We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average chalet with a min walk to the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malibest Resort to your Saves list
Malibest Resort
Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“average chalet with a min walk to the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

the resort area itself is huge and they doing more expansion construction. We check in quite late around 10pm so the only chalet left is further back at the end of the resort [just behind our chalet is construction site for new building]. Even though its quite a long walk from the reception counter but only a min walk to the beach [but no beach view as it block by few other chalets]. Luckily as we there, we didint hear any noise from the construction site, maybe coz it was weekend.

The room is basic but okey if you just wanna sleep and don't spend much time in it. The chalet has a decent size for you to move around but the furniture very old school. All the basic necessities provided such as fridge, safe box, tv, kettle, soap & shampoo. Very sandy floor but you're on the beach area so i guess its acceptable. The bathroom nice & clean except for the hanging rack that quite rusty. The housekeeping quite late, we went back one day at 3pm and the room still unclean. And 10 mins after that then only they knocked on the door to clean the room. Quite a hassle as we just got back from a tour & wanna get some rest.

The location is very strategic as it in the middle of Pantai Cenang, so restaurants and shops just outside the resort. Nice to take a walk at the beach as well. The treetop chalet seems unique and nicer or you can go for the beach front chalet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    161
    109
    38
    50
See reviews for
99
159
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Best location with great price! The beach is just right in front of the wooden chalet! Besides, it's near to everything, restaurants and stuff. The only down thing is that there is no wifi throughout the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 3 nights in the month of January 2013. Its a perfect beach property... sea facing exactly on the beach....Neat and clean property. Courtious staff. They allowed me an early checkin. The resort does not have inhouse resturent. However, just outside there is an Indian Resturant. Rest of the market and underwarterpark is walking distance.

Room Tip: Take sea facing room with balcony. You can ask for the room " Jemuruk" or the rooms next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed there for 9 nights, in super deluxe beach front room called CEPU. The location was perfect, right on the beach. Our room was big, simple, with AC and fan which cooled the room down very quickly. The selection of TV channels was very limited, but to us it wasn’t very disturbing because if you have a room right on the beach you can do more interesting things outside the room. There were a little fridge, kettle and safety box. Towels were changed every day. I have one complaint also: our room was almost at the end of the tile path and the cleanig ladies left their trolleys with dirty towels, garbage bags, botteled water and bags with fresh sheets behind our window (from about 10.30am to 4pm). I’m usually a very patient person, but finally it started to disturb me. I told it to a young lady at reception, who told me ok, yes, yes. I also told it to the cleaning ladies, but nothing changed. The next day all repeated. Finally I pushed them away myself a couple of times.

In conclusion, it was a very enjoyable stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

the worst service i have been through. need to drag luggage and call cab by myself. it is the backpacker style, but call themselves as a "resort" name. request a twin bed room and made the reservation in 3 months ago, when i got there, the reception offered a double bed type room and told that they are full, can't provide twin bed type room. totally not honor the reservation i made! worst experience!

Room Tip: the very last choice in pantai cenang
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed 3d2n with hubs & 2yo toddler in tow. Baby cots are not available here.

no proper car park but the staff said we could just anywhere by the road it seems. so we did and alhamdulilah no parking tickets were summoned.

no swimming pool but the sea was just meters away from our chalet.

the walkway to the rooms - just pavement on the sand so don't bring ur LV luggages plus its not so wheelchair-friendly.

Price - paid rm200 for beachfront chalet. a little pricy for local standards and it doesn't even come with breakfast & common amenities. But waking up to the lovely beach makes up for it. We just made sure we bought some drinks & bread at the nearby 7-11 the night before. Theres an indian restaurant at the front lobby area.

Toilet - toiletries provided are at bare minimum stds - shampoo plastic sachets and mini bar soap only. Pls bring your own. 2 bathing towels, no face towels provided. Shower pressure was great with temp control.

Bedding - pillows too soft but to tired to notice. my 2yo woke up with bedbug bites on cheeks and legs. We requested for insect repellent and sprayed it all over the room before going out for dinner. Request for extra pillows were declined although I could see bedding items were in abundance as we happen to pass by the storing room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We should stay for 5 nights, could only get a standard brick room. on the other side of the street, there were no availably at the beachside. We asked the clerk when we arrived, and then again, same girl next day if there were any availably at the beachside, so we could upgrade. No we could not, and she couldnt put us up on a list either. Day 3 we asked if there was a beachside room and now, yes there was. She didnt recognise that we already were guests....This was in the afternoon,so if we wanted to change, we should had come earlier... 45 min too late she said :-0....
Otherwise we had to pay for both rooms. So we didnt change. If we had not paid ahead, we would have left.... Very bad service. Very big different from Thailands good personal service!
Our room is big, but it is mould in the bathroom, our space outside the room is a parkinglot, and theres nowereelse to go. They dont change the towels. Try to get another hotel!! Pictures comes later.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the other side of the street, if you must stay here. Service should have been zer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Address: Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.