We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenery but nobody seems to bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Laman Padi Langkawi

Laman Padi Langkawi
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 38 Attractions in Langkawi
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Malacca
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice scenery but nobody seems to bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Well with the hot sunny day,the musuem there worth the visiting with air-con!!The place is cool but the employees should really engage with visitors,to explain about padi instead of hiding underneath the hot sun?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    8
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not really advertised, but really worth going there. The Laman Padi is located close to the beach. We went there and walked around which was nice. After some minutes we were asked if we wanna have a guided tour. This was really great! The guy showed us so many plants, herbs, fruits and explained us a lot of things on food, rice plantation etc. really nicely and with passion - he loves his job. We really admired the effort he made. The guide spent almost two hours with us! He hasn't asked us for money, we even had to ask for the possibility of making a donation. Absolute must if being on Langkawi!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“right at the end of Pantai Cenang Beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

you could walk there actually given its location.
the padi field is a lil small but does have enough info. do visit the gallery to know what is happening before going onto the padi field.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you're really bored, worth a visit (don't forget to try the hidden restaurant, Laman Ria)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place was a bit scary, to be honest. It's for free, you can wonder around some parks, had a feeling of a post apocalyptic experience, all empty without a soul. Only come here to visit if you really don't have anything else to do. But I can't highlight the hidden little restaurant enough. Laman Ria is definitely a place, where you're gonna have a great great meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Interesting to wander around, but a bit neglected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to Laman Padi on our way to Pantai Centang. The grounds were nice and the trees and plants were signed. It was hard to find the gallery, but when we found it the exhibits were interesting and gave an explanation of the rice cultivation and harvesting process.
There were very few staff around the grounds and those who were there were busy tending to the grounds. There were no staff in the gallery either and the cafe was not open early in the morning.
If you are staying nearby or are spending the day in the area it is worth a quick walk around considering that its free entry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laman Padi Langkawi also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Laman Padi Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laman Padi Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.