We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here over a long weekend with my fiancé to celebrate her birthday. We live in Singapore and it couldn't have been easier from the start. A taxi picked us up after our 1 hour flight and took us to the speedboat in less than 10 minutes from the airport. 20 minutes later we were on the island.

The staff were so friendly and hospitable. They went out of their way to look after everyone, always with a smile. I had given them the heads up that it was my fiancé birthday on the Sunday and they couldn't have made it more of a special evening with a cake and someone come over and sing happy birthday as well as little touches that made for an incredible experience.

The food was delicious and the breakfast was a particular highlight every day. For dinner, I recommend one of the many curries, absolutely delicious!

The resort has a really relaxed atmosphere with a lovely bay/beach, great pool and numerous comfy loungers to relax and enjoy.

The room was fantastic with a lovely colonial feel to it with the wooden interior but hard and sturdy brick and mortar appearance. We were facing the ocean and gardens and had a lovely view out across the beautiful bay. The bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious and well laid out with a bath or shower option. What struck me with the room was the spacious feel to it with a lovely balcony to read a relax on.

To sum up, we loved our stay here and will be back for sure. The main reason, the staff, excellent service and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    265
    74
    44
    30
See reviews for
235
452
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rabak Island at Vivanta by Taj! I have several food intolerances and the catered to my needs, thanks Hilum. The daily activities are amazing esp Selva Langkavi and his wealth of knowledge and adventures he offers. And not to mention Kabir our room service- his lovely smile all day everyday! Thank you Langkawi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at the resort in May 2014. We were excellently looked after from the moment we landed at Langkawi Airport until the moment we got the boat back to Langkawi after our stay.

If you read the reviews or check when you book, you will note that the boats to the island don't run very late. I did not find this to be a problem and being away from the main island is a large part of the appeal of Rebak. If you want to stay out tip late on Langkawi, then that's where you should stay.

We thought that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even when we had seen them being treated rather rudely. On one occasion we hired a car from reception and it was waiting for us on the main island an hour and a half later. Nothing was too much trouble.

We played tennis, but there were walks, bike rides, kayaks etc. if that's what you wanted.

We were given a beach view room which was lovely and had all the home comforts we needed. If you felt isolated then there was free wifi to keep you connected, which you often have to pay for at other establishments.

We loved our stay, but we had researched the resort and knew exactly what to expect.

We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rebak is a lush island so I would advise closing your doors quickly after going in or out as the lus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went with my sister in January 2011. Had a great time and will surely be back with my wife. It sits on a separate island by itself which makes the experience so much better. Being on a separate island comes with its downsides i.e. to go anywhere you have to take the 20 minutes or so speed boat ride to the main island but its a choice you make for an experience. The speed boats run quite often and rarely posed a problem for me. There are plenty of activities on site and beautiful bars to enjoy. The food was beautiful and we loved it.

My sister fell of the cycle and injured herself. The staff went out of their way to show us to a doctor and constantly keep asking us if we needed something. They really made us feel special and both of us have very fond memories of the place.

Its a beautiful place to be with your partner and I will definitely go back to experience it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me & my wife stayed at Taj Rebak Island during 14th to 18th June 2014 to celebrate my wife's birthday. This has been one of the most beautiful experience we had till date. The view from our room was awesome with the beach just few steps away from our room. The hospitality at the resort was excellent. We were served with good spread of Indian cuisine & our favorite pick of the menu was the freshly baked PIZZA. I would thank the chef for giving us the best pizza experience & preparing a special dessert for my wife on her birthday! we had ever had till date. The entire resort was maintained very well by their courteous staff. I would definitely recommend this place for everyone who wish to get out of the chaotic work environment & get lost in the nature.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Taj has a high standard reputation to keep. Unfortunately the Vivant concept does not keep up the 5 star service. Although the staff is very well trained to service the guests and wonderfully hospital, the qualify does not raise above an average 4 star.
The hotel has good facilities and a nice beach, especially for families with small children.
The food is OK, not great, and a I missed a morning newspaper. Breakfast buffet is very good for a four star. Best asset is the staff, fully focus on serving the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there form 10th June to 13th June, booking was made in the name of Vinay Pratap. I must say that this hotel is really a paradise for honeymoon couples. Its just awsum in every aspect. The privacy was top notch for any genre of people. Very spacious room with exotic environment. The stuffs were courteous and polite. Another thing it really serves good Indian food. Lastly i had made good memories there. Its a must visit if you want to relax and enjoy. Once again want to thank my travel agent Mejor Travels for suggesting this lovely property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.