort if my prefferred hotels are fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdulazri, General Manager at Habib Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Pn Hasreena,

Please accept my sincere apologies on the hiccups during your stay. I guarantee you we are now having a new team in the hotel to ensure your stay is memorable. Thanks for your review.

Regards,
Abdul Azri
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I checked in on 21/11/2012,did reservation via phone. Basically it was a working trip for me so it was the company who was paying for the room. Since all the hotels were fullu booked(school holidays)i didnt wanna end up in a dodgy hotel so booked this as the pictures online were good and the price(RM 160)seem to promise a decent place. The rooms were clean and it looked new. But it is small for 160. I found lift to be facinating with a door to it. Bathroom was clean too but the major let down is the wifi. It is as good as not having one and i was really upset about it. It is near to the bus station and malls so no problem to move around. Over all it was ok stay..but I just find 160 for this stay is too high..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdulazri, General Manager at Habib Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

I apologize for for the hiccups during your stay. Rest assured we have upgraded our wifi service to cater the need of our guests. Thanks and have a nice day.

Regards,
Abdul Azri
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Habib for three nights on the way back from the Perhentian islands on Oct 19th/20th/21st.2012.
We were totally delighted by the Habib. Lovely room, excellent breakfast and centrally located.
The staff were first class.
We paid about £30 for each night.
The bus station is just about 300 metres up the road and all of Kota Bharu's many attractions are very walkable.
We will definitely go back to the Habib. A real gem

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Habib Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habib Hotel

Address: Lot 1159-1162, Kota Bharu 15000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Habib Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Habib Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habib Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habib Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.