We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nam at Bon Ton

Nam at Bon Ton
Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+604 955 3643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 285 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place is literally hidden, I mean really hidden, if not because the small sign on the road side along the main road... I believe I wont able to find it. And if not because of the high recommendation on TA, most likely I wont drive in...

however, I am glad, that I did ... the place is definitely great for parties, and for romantic events, just peep my photos ....

The food, is good, match it reputation , portion is big too, the price ... well.. expect to pay higher price for the cool ambiance.

Beside the food, the service is really excellent, something rare for Malaysia hospitality. Thumbs Up!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    67
    25
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, pleasant service and nom food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had the priveledge of staying at Temple Tree and frequented nam at Bon Ton. The service is very pleasant and hospitable and most importantly the food and cocktails were great!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“loved the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Food was great and so was the company ( it's a sanctuary for cats and dogs). Some cats will come and greet you but are polite and won't bother when you eat. Great place and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I discovered Nam a few years ago and loved in then. This trip I stayed next door but ate at Nam. Umber ours times. The food is amazing, the staff are wonderful and really friendly and the ambience is wonderful. The Nonya Platter was a great way to experience traditional Malay food and was delicious. The local dessert platter was my absolute favorite, luved the sticky black rice in coconut cream, sooo good! I also had the seafood platter on another night which was huge and very tasty. Special thanx to Amy and her incredible Espresso Martini's. I ate lunch there only once when I was having a "quiet" day. The seafood stir fry noodles were wonderful and I found the atmosphere a perfect place to sit back and read while a monsoon storm passed thru. I'll see you all again next year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had dinner here the other evening and it was wonderful.
I love the alfresco environment. It is not exactly on the beach, but the setting is perfect.
Service was excellent. They were very attentive and friendly. Not like the type of restaurants where you see their waiters are all plastered with a big fat smile on their face just for the sake, but the kind of genuine friendly smile that makes you feel that you're truly welcomed.
Food is needless to say perfect. We ordered a starter (don't quite remember the name), then had seafood platter and their char grilled lamb rack. Seafood was very fresh and the dip that accompanied it was delicious. Very Malaysian. While the lamb was very tender and juicy and again, love the gravy. My taste buds were exploding with all kind of flavours. We had desserts too, of their homemade raspberry and chocolate ice creams. Yum!
Yes, the portion is a bit small, but I guess that's meant to be like that so we get to try their starters and desserts.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam at Bon Ton also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Nam at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nam at Bon Ton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.