We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Save Saved
You added Langkawi Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 99 hotels in Langkawi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit skeptical when I chose this hotel for my stay at langkawi due to the mixed reviews on trip advisor. But I took my chance and I would say that it did not disappoint me. Had booked one of the suites at the sea village, that cost me around 300 ringgits per night. The room was spacious with a kitchen , a bedroom and a visiting room separated by a sliding glass door and a balcony with a perfect view to the sea and the nearby hills. The toilets were clean and huge. Breakfast was free with a wide variety almost making it hard to chose what to eat. Not everything was tasty though. It's located very close to the airport(12 ringgits max by taxi) but far from the major beaches. There is a guest service center to help you with your car rentals, and cruise packages. Overall , a Gud place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    122
    71
    39
    31
See reviews for
55
150
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in this hotel on October 2012 for my honey moon.

It was my first visit to Langkawi. The hotel is near to the airport but far from city center.

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, the beakfast is excellent and the resort contains a pool in which you can set and have your breakfast.

cons : The room is not wide as excpected and the sea beach is not good and not as expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Wifi service is chargeable & not working in the ombak villa ,cleaning service is very poor , reception staff do not understand your requirements ,swimming pool is dirty , breakfast is nice but the spoons are always dirty & they are serving very bad smell seafood bbq for dinner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kualalumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed during the hari raya holidays in Aug 2012 . Hotel was jam packed with crowd which was my only disturbance since I prefer it to be quiet. Else, very much satisfied with the cleanliness and services in the hotel. Food ordered from the restaurant was a bit pricey. Otherwise all cool.

Room Tip: We took a room with a view to the sea. its sunny and peaceful. But if you want it quiet, go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm a tour operator, I made a booking in this resort during this month for a family in this resort, they contacted me several times during their staying in this resort complaining

They were complaining about many things such as the very bad services, unfriendly staff, the meals were very poor, their rooms are very bad, old Furniture

these family are asking me now for a refund.

I don't recommend this resort to any one, they are saying it's 5 stars , but it didn't reserve to get a 2 Stars

Room Tip: Don't go to this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights from 9 August. Vastly overpriced. Room was old, breakfast terrible, service bad, location poor. The resort itself is poor, half of it being a bulding site. The sea village is crumbling and falling apart.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had reservations due to online reviews, and sadly these were proved correct. Service was very unfriendly from arrival. We were sent to a different reception on arrival which resembled an airport terminal on a busy bank holiday. We arrived after official check in time, yet, following queuing, completing all paperwork, deposits etc we were told to take a seat (albeit clearly no seats were available so we had to sit in the floor) and wait while our room was prepared. When we enquired about how long we might need to wait we were told "i don't know" and eventually "this could take over an hour because we're busy."
We decided to leave the hotel and when we asked for a refund they were very responsive (and didn't try to persuade us to stay). However, we are still waiting for confirmation that they have refunded our creditcard deposit even though we have chased the hotel directly.

Considering that this is only £40 cheaper than the Mandarin Oriental in KL- where we received the most exceptional service and stunning facilities- I can't see how this resort is value for money. Skip this and stay at the Mandarin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langkawi Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Address: Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langkawi Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi Lagoon Resort, conveniently located just 3km or approximately 5 minutes drive from the Langkawi International Airport and Mahsuri International Exhibition Centre, offers remarkable views of the ocean and the rolling hills nearby.The Resort features two types of accommodations; Beach Front Hotel Suites and Sea Village.Beach Front Hotel Suites consist of 86 units of sea and hill view rooms/suites. Spacious rooms ranging from 36 sqm to 63 sqm with full room amenities, chaise loungue(pangkin) and kitchenette facilities are available.The 76 units of our Sea Village are built on stilts with typical Malay Architectural Design consist of Studio Suites, Family Sea Duplex and a Presidential Suite. Each unit comes with private balcony, kitchenette facilities and full room amenities. They are built within a sanctuary of calm waters protected from the open sea by a breakwater.The Resort offers luxurious facilities such as beachfront swimming pool with jacuzzi and sunken bar, gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms, meeting and function rooms, Guest Service Centre and a Embun Spa.Full range of land and sea activities can be arranged for all guests.For your dining and entertainment, the resort offers a choice of meal selections from local and international cuisines and beverages at the Anjung Brasserie, Layalie Al-Syam Restaurant (Arabic specialty restaurant) and Mentari Lounge.There is always a little something for everyone to take home as a souvenir from our duty free gift corner.All in all, this premier international resort offers a serene environment and a totally different holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Langkawi Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Lagoon Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langkawi Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.