We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect getaway from the busy city life. Located on a private island this is a perfect honeymoon getaway.

We stayed from 9th June -13th June 2014 & enjoyed our stay !
The only sad part is that their last complimentary boat service is @ 7:45pm from port langkawi to Rebak Island, which makes it impossible for anyone to explore dining options on port langkawi. Also the AC in the room was not functioning well in spite of repeated complaints.

From the hotel sources, the last complimentary boat leaves at 8:30pm, though this is not officially disclosed to guest.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    275
    80
    46
    32
See reviews for
247
465
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have to say this was one of the most relaxing breaks I have had for some time. We were met at the airport and then transferred by speed boat to Rebak Island. I read some of the TA reviews on here and that was a great assistance in making our choice. Ok you are on the flight path but planes are on finals before landing and from when you hear them to when they disppear is only 20 seconds - I actually quite enjoyed watching them. We had beach side room, ground floor and the view across to Langkawi was superb, although other parts of the estate looked good too. Management and staff were all fantastic and food choice at breakfast and dinner excellent. I read about the ferry service stopping circa 7.30pm but quite frankly Langkawi seafront did not appeal to me, although can understand the younger set finding this a bit frustrating. I also read about the boat people (the island has a marina) using the hotel facilities but this did not really affect us as the boating season is more October to March. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Select sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

They really weren't kidding about the service level of this resort; it is indeed exceptional! From the pick-up to our departure, we have nothing but compliments for all the service staff, especially to the manager, Loo Paul.

Loo is such a sweet fatherly figure. We rented a car to explore the main island on the second day and Loo, like a concerned father, gave us some pointers and things we need to look out for.

The resort is located offshore and you'd need to take a ferry from Port Langkasuka, but it's relatively easy and fuss-free. In addition, they have regular ferry frequency (once an hour) and it's complimentary for guests at the resort. However, do note that their last ferry leave Port Langkasuka at 7pm on normal days and 8.45pm during the Ramadan month. The ferry will leave on schedule and on time. Do not miss the last ferry, otherwise, the charges to get back to the island are exorbitant.

All the staff were helpful and would really go all the way out to assist you. There was once where we were sitting at the bar for a drink and I got bitten by so many mosquitoes on my legs. Seeing that I was scratching away, one of the staff came up to me with a bottle of some sort of oil and advised me to apply it on the bites to soothe the itchiness.

Although the room is equipped with a small indoor electric mosquito killer, it is highly advisable to bring along some mosquito coils to burn in the room and balcony. We were bitten quite badly in the middle of the night even though we switched on the air-conditioner in the room. Mosquito repellent spray is also highly recommended if you intend to explore the nature in the island or on the main island. The mosquitoes are rather rampant there.

In terms of the room, it'd probably need some refurbishing. The pipe of our bathtub was leaking whenever it was turned on and the toilet bowl was clogged on an occasion.

Other than that, we definitely had a wonderful stay and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

In a word this hotel is OVERRATED. It is not five star.

Gimmicks such as the ferry to the private island and golf cart from the marina to the reception area try to give the impression of luxury resort but it was soon apparent this was just a facade to an overpriced, average quality hotel.

First up, travelling with my wife and baby daughter on our first overseas holiday together we specifically requested a room with a separate living area to allow one of us to sleep in as our daughter is an early riser, and we agreed to pay a premium for this above the price of a standard room. We were checked into a room which was quite spacious and had an open plan lounge and dining but no door separating this area from the bedroom despite our request?? We raised this with the hotel and was advised that we were given the wrong information as none of their rooms have this layout. We told them that the room we were booked into provided no benefit to us as the there was no separation between the living and bedroom and asked if we could change to a standard room. The hotel advised we could move into a smaller room without a lounge but as we had already checked in a refund on the difference in room rates was not possible. Unhappy with this level of customer service we contacted our travel agent who agreed with our position and took up discussions with the hotel on our behalf.

With two days of our 5 day stay left to go we were advised by our travel agent that the hotel was willing to move us into a room which met our requirements at no extra charge. When we approached the reception about this we were advised this was not possible!!

The finish of the room was certainly not five star. Really basic things like rough painting adjacent to the airconditioning unit and exposed fans covers do not give a good impression and detract from the overall appearance of the room. Also while recovering some of my daughters toys from under the bed I discovered exposed electrical wiring from what appears to be the room below.
The food in the restaurant was only OK. (I should note one meal was so bad it had to be returned, but otherwise it was acceptable) Unfortunately this is the only place to eat in the resort. There are options available on the main island but the hotel management have made it near impossible to eat dinner elsewhere. The main strip of restaurants is approx 15-20min from the ferry port by taxi. Most restaurants open at 7pm and the last ferry back (with having to pay an extortionate fee) is 7:45pm so basically you would have about 20min to eat before you would need to leave to get back to the island in time.
The service in restaurant was slow. One evening we were the first guests to sit down when it opened for dinner service, then having to wait over 25min for a kids meal. For anyone reading this that has kids this is a long time to wait for a tired, hungry toddler.

The service of the hotel in general was also quite inefficient. There was a permanent light on above the staircase to our room. At night this shined straight through the bathroom window and through the glassed door between the bathroom and our bedroom. On the first evening we called and asked for this light to be turned off. 3 phone calls and two visit later the light was finally switched off. The next night the light was back on again requiring us to go through the same carry on.

Upon checking out I asked the reception how I could provide feedback on stay. I was advised that I would be sent a survey to complete via email. I’m still waiting. Before boarding the ferry to leave our friendly golf cart driver asked how our stay was. He was the only employee during the entire visit to ask us this. I have no idea if the hotel had a manager as I certainly was never approached during our stay.

A week or two after returning home from our trip our travel agent had obtained a copy of the room layout from the hotel for the room we should have been staying in. This layout DID have a door to separate the living and bedroom but was completely different to the room we stayed in. Despite forwarding images of the room we were in the hotel refused to acknowledge any wrongdoing and therefore any compensation/ refund for the problem during our stay. To our travel agent’s credit, they refunded the difference of the suite out of their own pocket.

I will never stay in a Taj hotel and will recommend all friends, family to do the same to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here over a long weekend with my fiancé to celebrate her birthday. We live in Singapore and it couldn't have been easier from the start. A taxi picked us up after our 1 hour flight and took us to the speedboat in less than 10 minutes from the airport. 20 minutes later we were on the island.

The staff were so friendly and hospitable. They went out of their way to look after everyone, always with a smile. I had given them the heads up that it was my fiancé birthday on the Sunday and they couldn't have made it more of a special evening with a cake and someone come over and sing happy birthday as well as little touches that made for an incredible experience.

The food was delicious and the breakfast was a particular highlight every day. For dinner, I recommend one of the many curries, absolutely delicious!

The resort has a really relaxed atmosphere with a lovely bay/beach, great pool and numerous comfy loungers to relax and enjoy.

The room was fantastic with a lovely colonial feel to it with the wooden interior but hard and sturdy brick and mortar appearance. We were facing the ocean and gardens and had a lovely view out across the beautiful bay. The bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious and well laid out with a bath or shower option. What struck me with the room was the spacious feel to it with a lovely balcony to read a relax on.

To sum up, we loved our stay here and will be back for sure. The main reason, the staff, excellent service and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rabak Island at Vivanta by Taj! I have several food intolerances and the catered to my needs, thanks Hilum. The daily activities are amazing esp Selva Langkavi and his wealth of knowledge and adventures he offers. And not to mention Kabir our room service- his lovely smile all day everyday! Thank you Langkawi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at the resort in May 2014. We were excellently looked after from the moment we landed at Langkawi Airport until the moment we got the boat back to Langkawi after our stay.

If you read the reviews or check when you book, you will note that the boats to the island don't run very late. I did not find this to be a problem and being away from the main island is a large part of the appeal of Rebak. If you want to stay out tip late on Langkawi, then that's where you should stay.

We thought that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even when we had seen them being treated rather rudely. On one occasion we hired a car from reception and it was waiting for us on the main island an hour and a half later. Nothing was too much trouble.

We played tennis, but there were walks, bike rides, kayaks etc. if that's what you wanted.

We were given a beach view room which was lovely and had all the home comforts we needed. If you felt isolated then there was free wifi to keep you connected, which you often have to pay for at other establishments.

We loved our stay, but we had researched the resort and knew exactly what to expect.

We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rebak is a lush island so I would advise closing your doors quickly after going in or out as the lus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.