We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galeria Perdana

Galeria Perdana
Jalan Ayer Hangat | Mukim Kilim, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 4 959 1498
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 attractions in Langkawi
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A surprising gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stuff given to an ex Prime Minister? I didn't have high hopes. But this is a truly fascinating museum and very well laid out. In fact, the building itself has some quite beautiful features so make sure you look up at the ceiling while you're walking around. I was amazed by the breadth of gifts and the sheer volume of them. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sabang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The primier legacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I really got a good moment to be in this venue. It consists of many valuable stuff and collection of Tun Mahathir Mohamad, former Malaysia Prime Minister. There are a lot of collection from around the world. I remember the activity that my friend and I did there is to take a picture in front of Mahathir's picture and put our style like his. I really like this place and want to revisit it there someday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Politics aside, very interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderfully designed building that may not reflect the Malaysian tradition, it houses exhibits of the ex-PM's state gifts. If you are completely unaware of Malaysian politics or background of the last 3 decades, you will enjoy the wonderful portraiture and adulation the man enjoyed in his time in office. as for the curator, more work could have been done to give background information about the specific item, but only the bare information is given, some oddly on computer screens when a card would have sufficed. We learnt a lot about Malaysian politics from this, and have made up our minds to one day visit Africa on account of the beautiful tradition of sculpture. This visit made for a family trip and would be great if you like art.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you have some extra time and love to visit museums, this is a good place while you're at Langkawi. The entrance fee for students is only RM3 and you can spend more than an hour just to walk around the huge building complex. The collection of gifts is just enormous, ranging from sculptures to weaponry and vehicles.

There are also brief introduction for most gifts / arts although it would be much better if they can include more information such as what they meant (especially those with foreign language on it) and where they come from.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I paid RM5 for the entry pass, and it's worthed my 2.5 hours spent there.
Very huge and lots of extraordinary gifts and arts received by Tun Dr Mahathir and Tun Dr Siti Hasmah.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeria Perdana also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Galeria Perdana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeria Perdana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galeria Perdana to your Saves list