We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Star Resort

Save Saved
You added Best Star Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Star Resort
Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Its all about location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our intial feeling upon entering the hotel was to find somewhere else, it is well tired and ready for a bit of refurbishment but I think Langkawi in general is like that and it is part of its charm, Paradise not looked after, We ended up thinking what the heck after all this is only costing us about £25-30 a night for a double room with breakfast! The location could not be better as you walk straight out of the back of the hotel and through some tables and chairs and you are on the beautiful beach and the front is central to the town on the main road. The room was clean and kept clean, Everything functioned Ok. There are no balconys and the view from the rooms is mainly of the side of the next premises or onto the central seating area but for the ammount of time we spent in our room this was not an issue. The breakfast was basic and certainly not full English but I had it every morning and a guy cooked you a fresh omlette if you wanted one, There was also toast, jam, Rice and veg, noodles and melon all the warm stuff was kept warm in the candle heated servers as seems to be the norm in Malaysia so not too hot. There was no hotel bar but this was not really a bad thing as you were surrounded by them on the main road but also it meant that you were free to consume your shop bought drinks etc in the hotel seated area if you fancied just chillin local. The beauty of Langkawi is in the beaches so would not spend a lot on a posh hotel as not much time was spent in it. The bars along the beach are very nice for chillin of an evening. All the staff were friendly and polite, Would have no problems going back but think for small extra cost we would stay in one of their deluxe cabins on the beach which would be really nice.

Room Tip: Choose the best rooms available at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    55
    50
    14
    18
See reviews for
32
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is in much need of updating and tender loving care. The hallways always had sand on them (we have been at other beach hotels and not seen it like this) In the first two hours being there the maintenance man had been up three times to fix the running toilet (finally got it fixed) and the IT man had been there three times and still iffy and not sure it is going to work. We found at breakfast we had to ask the fellow standing there to fill up the empty dishes which he gladly did. Breakfast was fine, not too much selection but that is okay. What was there was very good.

The beach Pantai Cenang is very beautiful. Great for walking. Wonderful sunsets each night.

The taxi from the airport to Best Star was 18 ringgit and bought at a kiosk at the airport.

Eat at Restoran Nasi Kandar Tomato, just next door. Fabulous Indian food at a very cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location : superb, near by the chenang beach, a lot of restaurant nearby (Arabic cuisine, Pizza, Italian Food, local food). There a lot of shop lot near by, and there also nearby duty free shop
Services : Very Good and very friendly
Breakfast : below average,
Parking : Not so much parking, just enough for 10 cars

Room Tip: Room 246 : Aircond not cold. Room 242 : Large room but the view not so good, leaking bathroom, wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a basic hotel. We had the Super deluxe room which was huge but very outdated. Ac failed us the first day, front desk tried to fix it but ended up moving us. Staff is very friendly.

Cant complain about the location. Our room was beach front with terrace door open right on the sand. Keep in mind only super deluxe have patios with doors opening up to beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room: Standard superior
Stay: 3d2n

Good: Great location, right at the centre of Cenang beach.

Bad:
1) Poor facilities.
Air-con, no cool air at all. Room was stuffy.
Water heater. Its handle was broken. The water current was very small.
Tv channel: Very limited
Hair dryer: Not available
WiFI: Don't believe it. Not working at all!
Car park: Very limited space

2) Cleanliness was a serious problem.
Room: Dark n stuffy. It was not properly clean up. When we check in, sands were still on the floor and in the bath room which left by previous guest. Ashes in the ashtray were not clean up. Even the 2nd day of room cleaning, it was still there. Obviously the cleaning team does not do their job well. The towels were dirty and smelly.

3) Breakfast - less choice. Not nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Room 114, air con is not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Best Star is located right at the beach of Pantai Cenang that offers clean sand and water, bars and fun with parasailing, banana and so on.
Our room faced the sea, we had a patio with view at the sunset and palms right in front. The room was big with sofa, tv, huge closet and bathroom. The wifi was not working properly all the time but it seemed they had problems with the provider because the coverage was very good with several routers. The room was cleaned everyday and also cleanliness of the whole place was very good. Breakfast was included and sufficient. Toast, fruits, omelettes, coffee, tea and Asian breakfast (rice, noodles...) as most guests were asian.

We also booked the mangrove tour at the hotel and it was great fun for 90MR! A new mall with ATMs and a duty free shop is 2 min away and there are loads of shops and restaurants right next to the hotel.

The service was ok, not super great, especially with the question for a car rental, but everyone was always friendly, especially at breakfast! Rent a scooter to see more of Langkawi and go to the night market in Pantai Cenang onThursday night, it's awesome!

We had a great stay and will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is located on the beach with spacious rooms that are clean and secure. While the hotel is needing some refurbishment, for the price it is great. Walk out of the back doors and your directly on to an absolutly fantastic clean beach with some quaint beach bars.
We didn't have the breakfast as there are a couple of good places to eat within a couple of minutes walk. We will deffinately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
Charming, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 2 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Pool, Family-fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#31 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Easy Hotel
Easy Hotel
#32 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#29 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#6 of 13 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Star Resort

Address: Lot PT 892, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mk Kedawang, Langkawi 07100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Best Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Star Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.