We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Malibest Resort to your Saves list
Malibest Resort
Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bad service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We should stay for 5 nights, could only get a standard brick room. on the other side of the street, there were no availably at the beachside. We asked the clerk when we arrived, and then again, same girl next day if there were any availably at the beachside, so we could upgrade. No we could not, and she couldnt put us up on a list either. Day 3 we asked if there was a beachside room and now, yes there was. She didnt recognise that we already were guests....This was in the afternoon,so if we wanted to change, we should had come earlier... 45 min too late she said :-0....
Otherwise we had to pay for both rooms. So we didnt change. If we had not paid ahead, we would have left.... Very bad service. Very big different from Thailands good personal service!
Our room is big, but it is mould in the bathroom, our space outside the room is a parkinglot, and theres nowereelse to go. They dont change the towels. Try to get another hotel!! Pictures comes later.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the other side of the street, if you must stay here. Service should have been zer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    153
    105
    34
    49
See reviews for
94
154
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'd read various reports before booking and with the photo images on the web gave a clear indication of what to expect. I was not disappointed! It suited our needs. We knew there was no pool but there was the sea approx 10 meters away. Breakfast was to included but there were plenty of breakfast bars nearby. The rooms were big enough and cleaned daily, each day clean towels were provided! The room had air con and a fan, also a fridge which was topped up with 2 bottles of water daily. The wardrobe had no doors which I would have preferred and could also have had some shelves.

We found the staff very helpful including at the tour desk. Any emails prior to arriving were responded to promptly. My luggage did not arrive with us, the lady on reception phoned her dad who works at the airport to help locate it, which he did and it arrived the next day :-)

There are lots of beach activities nearby, lots of eating places along the street and in the evening Babylon is an interesting place to go and have some cocktails.

We stayed for a week, thought it was good value for money and a good placed to be based.

Room Tip: One with a sea view, either from the room or the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

When I mqade the booking I told the reservation staff that I'm bringing elderly parents with wheel chair. They didnt give me clear info abt the situation of their room location. when i arrvd, it was heavy rain and to make thing worst they do not hv proper car park so i can't park the car right infront of the lobby to drop my mum on wheel chair. Reception was not friendly also. I was very shock when they put me at the far end of the resort block. can u guys imagine i hv to push the wheel chair in the heavy rain with sandy and cracked tile path from the lobby to the room. DISASTER!. Then d room was not functioning, waited almost 25mins for them to open d door. When we switch the fan, it tripped...astro was not working too. I. requested to switch room for my parents to get nearer to lobby but my request was only attended a day later which i finally cancel d booking. The only good thing the manager take the effort to apologize of our bad experience. i just feel that this hotel will only take care of the expats not so much for local because i can see that this resort is full with expat so local can expect third class treatment here. will nvr recommend this place to anyone eventhough they have very nice sandy clean beach. What a family holiday to enjoy at this place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with the plan of thawing out on the beach after 2 weeks of skiing in Japan. Unfortunately when we arrived the rudeness of the staff soon put an end to our relaxing beach front treehouse retreat.

The young gentlemen at reception was rather rude and abrupt upon check in. We didn't really think much of it and just put it down to being use to the luxury of Japanese service. However the next day when I woke up, I noted the the sheets had dried up blood on them, the blood did not belong to us and had been there for a while. When I we down to complain that the sheets had not been changed from the previous guests the young gentlemen responded with "so what do you want me to do about it?" "do you want new sheets?". I asked him politely to acknowledge that we had been given a room that had not been cleaned to the point where dried blood was on the sheets. My request for acknowledgement of the issue was completely ignored as he backed away from the desk.

When the room was cleaned only the bed was made, no cups where changed or cleaned nor, was the toilet cleaned.

Admittedly the rooms are on the beach however I would still not recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Strategic location, value for money. Located in the heart of Pantai Cenang Langkawi, Malibest Resort is a good place to stay.

Friendly staff, clean & simple rooms for stay, ideal for the family as well. Located on the beach, it's a 5 minute walk to other attractions such as the Underwater World Langkawi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night.. Got the room last minute as it was a spontaneous plan.. The air cond was not chilling but that was no matter really as the fact that it was right on the beach compensated well for it as we just strolled along the beach and hung out there.. The mini mart is just outside along with restaurants, places for a drink and also spas and massage places.. Like the place overall.. I personally find the hotels at pantai tengah better as the beach there is less crowded. But cenang is not bad either..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friend recommended this place and I was so glad that I booked our stay here.

We booked for two quad rooms. The rooms were spacious and the linens and mattresses were clean. The thing that caught my attention was the restroom - it soooooo nice! It was so clean, with towels, shampoos and tissue paper.

Everything else is so good, including the staff..... plus the fact that it's beachfront. I have recommended this place to my other friends who also visited Langkawi and they had all praises in the place.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the treetop rooms. It will give you a very good view of sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Address: Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.