We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good, but needs improvement!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Langkawi Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“overall good, but needs improvement!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

writing a review quiet late.. we landed at langkawi, one of the most beautiful island!! and headed towards the resort. initially felt that it was quiet far from all the main attractions, however it turned out to be a beautiful location.. one drawback when we visited, the beach was infested with jelly fish hence we could not swim there. we had to satisfy ourselves by swimming in the pool of the hotel!!... we rented a bike and had jolly rides to all attractions.. and that was the best part of our whole trip!! we enjoyed it thoroughly.. the staff was a little less friendly, though the service overall was quiet good!!

Room Tip: of course when you are visiting langkawi.. choose a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    128
    73
    46
    31
See reviews for
59
155
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Well its unforgotten experience for relaxation , simplicity , and asian friendly mood. We enjoyed food , best room view by the sea , tiny beach with the famous calm and transparent far east water. Ppl are warm and helpful , its not the 7 stars elegant hotel , but you feel satisfied though
You can join the trip organized by local guide visiting small islands and other virgin beaches areas and gungles with low prices. We went in summer weither was a bit wet but fine. Remember i had a fight with my gf where we break some vases on pool " i was drunk" also i used to steal a bike at dawn all around the resort with no restriction :) and best massage for sure, but no happy end if you know wt i mean ;)

Room Tip: Try to pick a wooden- inside water -chalet for best view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unlike other reviews I have just read I found all the staff to be very friendly and polite, especially as there were some obnoxious guests who thought that by shouting in a patronising manner at the young girls on reception they would be dealt with immediately! I'm glad the staff just politely refused to be intimidated by this behaviour. However the hotel is very run down and in bad need of major renovations. We had a discounted rate when we booked but if we had been paying full price I would have been very dissatisfied. We paid $67AU per night with breakfast included and were upgraded to a sea villa. I never saw inside the original sea view hotel room that we paid for so not sure how much of an upgrade we actually got. The hotel is really geared up for Muslim guests which isnt a problem if you dont feel uncomfortable in typical western swimwear whilst others are fully covered. The breakfast was satisfactory and the service very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first trip to Langkawi. The hotel was excellent: Quiet location, room was beautiful and best of all was the food. It was so good we decided to stay there each night instead of travelling to somewhere else.

Also the staff were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them, there was one young man who stood out but unfortunately we didn't get his name.

The only downside for us was the fact that you could only get to other places by taxi and we usually like to use public transport or walk, but this is about Langkawi itself not the hotel.

Room Tip: Most people seemed to want a sea view but our hill view room was fine
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I think the best thing about the hotel is the breakfast. I took advices from the review I read. The prata was great. Fresh and crispy. We had it with egg! Fish porridge also not bad... If you made the booking with airport pick-up service, please ensure they are aware. We were not picked up at the airport at 9pm when we arrived. Pick-up from hotel to airport was late too. The driver told us all the mess up was due to a 'new' computer system... hope it will be fixed soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had the Mountain View Room which is spacious. Most amenities were provided. Bed was comfortable. Beautiful room and bathroom. The beach at the resort is not too good. Didn't do any swimming or any water sports at the beach. Nice swimming pool.

Breakfast is tasty...good selection. Just had breakfast... didn't try any other meals in the resort.

Kuah and Pantai Cenang is good for duty free shopping. Pantai Cenang has plenty of day and night markets for shopping and restaurants. Several good spas around. Beach with good water sports is a bit away from the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January after staying at the mutiara bureau bay for 6 nights previously.
The check in process took a long time, we were told to wait for our welcome drink which took 20 minutes... We just wanted to got o the room !
We stayed in a lagoon villa, room 570. This was amazing, over the water, balcony that got the sun from midday and the sunset !
We didn't really feel that comfortable in the hotel, we asked for alcohol at dinner and were told no as there were a lot of Muslims staying. The alcohol at the pool was hidden away and again you had to ask nicely for it ! The food was ok, we were enticed into the BBQ buffet and then charged extra for it. The staff weren't very attentive and. Had to keep asking for water, once they had you in the restaurant they didn't really care.
Luckily we were only there for 2 days, we did day trips to the beach as the beach at the hotel was not good.
I definitely wouldn't go here again as it is very expensive compared to other hotels and we didn't feel very welcome.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the main hotel, the lagoon villas were great but there is building work going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langkawi Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Address: Lot 78, Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langkawi Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi Lagoon Resort, conveniently located just 3km or approximately 5 minutes drive from the Langkawi International Airport and Mahsuri International Exhibition Centre, offers remarkable views of the ocean and the rolling hills nearby.The Resort features two types of accommodations; Beach Front Hotel Suites and Sea Village.Beach Front Hotel Suites consist of 86 units of sea and hill view rooms/suites. Spacious rooms ranging from 36 sqm to 63 sqm with full room amenities, chaise loungue(pangkin) and kitchenette facilities are available.The 76 units of our Sea Village are built on stilts with typical Malay Architectural Design consist of Studio Suites, Family Sea Duplex and a Presidential Suite. Each unit comes with private balcony, kitchenette facilities and full room amenities. They are built within a sanctuary of calm waters protected from the open sea by a breakwater.The Resort offers luxurious facilities such as beachfront swimming pool with jacuzzi and sunken bar, gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms, meeting and function rooms, Guest Service Centre and a Embun Spa.Full range of land and sea activities can be arranged for all guests.For your dining and entertainment, the resort offers a choice of meal selections from local and international cuisines and beverages at the Anjung Brasserie, Layalie Al-Syam Restaurant (Arabic specialty restaurant) and Mentari Lounge.There is always a little something for everyone to take home as a souvenir from our duty free gift corner.All in all, this premier international resort offers a serene environment and a totally different holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Langkawi Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Lagoon Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langkawi Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.