We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Lodge to your Saves list
Crystal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Jalan Che Su, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

standard room small and over-priced. quite clean except the towel i exchanged was 'scary' with a hanging dag of unknown source. would have prefer cheaper tariff and no breakfast. impossible to talk to upper level management.

Room Tip: Standard room @ 89R is small and over-priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    99
    53
    19
    5
See reviews for
48
90
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, before going to the Perhentian islands. The room was very small and the bed quite short. Matress was hard and a bit uncomfortable. Had a TV but the reception was terrible. When we took a shower the room got soaking wet because it's right above the toilet. The breakfast also wasn't very interesting, OK but nothing special. Remember I had cold scrambled eggs. Staff was fine, but the vibe of the hotel was nothing interesting, wouldn't recommend it. Glad we didn't pay too much to stay here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's cheap and basic - the rooms are big but lack natural light. Whilst the staff are friendly, they lack and local knowledge, failing to even know the taxi distance to the local airport. They told us to allow nearly an hour for a 7 minute journey!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived in Kotha Baru on Friday and just dropped in this hotel. They gave us a family double for 179 Myr. Price was quite high, but there was no other choice available.
The room though was quite big and was missing nothing. Shower was perfect.
Average service, good location to go walking to most places to be visited in Kota Bharu.
Restaurants and coffe shops just outside the hotel or around the corner.
One of the best breakfasts in all the hotel in Malaysia we have been to so far.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights. Staff helpful but being the fasting month towards the afternoon they were wilting. The management did not even provide seats for them. I complained to management and hope they have been provided with seats. Bet there is no union to fight their corner. Booking in easy.
Room was small but we did not go to KB to stay in the room. One day was rubbish clearing day and the stench as it rose up to our air-conditioned room was unbearable. Wrote a strong letter and were offered a reduction but they must do something about the stench. Breakfast was good. would use the hotel again but would ask for a room on the other side to avoid the stench.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the left side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here before and after visiting the Perhentians as many do when in Kota Bahru, We chose Crystal Lodge mainly for value and from good reviews and were not disappointed. both times we found the rooms to be very clean and well kitted out (cable tv,iron+ironing board,toiletries,tea/coffee making facilities) and as read in previous reviews the shower and breakfast were also excellent. Breakfast consisted of a large buffet style selection that included western and malaysian food ranging from hot/cold, fruits, cereals etc.
The staff at reception were also very friendly and helpful assisting with transport, boat tickets and helping us with our luggage.
Would definitely recommend Crystal Lodge to anyone looking for good value accommodation in Kota Bahru whether it be as a pit stop before/after the Perhentians or just visiting the city itself as there are a lot of shops/restaurants etc. in the area and within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here in August and had booked a deluxe double. First the checkin was lengthy and staff were offhand and disinterested, not at all welcoming. The lifts were broken and were not being fixed until the next day. The room we were given was small; on the ground floor looking out directly to the street and in the older part of the hotel. ( The new building was booked out.)
The queen bed was close to the street and it was quite noisy at night and in the morning with traffic going past- unable to open curtains much as pedestrians on pavement outside. The room had nowhere to put luggage and very little space for anything. Bathroom had been renovated and although small was a good shower. The breakfast was fine on the top floor in the new building and would have been hotter if lids weren't left open. Malaysian b/fast food was good.
We were able to park our car in the hotel carpark at the back.
The photos when booking are definitely not a good likeness to what we ended up in.
We were in need of a city map to get around but as reception didn't have any at all -we tried to use the internet room ( which we paid for) but very poor reception and printers not working properly and then staff seemed unable to help when they discovered they would need to change ink cartridge. . Would we stay there again? Probably not - am sure there are many other hotels with better rooms and welcoming reception staff.

Room Tip: Definitely don't stay ground floor in old part. Seems rooms in the new wing is maybe where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Lodge

Address: 124 Jalan Che Su, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Kota Bharu
Crystal Lodge Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.