We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and wonderful staff--but you pay for it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and wonderful staff--but you pay for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The staff at the Rebak Island Resort were a real treat. They were uniformly warm and friendly, and seemed to be genuine in their desire to treat as special guests. They managed to do all this without being intrusive. The one hiccup--we booked a snorkeling trip with a 7:30 AM departure, and were told that a breakfast would be packed for us. When we got ready to go, there was no breakfast, and it seemed like there had been a breakdown in communication. We were allowed to pick some things out, and it was mentioned that there was normally a charge for the service, but none ever materialized. It just made a rushed morning (with three children) even more rushed.
We booked a two-bedroom suite with a garden view, but I was please that our view was actually out across the pool, and then on to beach and sea. I was a little disappointed that a two-bedroom suite only had one bathroom. There must not have been anyone staying above us the first night, because after that we heard every move the people above us made.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and our kids really enjoyed the boat rides back and forth to Langkawi. I know some people have complained about lack of things to do, but I think you go to a place like the Rebak just to unwind. It's true that the restaurant is way overpriced, and you don't have any real options unless you leave Rebak. It would be nice to have a lower-priced option, and if we go back I imagine we'll pack some picnic items.
For us, the Rebak Island Resort was a bit of a splurge--it's really nice to be treated so well in such a beautiful place, but at the prices that are charged, I won't be able to do it very often.
On a side note--I'm not sure I can review them separately--we booked the snorkeling trip with East Marine Dive Shop, and I can't say enough good things about their staff and facilities.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    280
    81
    48
    33
See reviews for
251
473
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quarante, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We spent few days there and we really enjoyed
Hotel is beside the marina in a small island at 10 minutes from Langkawi.
the pool is really nice, food very good.
If you want to stay in the resort, have a fishing party, have a sailing experience, it's quite a good option, but if you want to know more about Langkawi it's not necessary the good place. It will cost you the transfer, time to go...
We were there for fishing and to have a big rest and it was really very nice.
The beach is nice but to swin at low tide is quite a lot of stones.
Some good option of kid's area, bicycle, canoes,...
Really good time there and lot of promotion around the year

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Arrived by boat with no problem. Met by buggy and had very smooth check-in. Taken to room which was very nice but the lighting is terrible and there is no mirror in room area.
Pool lunch and drinks price extortionate ( I expect to pay more than outside but they have a very captive audience and take advantage)
First meal ordered...Greek salad with shrimps, waiter came back no Feta so had blue cheese,2nd surprise no shrimp in salad ! Mentioned to waiter with no reaction.
First drink order Mojitos,,,,,,Surprise surprise no mint ergo no Mojito.
Room cleaning and pool service definately 5 *.
Unfortunately 2 days we were there it rained non stop, this is where the management let themselves down VERY badly. There was no effort to arrange anything for guests to do.
With a little thought they could have organised a quiz afternoon with a happy hour and they to could have had some extra income.
The most insulting thing was to walk down to the jetty to the SY69 restaurant to be refused service as we were hotel guests and not boat owners. While we were there only 1 restaurant was open and trust me a change of scenery would have been nice. The hotel only had about 30% occupancy so it's not as if the management were rushed off their feet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Me and my partner have just spent 9 days in this resort, it was lovely! If you're after an action packed holiday this isn't for you, but we went knowing that it would be a relaxing holiday so werent bored in the least. There are things to do if you wish though, such as quadbiking, we done this one day and after about 5 minutes it absolutely peed it down! But it made it really fun! The rain only lasted about 20 minutes or so and that was the only heavy rain that we had in the day the whole time we were there, even though it was rainy season. There were a couple of nights that it rained but it didnt bother us as we were in the bar or in our room by that time. You can also book trips from the hotel which take place on the mainland, so you just get the boat back over. The island is lovely for having a relaxing read or sunbathe by the pool or on the beach. The fresh fruit juices were amazing, so much so that i'm going to by myself a juicer and make them at home! The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. A lot of them knew our names after a few days, also as we were long staying customers we got a name plaque on our room door! Lovely touch! We also got picked up from the airport and were given cool towels and welcome drinks when we arrived. There is complimentary fruit and wine in the room, and bottles of water which were replaced daily. The rooms were great, a nice size and had airconditioning and a balcony. We also had the romantic dinner on the beach on our last day which was amazing, lovely food! We were so full though! Regie and Zahar (i'm not sure if that's spelt right-sorry if not!), were great and made the evening lovely for us. We actually got engaged during that dinner :-D so that made it even more special. We will definately be going back here at some point! Very sad to leave!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Easy boat transfer from Langkawi to this private island, they have frequent transfers across. A beautiful resort with very helpful staff and lovely rooms. Excellent food in the restaurant, both local and Western food. Lovely honeymoon type island, quite isolated.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We requested for Airport Transfers since our flight got in at 8:00pm....they emailed us that there would be a charge for the transfer service.....later in the final bill they did not charge us.....

We got a room upgrade without asking for it...

The staff were really friendly....all the time...we were there for 3 days....2 nights...that really struck me as the USP of this hotel.....the staff are smiling and helpful all of the time.....

The hotel is off the main island....so you have to organise your day......leave the island before 10:00 am....for any sightseeing......else it will be too late....the free boat ride to the main island departs every hour or so....

The restaurant is a dream come true for Indians who like vegetarian food......not a wide selection but very nicely made....the Chef Kumar speaks fluent French, greets the guests with a smile....lots of Italian, Conti and Malaysian fare as well.....the room service was fantastic.....always punctual....and steaming hot food....

The rooms are a little run down.....but its very olde world charm......carry anti-insect lotion...mosquitoes and bugs are a problem.......the library has some interesting books.....books in Russian as well!

The beach is tiny and you can swim....the views are awesome.....very peaceful....you can hear the breeze....

The Spa was really good......had a couple massage.....very nicely done

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was our second trip to Langkawi and after we had booked the resort we were slightly concerned after reading some reviews which raised concerns about the resorts upkeep. When we arrived, we were pleasantly suprised. The resort was typical of the far east and is a perfect hide away from it all. Yes there is scope for improvement and some areas are a little in need of some tlc but on the whole the resort is great.

If you want excitement and variety of choice this is not the place for you, if on the other hand you want an escape to chill with your family and kids, then this is the place to go. That said, the ferry service is frequent (the staff ferry runs additional night runs back and forth) and there is plently of scope to travel to the main Island for something different.

Where this resort excels is with its staff attitude and customer care. The staff are fantastic and within a few hours of being in the resort most of them knew all of our names and couldnt do enough to help us. Aru the resturant manager is fantastic and has a great team working with him. The pool staff were also great going out of their way to help.

The weather during our stay was fantastic and considering we were there during rainy season (8 - 21 Aug) we were very lucky, it only rained one afternoon and two evenings over the 12 days.

If we had a recommendation for the resort it would be to have an alternative place to eat on the Island, perhaps even tie into the Marina bar. I would also like to see the facilities in the Marina reception being regenerated as the front of house, as this area has so much to offer and seems under utilised.

In summary this place is a great escape, it is a good 4 star resort and if you are after staying somewhere with a personal touch, then this is the place for you. We would travel back to this resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.