We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malibest Resort

Save Saved
You added Malibest Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 3 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, basic room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in Malibest resort from the 8th of May to 11th of May 2013. I travelled with my husband and 3 other couples. We stayed in 2 super deluxe beach front rooms and 2 deluxe wooden rooms. I was comfortable in the super deluxe beach front room, as i found it clean and comfortable. However the wooden deluxe rooms was not that great one had a wash basin that was always clogged and this was not pleasant. The air-conditioning in the room was also not very effective.

Malibest resort is definitely not a resort, it has a very basic rooms with basic facilities. The rooms are cleaned daily. Rooms do get sandy since the rooms are right on the beach. At night mosquitoes gets into the room, so we try to keep the closed most of the time.

Otherwise Malibest is strategically located with eateries and convenience stores nearby. I especially enjoyed the garlic and butter naan in the India Palace restaurant located at the entrance of Malibest. Breakfast was not provided but was not a problem with numerous places open for breakfast. I had nasi lemak bungkus from one of the roadside stalls and found it really nice.

Overall the location is good and the Super Deluxe beach front room is a better bet. It is right on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    141
    86
    28
    44
See reviews for
84
134
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent location, wonderful experience with our stay at the Deluxe Tree House. My 5 year old son loved it. Waking up to that magnificent view and hearing the waves from our room was heaven on earth. The room was decent, but obviously not as comfortable as staying at the Berjaya where we went next. We did see a gigantic cockroach in the bathroom and that made me very uncomfortable. The excursion of the mangrove tour is definitely a must. The beach is wonderful and the restaurant near by, Orkid Rio, serves excellent seafood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in Malibest last 12-15 May 2013. We did not want to spend a lot in Langkawi and chose the Standard Brick Room across the road.As a budget accommodation, the resort was worth. The location is great. it is right smack in Pantai Cenang, just a short walk away from Cenang Beach (we loved this beach). Outside are restaurants, groceries, and bakeries left and right. Taxis are just by the roadside. The staff are helpful and answer questions well enough. The room itself was a lot bigger than we thought - aside from 2 queen beds, it has a small living room with two small sofas and a center table. Four people can move around comfortably in it. There's an old model TV and a personal fridge in the room. Both are in working condition. The water heater works fine. Water pressure is good.

Now for the things that can definitely be improved. The AC takes ages to get cold, on days 2 and 3, our room was not cleaned and I had to go to reception to request for a roll of tissue paper. Also, the towels could definitely be cleaner. Upon check-in, the wifi in the lobby was not working but was remedied on out second day.

Overall, Malibest was a good base for us in Langkawi. In terms of the physical structure and facility, it really is just average at best. Interior design is non-existent. The four stars in my rating mainly is for the room size and the LOCATION.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We called the reception one day before. They told us that they have a deluxe beach front bungalow for 200 RM per night for the duration of 3 nights. When we wanted to check in, they told us it is 300 RM per night. Wifi did not work once in our bungalow and only 5min in the lobby, after that they had an issue with their Internet connection. The room was right on the beach and on the main way so it had a beautiful view out of the window but it was loud! There was also a construction yard next to the place which belongs to the resort.
The towels and bedding, sheets and pillow sheets were all dirty. We told them about it, they said they want to fix it but all we got were even dirtier towels!
The door lock did not look really safe and the room safe was not attached on the wall or floor. Someone can break in easily and still your stuff in 30s while you are sleeping. They have a night guard but you never know how it works and if it is really awake. So on the beach we think it is a beautiful scene with the beach front but we felt more exposed than anything. People just sitting on your ground in the shadow make you feel more unsafe. There is a water tap in front of your door which everyone uses and you hear when you lay in bed. The chairs on the porch were missing. Breakfast was not included so you had to pay 15 RM extra. Unbelievable in a place for 300RM per night.

All in all there are cheaper places with better service in langkawi. Fortunately we only had to pay the first night and moved after that to Sandy beach which is 320 RM for two nights and quite nice. It also includes breakfast, beach view and free working Internet! Stay away from Malibest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

During my 1st langkawi trip on Dec 2012 this is resort that i choose and it is nice and good location. Surrounding with restaurant and shop. Just few step from your room to beach and even you able to walk on beach during night time with nice view. Cheap & nice resort. Beside resort they also provide island hoping package, snorkeling package and other packages that cheap that market price. You just need wait in-front of resort then there is a bus to fetch you to the destination.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe Beach Front & Deluxe/Standard Tree room recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a spur of the moment decision to stay at the Malibest Resort. Whilst strolling the length of the beach, what stood out were a couple of timber tree houses amidst palm trees right on the beach. Far more appealing than many of the concrete boxes lining the beach. Fortunately the tree house was available for just one night so we grabbed it. The room is nothing special. Actually, quite basic with dated furniture and furnishings. Quite a dark interior. Not to worry as the attraction is the balcony overlooking the beach. Other beach goers would often stop and gaze up at us sipping our beers on the balcony. Jealousy at its best!

The trees and palms provided privacy from the adjacent buildings. The staff at reception were helpful but not overly friendly. An excellent Indian restaurant adjacent to the front of the reception is highly recommended. The other must do dining experience is a short stroll along the beach to "Babylon" - a collection of eating and drinking options with a reggae theme. A pleasant change to many of the otherwise sterile dining options available.

For bragging rights, a stay at the Tree House is highly recommended. If it is not available, the other rooms seemed fine - though I am sure Tarzan and Jane would not agree.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Very strategic location for food, getting around and beach is just a few steps away . Clean, great air cond and comfort. Just funny smelly towel and no service staff. overall cant complaint more as this is a very affordable budget resort. no hair dryer but very impressed with the bathroom. small but cozy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Also Known As:
Malibest Hotel
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms and Otel so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.