We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Hotel but No better Alternative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Star Resort

Save Saved
You added Best Star Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Star Resort
Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Lahore, Pakistan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An OK Hotel but No better Alternative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in Best Star Hotel from 24 - 27 Jun 13; initially we took their deluxe room but it was a big disappointment; it was very basic, dirty and had foul smell. We were lucky that their single huts on beach were available. Its location right on the beach compensated for its additional cost. No bell boys, so you have to carry your luggage yourself and though ladies at reception tried to be friendly but overall the hotel is not very guest friendly. I needed printouts of our airline tickets and hotel inspite of having their own printer(s) were reluctant to extend that support even though I was willing to pay for it. Hotel breakfast is very basic both in terms of quality and service. Plenty of options available for meals and shopping in close vicinity of the hotel. No problems as far as money changers, tour operators or 7/11 Stores as all are located in close proximity. Water sports are provided by a 3rd Party within the premises of the hotel. Though, hotel is basic but we looked around and their were no better alternatives in close proximity specially if you want to be close to beach. 4 - 5 Star Hotels apart from being very expansive were mostly located in isolated spots. In Langkawi, its only in Pantai Cenang which has little life or action and that life or action is mostly on the beach and that is where Best Star Resort Stands out. One can enjoy his stay but then expectations have to be lowered (so are their rates) and go for one of their two huts on the beach. Langkawi anyways is probably one time visit place so guess wont be returning there again. Thailand, I believe has many better and yet inexpensive options,

Room Tip: Huts on the Beach. Don't try any other Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    52
    14
    18
See reviews for
32
53
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is in pole position in Pantai Cenang, with shops, restaurants and the fabulous beach at your fingertips.

I'll give it to you straight - the rooms are indeed old, worn and tired; the place is very run down, yes there's sand all over the floors and some of the staff could show a little bit more interest in the guests and less in their mobile phones. However, who cares about the odd stray hair on the sink that's not your own or the shower head that sprays in every direction except down when you're this close to the water and only need a bed and quick shower?

Aircon is cold, TV channels work and it was nice to have a king sized bed all to myself. Fridge and kettle are nice, bed is comfy and pillows are just the way I like them.

If you want luxurious showers and five star facilities, go elsewhere. If you are happy to be based in the best location in Cenang and only need your room to shower, sleep and change, stay here. Save your money from not staying at some overpriced "fancy pants" resort and spend it on all the awesome tours and attractions that Langkawi has to offer instead!

Room Tip: Like everywhere else in Cenang, there's building work going on outside the hotel 9am to 7pm pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Wasn't expecting a lot for such a low price but was pleasantly surprised by the beach front location. Steps from the water and only seconds from great restaurants, shopping and conveniently located day trip services. Helpful staff and an enjoyable breakfast made for a great stay. Freshly cooked omelettes are worth a second helping. Average decor but with this location who would spend time in their room. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel in wonderful spot, staff very helpful. Breakfast plain but adequate.....wonderful helpful and friendly staff who could not do enough for you.........had a great room overlooking the beach.....would stay again

Room Tip: Take the wonderful mangrove tour the Hotel markets for the Baron group...it was great value for mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed there for 2 nights. First impression was "okey, never belive what you can see on photos" cause the hotel was rather old and ran down. Then we got to our room and there was a locked connection door to the next room. So you can hear everything what is going on next door. We told the staff about our disappointment and they swap the room (maybe only because I was a bit sick and they felt bad for me). Most of the rooms have connection doors to next door so make sure you ask a room without that door unless you want to hear tv playing next door. Our new room wasn't very good and our third room as well, so housekeeping is not the best here. Coffee spoons were used and we were not sure about linen, seemed to be clean but then we found some hair under the pillows etc. Toilets were old and showerhead was broken, toilets were leaking in all those 3 rooms we had! This hotel sure needs maintenance!
Service was good and helpful, they did their best to swap the rooms. You can also keep your belongings at the counter, it's safe there. Wouldn't recommend the breakfast, it's very poor. Location is good, it's very quiet here, beds are comfy. But there are more cons so we're not going back there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was run down, old bathrooms, old linens and very "used up" bathtowels. We ask for new linens, was told they are running short, not enough to circulate around. We insisted, finally they change a new set for us. Our bed got no Divan cover, but the room next door has it !!!

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room in front of beach. I was told they reserve for walk-in customers only !!!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pro
- budget resort.
- although room a bit run down, it is clean.
- decent buffet breakfast (the options are limited but throughout my 3 nights stay there, they never repeated the menu), but if you do not want to take the buffet, there are lots of restaurant/cafe/stall outside.
- just a stone throw from the beach
- friendly and helpful reception service
- free wi-fi


Cons
- slippery bathroom floor tiles.
- housekeeping did not wash the cups (we noticed the coffee and fizzy drink stains).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Star Resort

Address: Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Best Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Star Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.