We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and refurbished room. Great reception desk staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KBCC, Jalan Hamzah, Kota Bharu 15050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really clean and refurbished room. Great reception desk staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I am really surprised to find the Tune hotel such a clean and friendly place. I was expecting the quality to mirror the price I was paying, very cheap indeed. Instead I was presented a very clean room, refurbished and fresh. Even the pillow had a nice little flower on it.

The reception deks was really helpful, understood all the questions and thoughts that I had regarding taxi, bus and locations. It can be hard to get great answers when it comes to arrangements like that, so I again was positively surprised.

You do have to pay extra for all standard hotel amenities, such as towel, soaps, aircondition, hairdryer, TV, Wifi, etc. But that is clearly informed about at the booking situation. I rather have the choice to pay for it, rather than paying a higher hotel price and getting stuff I don't need anyway. As I arrived late and left early the next morning, all I needed was a bed, and what a great place it was for just that! Perfect!

Much recommended, I will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    155
    66
    16
    11
See reviews for
80
75
46
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

we stayed in Tune Hotel Kota Bahru for one night before depart to Pulau perhentian last week.
this is our second stay in this lovely hotel. the staff are very welcoming and friendly. we booked our room online, feel good to be back to the hotel, room is still very clean, comfortable bed. we had our breakfast across the hotel at Suntwo for the famous Nasi Dagang before taking the taxi from the hotel to Kuala Besut.
We would like to say Thank you to the hotel staff , you guys have done a great job!

Room Tip: must try Nasi Dagang at Suntwo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy that we are able to be your home-away-from home. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat and our dedicated housekeeping team works their magic in ensuring rooms are clean and comfortable at all time.

I hope you'll continue being a fan of Tune Hotel as we are much eager to welcome you back to our abode.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked a queen-bed room in this hotel on-line using a big on-line travel agent (Agoda) and it said that a towel package was included. When we arrived they only gave a one person towel package (with only one towel). When we asked for explanation they said we should pay extra for the second towel and should complain at the travel agent instead at their service desk as they thought it was totally normal to give only 1 towel for a 2p room.

This is actually the bottom line for everything in this hotel, Everything costs extra: Wifi, TV, extra AC time etc. You only pay for a bed and the rest is supplemental.

The hotel lays at a 20min walk from the city centre but next to a mall and would be good for business but not for tourists as it's too far from everything.

Although it is known as a budget hotel, in every other hotel where I come, even the much more budget ones, they give a much completer room. Even though it was clean, the hotel felt because of this point as a disappointment to me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Our limited service concept means that we reduce the room size and the complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer

The genesis of Tune Hotels is to offer the basics : bed and shower. We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only. This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budge.

After a day of travel, a comfortable bed and power shower makes a wonderful slumber experience and we happy to be part of making your stay a worthwhile experience.

Hope to hear your knock on our door really soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

For a day or two where there is very little mosquitoes to accompany your stay, this is the place. Small and compact like Viva/Kancil but it serve its purpose if you can make do without creature comfort. Not so bad after all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated next to KB Mall, a shopping haven for locals and tourists alike. Apart from the hotel's Hikari 24 hours restaurant with it's delicious local dishes there are a lot of eateries to choose at the Mall. I like the cleanliness the most which have been maintained since opening.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are much larger, convenient for Muslim prayer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The concept of Tune Hotels really makes sense if you are on a budget and not intending to stay indoors for long.
The rooms are really quite small; bit smaller than how it looks on their website. So it can get quite cramped especially in case you are with a family.
It was quite a challenge trying to bath the baby since they don't have a hand held shower nor do they have a tap or buckets.
They have limited prayer mats at the reception and the Surau in the first floor is really small and stinks!
Since this is a budget hotel, there are a few things if we carry along with us could make our life much easier. Consider carrying some cups, prayer mats, mini soaps/shampoos, small kettle or flask (you can get hot water from the restaurant and make your own drink!), door stopper (2 nos) in case you are planning to take 2 rooms attached.
The restaurant on the 1st floor is quite nice, with both closed and open concept. The huge KB Mall is just opposite the hotel so very convenient in case you want to grab something.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for review.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us. This feedback has been channelled to the relevant team for improvements.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, wi-fi, tea and coffee and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' Space efficient rooms and "pay as you use" complimentary extras allows the flexibility in lowering our prices.

Our budget friendly concept, allows guests to use these savings to splurge outdoors; and having spent most of the time outdoors; all that are needed is a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

And we are perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience. We hope that you will allow us the occasion to restore your experience at your next visit.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent for whose need only small room to stay. Very clean. Near to convenience store and food -chinese food. Rm10 for taxi to Khatijah Market and Rm30 to Airport. Very easy to get taxi. Bathroom very clean and water pressure also good with heather. Must pay for everything. Like AC, TV, wifi early check in (2pm) and check out (11am). Dont forget to park car at place (will clap by police or etc).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Tune Hotels Kota Bahru operates on a limited service concept.

At Tune Hotels you find only the basics for a great slumber experience. We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only. This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

All our properties are always located centrally, and as for the sizes of our rooms; our rooms are typically space efficient; all at extremely affordable prices.

Cleanliness has always been a priority and we always endeavoured our very best; at capacity to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable.

Clean and central. That's our pride

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre

Address: KBCC, Jalan Hamzah, Kota Bharu 15050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kota Bharu next to the state capital’s popular landmark the KB Mall. Guests will find the hotel’s location very strategic and convenient as it is within close proximity of established shopping outlets and will allow visitors to experience the rich food and cultural heritage of Kelantan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels Kota Bahru City Centre Hotel Kota Bharu
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.