We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my honeymoon is unforgettable..thanks to Langkawi Lagoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Save Saved
You added Langkawi Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“my honeymoon is unforgettable..thanks to Langkawi Lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

we had our suite in the sea village...it was beautiful..right from the receptionist to gatekeeper, bell boys and other helpers around were just so humble and helpful they never let us down...breakfast was delicious with so many options and different kind of food..i loved our room..the swimmin pool was amazing..specially the pool bar serves very good snacks and drinks..they private beach is also nice and so is the beach bar..i would advice everyone to go to langkawi lagoon sea village if u wanna get away frm city life and relax with ur partner or family..

Room Tip: sea village...everyone should visit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    125
    73
    44
    31
See reviews for
58
152
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

No DVD player tv broke totally after a few days with only a few channels

No assistance with booking any tours or sight seeing.

No ATM

Constantly ran out of hot water - did not have 1 fully hot shower the whole time I was there

Charged the earth for drinking water

Looks nothing like the photos. Old and run down

Aircon in bedroom either Antarctic or boiling

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Terrible terrible experience with this hotels. Worst hotels ever among many that i have stayed, and readers who intended to reserve please take note. I will list and share my experience:

1. They did not have one of my Villa suit ready when checking in at 5pm. The booking was not in their system and they did not give a reason when asked why, the receptionists and workers were very protective of themselves and refused to converse more. We waited till 6pm to get it, and NO apology or any sort of compensation was given, totally unprofessional.

2. The receptionists were inefficient and slow, and irresponsive. 4 people behind the desk and only one was doing work. When i called for service, one of them literally saw me and turn around and walk away. How about that from a hotel reception desk?

3. Welcome drink servant was so slowwww, we did not have our welcome drink after getting some of our keys. We have to sit in lobby and wait for it!

4. The kettle was spoilt, and the kitchen florescent light was not installed. They dont seem to have a maintenance list. We had to call for room service and waited 30 mins for someone to come over.

5. In swimming pool, when we asked for 3 towels (instead of the standard 2 towels) for our kid, the pool keeper named Saad gave a very bad attitude and rudely lectured me with his so-called rules. I was so pissed with his bad attitude that i threw back one of his towels. What's the big deal with an extra towel, why all the fuss? I had not even started with him on me getting our room late!

6. Guess what, even the room service ladies are bad too. We requested for another 2 bottles of drinking water the next day, the lady had 4 in her trolly. She reluctantly gave us one and lied to us that she had no more. If we want more we need to pay RM8 per bottle!! What a rip off, isn't it common for hotel room to supply 2 bottles of water each day? And yet it was drinking water, not even mineral water.

7. On the plus side, the food of buffet dinner and breakfast was good. The waitresses at buffet dinner were friendly, i am giving them the credits for that. But that's the only 10% positve of the whole trip, my trip was basically ruined by their overall terrible service.

8. Pricey at peak season. We had to pay USD200 for each room. I got myself 3 rooms at USD600 and decided that this was the biggest mistake of all time.

9. The room and facilities were old. Paints were peeling, no renovations, old rough woods. I can live with this if they provides good service, but they weren't, so this make the experience even more negative.

10. Beach were muddy and low tide all the time, don't expect to get a beach that you could swim.

And before you asked, no, i did not yell at them. In fact i tried to be nice to them. I noticed they seem to have better attitudes towards westerners, but that just goes to prove how bias they are in service against Asian or other guests.

My verdict? I agree with HumbleRyan's review, worst hotel ever. I strongly advise all guests to reconsider their booking with this hotel, there are many other hotels with better quality in Langkawi.

Room Tip: - Deluxe Sea view are not sea view. - Just avoid booking at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

writing a review quiet late.. we landed at langkawi, one of the most beautiful island!! and headed towards the resort. initially felt that it was quiet far from all the main attractions, however it turned out to be a beautiful location.. one drawback when we visited, the beach was infested with jelly fish hence we could not swim there. we had to satisfy ourselves by swimming in the pool of the hotel!!... we rented a bike and had jolly rides to all attractions.. and that was the best part of our whole trip!! we enjoyed it thoroughly.. the staff was a little less friendly, though the service overall was quiet good!!

Room Tip: of course when you are visiting langkawi.. choose a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Well its unforgotten experience for relaxation , simplicity , and asian friendly mood. We enjoyed food , best room view by the sea , tiny beach with the famous calm and transparent far east water. Ppl are warm and helpful , its not the 7 stars elegant hotel , but you feel satisfied though
You can join the trip organized by local guide visiting small islands and other virgin beaches areas and gungles with low prices. We went in summer weither was a bit wet but fine. Remember i had a fight with my gf where we break some vases on pool " i was drunk" also i used to steal a bike at dawn all around the resort with no restriction :) and best massage for sure, but no happy end if you know wt i mean ;)

Room Tip: Try to pick a wooden- inside water -chalet for best view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unlike other reviews I have just read I found all the staff to be very friendly and polite, especially as there were some obnoxious guests who thought that by shouting in a patronising manner at the young girls on reception they would be dealt with immediately! I'm glad the staff just politely refused to be intimidated by this behaviour. However the hotel is very run down and in bad need of major renovations. We had a discounted rate when we booked but if we had been paying full price I would have been very dissatisfied. We paid $67AU per night with breakfast included and were upgraded to a sea villa. I never saw inside the original sea view hotel room that we paid for so not sure how much of an upgrade we actually got. The hotel is really geared up for Muslim guests which isnt a problem if you dont feel uncomfortable in typical western swimwear whilst others are fully covered. The breakfast was satisfactory and the service very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first trip to Langkawi. The hotel was excellent: Quiet location, room was beautiful and best of all was the food. It was so good we decided to stay there each night instead of travelling to somewhere else.

Also the staff were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them, there was one young man who stood out but unfortunately we didn't get his name.

The only downside for us was the fact that you could only get to other places by taxi and we usually like to use public transport or walk, but this is about Langkawi itself not the hotel.

Room Tip: Most people seemed to want a sea view but our hill view room was fine
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langkawi Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Address: Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langkawi Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi Lagoon Resort, conveniently located just 3km or approximately 5 minutes drive from the Langkawi International Airport and Mahsuri International Exhibition Centre, offers remarkable views of the ocean and the rolling hills nearby.The Resort features two types of accommodations; Beach Front Hotel Suites and Sea Village.Beach Front Hotel Suites consist of 86 units of sea and hill view rooms/suites. Spacious rooms ranging from 36 sqm to 63 sqm with full room amenities, chaise loungue(pangkin) and kitchenette facilities are available.The 76 units of our Sea Village are built on stilts with typical Malay Architectural Design consist of Studio Suites, Family Sea Duplex and a Presidential Suite. Each unit comes with private balcony, kitchenette facilities and full room amenities. They are built within a sanctuary of calm waters protected from the open sea by a breakwater.The Resort offers luxurious facilities such as beachfront swimming pool with jacuzzi and sunken bar, gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms, meeting and function rooms, Guest Service Centre and a Embun Spa.Full range of land and sea activities can be arranged for all guests.For your dining and entertainment, the resort offers a choice of meal selections from local and international cuisines and beverages at the Anjung Brasserie, Layalie Al-Syam Restaurant (Arabic specialty restaurant) and Mentari Lounge.There is always a little something for everyone to take home as a souvenir from our duty free gift corner.All in all, this premier international resort offers a serene environment and a totally different holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Langkawi Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Lagoon Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langkawi Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.