We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the entire time we stayed here was raining. Which excluded all outdoor activities. We played a lot of squash- however one staff member tried to charge us to play. The other four times we played there was no charge. The boat ride to the mainland takes 15-20 mins but if the sea is rough don't bother. The staff service the rooms twice daily and are obsessive about the big spray as being on an island there are lots of mosquitoes. Most of the staff are amazing. There are a few who live on the island in the international house who are particularly nice. Sorry I didn't get their names. They made our trip :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The net is so so poor , cant sleep cuz of ur neighbor's steeps cuz the villa made of wood and the manger dose not care , i left the room from 10 am till 4 pm and housekeeping didn't do anything And also manger doesn't care . Strange place , strange treatment , strange management

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived by an early morning flight from Kualalumpur and checked into Rebak Island resort – A Taj Hotel. The hotel had arranged for airport transfers so the cab took us to Rebak island’s jetty point from where we had to take a jetty till the island resort. Oh my god! The boat ride was phenomenal, the sight of the clear endless sea was simply breath-taking and in about 20 mins or so we reached the resort. The entrance of the resort is a marina, where travellers from across the globe have parked their boats and have travelled to Langkawi from their country in that boat – How exciting.

The resort is such a delight, being managed by the Taj Group’s Management. The resort is spread on the rebak island and has both pool facing and sea facing rooms. Since we arrived before our check in time, the staff was so sweet to offer us a room for a wash and change till our room got ready. Finally we got our sea facing room, the view was simply divine. We could walk from our room to the hotel’s private beach. We were on cloud 9. The hotel gave us a complementary bottle of their finest merlot red wine, a fruit platter and a welcome cake, clubbed with some restaurant vouchers with some great deals.

The resort has a small departmental store selling alcohol and some basic items, if you are too fussy about using the 5 star resort’s expensive room service. The restaurants serve amazing seafood, the rooms are huge, the resort is simply divine with a grand pool and a great private beach. The resort never makes you want to go back home. It is truly a home away from home. When in Langkawi, stay at the Taj.

Room Tip: choose sea facing rooms in the front wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On a simple face value the Taj resort on Rebak Island is a fun place to getaway from it all. When you first arrive, everything is as would be expected of Taj. Rooms are clean and room service is great. A little time here though quickly reveals the problems.

Firstly, Rebak Island is a training facility for Taj. Whilst we were there it very quickly became obvious that a small handful of staff do nearly all the work and the rest were mostly bordering on hopeless. The good staff though were amazing.

It was no use complaining to the Manager as he was on leave for the majority of our stay so eventually we just laughed at things like poolside drinks that contained no alcohol. Or ice.

The other problem arises when you want to go exploring. Rebak Island is, well, an island. And the ferry service to the main jetty is both slow and for the most part very poorly timed especially at night. This means if you want to go to Langkawi for a big evening out, then you need to cut it very short in order to get the last ferry home or pay through the nose for a special trip.

The entertainment on Rebak Island is very limited so if you are staying more than a day don't underestimate the problem with the ferries - you will be spending a lot of time looking for the timetable and sitting on them.

Other than the rooms, most of the rest of the resort is crying out for an upgrade. The resort is very tired and other than siting around the pool there is very little else to do.

Full marks to the restaurant team though - with only half the staff experienced, they work hard to ensure that customers are as unaware as possible of the staff situation.

It was fun and funny but one time only for this little black duck - next time I will stay on the mainland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This resort is really amazing and perfect for a 'get away from it all break'. The rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished. The pool is lovely with a great bar and even if swimming in the sea is not perfect here the pool makes up for it. The beach bar for an early evening cocktail is the perfect place for sundown with really friendly staff. It is the levels of service though that make this place really outstanding. From the time you are collected from the airport, whisked over to the island by speedboat and right through the stay staff are professional, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our housekeeper making lovely designs with flower petals on the bed as well as keeping the place spotless was a much appreciated touch. Food is excellent, plentiful and very well presented. Would certainly go back here

Room Tip: All rooms look good and are very close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you need a peace of mind, and need to get away from city, or considering major decision in life, this is a place to be. You will have plenty of sunshine, beach and green forest tracks.

Because it is almost like a private island, you will have the whole island by yourself and small community who choose to stay there.

The close distance between the small island and airports is also a good advantage. Just fly in there, get transported by speed boat to Rebak Island and stay there for as long as you want.

Just in case you still need to access to Inbox and Internet, no worries, the resort is connected with wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitsbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The absolute stand out thing about this place are the staff who, even by Malaysian standards, were superb. They simply could not do enough to help, were exceptionally pleasant at all times and were easily reachable at all times. Special mention goes to Manzu (not sure about spelling) who laid our bed with towel swans and fresh petals!

The food at the restaurant was good, although expensive by Malaysian prices (however, it was no more than a normal restaurant back here in the UK). The beach was clean and not too busy, and bikes, kayaks etc were free of charge to use (for the first hour).

My only complaints involved the rooms; our bathroom smelt very strongly of sewage on a couple of occasions and the bedroom did have a couple of watermarks on the wall. On top of that, there was no sound insulation between us and our "neighbours" upstairs, which resulted in being woken a few times in the night when they were having "fun".

But other than that, I can thoroughly recommend this place. I would say that 2-3 days is enough as the boat from the mainland stops at 7.30pm which restricts what you can do in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse_Nightshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 99 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 15 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
The Datai Langkawi
#2 of 99 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing