We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, awesome sea view, but average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Star Resort

Save Saved
You added Best Star Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Star Resort
Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, awesome sea view, but average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My first impression was -- the hotel is kinda old. Anyway, as of September 2013, some parts of the hotel are under renovation, hopefully we can see some new design on the hotel as a whole in the future.

I prepaid the deposit via online banking transfer and I've furnished the transaction reference number via email a day before. Upon arrival, the receptionist insisted a printed document (bank in slip) to confirm our payment, even though I have furnished the reference number. The receptionist refused to check us in and asked us to go to a nearby internet cafe to print it out. I have to say although it was partly my fault, but I think the hotel could have done a better job on not dragging our check in time.

Nonetheless, the receptionist and the reservation personnel have been quite helpful during the reservation process. They responded my email very promptly (but sadly, except the final confirmation email, which caused the above mentioned ding-dong)

I like the bed and I had a great sleep, but the shower heater wasn't hot enough for me (I have to pump "smaller" water to get my intended temperature). The room is slightly old. Other than that, I have no other comment/ complaint on the room.

Excellent location along Pantai Cenang. Various restaurants, pubs, shops, night market stores, and most importantly -- the beach. If location is your top consideration, try this hotel. However, it could be a bit noisy at night, especially if your room is just beside the beach.

Breakfast is so so, except for the omelette (which is awesome). Anyway, I'm not a breakfast person, so you can ignore my comment.

Parking space "might" be a problem, but we were lucky enough to get a space everytime we're back to hotel.

Overall, for RM170 per night during a public holiday, I couldn't complain much. For the location and the nice sleep, I still think it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    52
    14
    18
See reviews for
32
53
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are cheap and cozy. The services are excellent. The foods are good too. And the beach is clean and very easy to get there. The resort is near to anywhere. I'll be back. P.S : very recommended resort for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Price is a bit expensive since the resort is located at Cenang beach. Breakfast is so-so with few choices of food. Location of the resort is superb ! Receptionist not so friendly. There are many attractions nearby , just a walking distance to Underwater World Langkawi, Cenang Mall and Duty Free Shops. many restaurants nearby with lots of choices for Malay, Chinese , Indian, Siamese , Western & Japanese foods. You also have a lot of choices to book for island tour at the agent office along the road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were a little shocked when we arrived at this hotel in the dark as the front was a construction site, however, once past the renovations at the front things improved. This hotel is tired and old, but the location right on the beach is fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful. The first room we had was at the front of the building with a view of the construction going on outside where work started at 8.30 which didn't bother us but could be annoying if you wanted to sleep late. We moved to a beachfront room after a couple of nights which had a balcony and was much larger. We njiyed this more expensive room much more and the only gripe was that the shower over the bath didn't have a shower curtain which meant that water went everywhere. The restaurant opens right onto the beach, but as we didn't eat there I can't coment on the food. This is not really a resort and is a bit worn around d the edges, but our stay was pleasant and I'd be happy to return to one of the sea front rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a sea front room. Sec d floor have balconies, while ground floor open right onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. The beach is just few steps away from room, you can see it from the room, and watch sunset too. The sea water is crystal clear especially in the morning, I really enjoyed the sea bath every morning and evening!
However, don't expect for 'best star' of the rooms. There is no hair dryer provided, room light is too soft for makeup and shaving, the floor and carpet is very sandy as the staff are not really clean it up by using vacuum cleaner and mop. They just sweep it. Our foot was all time dirty when staying in the room.
Location is good as the whole street is restaurants and hawkers. Shops selling swim wear and souvenir are everywhere. Easy to call the cap too.
Next time will consider to stay in this hotel again but must bring a hair dryer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Best star resort for 3 days , and our stay was very pleasant. Obviously it is not the 'best' of 'star' hotels nor is it like a complete 'resort' , but the fact that it is nicely located on the best beach of Langkawi makes the lodgers happily accessible to all the happening sea sports on the beach.

There is market road just behind the resort that has restaurants of all types of cuisines in the world and small little shops from where you would wanna buy some inexpensive but cool stuff for yor family and friends.

Breakfast was served early in the morning from 7AM onwards , it was nice but very basic.

There is a restaurant just beside the resort called 'Tomato'. If you are Indian you will just love the food there, it was very inpensive and tasted just like home food. Another beach facing coffee house just next to the resort is a great place to relax , sip coffee and watch that sun go beautifully down the sea. It is the best place to spend your evening.

All the island trips and other adventure trips are also accessible easily. There are many stalls around that place that sell these trips , just find out the cheapest one among them and you are ready to go . :)

Dont miss out on the Under Water World that is located just half KM away from the resort. If you have never been to one then it is worth a visit.

To sum it up: It is a nice place to stay, even budget-wise compared to the other resorts in that area.

Room Tip: Book atleast a month in advance. Try to get a beach facing room ( Though I havent stayed in one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were terrified by the hotel when we reached. We couldn't believe this was the hotel that we booked,it was so run down and look like a ghost hotel. The front yard of the hotel is having renovation but I did not see any renovating activities going on. Maybe it's holiday in Malaysia! The tv channel is limited, air cond not cold, the bathroom is creeky. Tap water is running like I pee. Cracked basin, bad room service,no toothpaste, no hairdryer. Limited variety of breakfast. I couldnt sleep well because the room is not sound proof. This hotel is not really cheap consider in malaysia, and with that price i can get a better hotel. I wish I can get back my MONEY! Worst experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Star Resort

Address: Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Best Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Star Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.