We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxed and so soothing on the eyes and ears.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxed and so soothing on the eyes and ears.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Upon arriving to this private island via boat we were impressed with the quality of the resort and the staff. All staff are incredibly friendly, pleasant and professional.
The rooms are beautiful, spacious but not sound proof. In fact they are highly sensitive to noise, so keep the noise down at night!

Boats leave the island every hour to the main island of langkawi for your convenience.

It has a wonderful little earthy spa, where you can get spa treatments done. Almost all if not all of their beauty/spa products are organic, natural and chemical free!

Price wise it isn't a cheap stay. Services and other things are comparable to those in high end stays in Australia for instance.

It is a great place to go to get away from noise, pollution and your hectic lifestyle.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large and almost all rooms enjoy a ocean view. Depending on what you pay you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    282
    81
    48
    33
See reviews for
253
474
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited for 7 nights, mainly to get away from the noise, pollution and over-crowdedness of the Korean city where we live. This proved the best resort of the few we've visited in different South-East Asian countries. Worth the price.

PROS: (1) Nearly all Tripadvisor reviews mention the resort's friendly staff, and I can testify. Staff are obviously highly trained in aspects of interacting with guests, probing for needs, offering extra services and just generally going the extra mile. Simply incredible - brightens up the entire visit even more.

(2) Facilities and free activities. It's true that many of the facilities on the island is older (the resort has been around for 15 years) but unless you're willing to pay x5 the price of other genuine 5-star resorts for a newer writing table in your room, this one will do just fine. Many activities are available, most of them complimentary, by the Rebak staff. We did a bicycle tour, morning nature walk (very informative and professional) and cooking class, all for free.

(3) Beach. The resort has a great private beach and swimming pool, with nice facilities constantly maintained by the life guards and workers. The restaurant delivers straight on the beach - we spent hours each day reading, relaxing and eating, right on the beach without ever having to move around - staff attentive to your every need.

CONS: (1) Kiddy Noise. Since we travelled during peak season, and at the time of school holidays, the resort was overflowing with families travelling with very young (and very noisy) children. Most of the time this wasn't problematic, but it also proved distracting at times. When visiting a private island to get away from noise, the last thing you want is another undisciplined child throwing a screaming tantrum during breakfast, or at the beach. Guest travelling during other times of the year probably won't have this problem.

(2) Restaurant Overpriced. The Senari restaurant has a wide selection, with the Northern Indian cuisine by far the most delicious - avoid most of the Western selections. Since the resort has a monopoly on food selection for the island, it makes sense that most dishes are heavily overpriced. Guest can take the free ferry for lunch or dinner on Langkawi, but it ends up being equally expensive since the ferry doesn't drop you in a populated area, which means two-way taxi fares are included in the meal price.

(3) Internet Wobbly. A real minor, but the WiFi in almost every part of the resort is unstable and prone to disconnect. If travelling for business this might prove problematic.

All in all these negatives pale in comparison to the marvellous stay we had at Rebak Island Resort. As I mentioned, my wife and I have visited a few island resorts in different South-East Asian countries, and will most likely be returning to this one again.

Room Tip: Seafront "Superior" rooms not really worth the money as you don't have direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The resort has a laid back feel to it with enough privacy to make it exclusive.
It is NOT a super luxury resort but works with the TAJ hospitality visible all around.
The villas are reasonably pvt with 4 rooms to a building. All villas have large balconies & modern bathrooms. The sea-facing renovated ones are more exclusive.
There are 3 bars & 2 options for dining.
The food is relatively good & the buffets are quite sumptuous.
The pvt beach with its own peaceful cove & lapping water is shallow & safe for children.
The hotel keeps bicycles ,kayaks has squash & tennis courts, and can arrange water sports.
They have a reasonable sized pool & a bar area with an attached children's pool.
They also have a shop where you can buy beers, wine, cigarettes,munchies,essentials etc at very reasonable rates.
The Gym unfortunately needs a severe overhaul.
There is enough overgrown wilderness & untouched rainforest on the island to make it feel sufficiently 'wild' and non hotel like.
While staying here you need never visit main Langkawi & have a truly relaxed time.
We had a really pleasant stay with the staff being warm & courteous right from our pick-up at the airport to our HK staff & Chef Jose who personally created a few dishes for my vegetarian Dad. Apart from from compl wine & chocs & a cake for a bday celebration !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this resort for a weekend away with friends. It is a beautiful place to escape from a busy city life and have a good rest. The resort is on the Rebak Island 10 minutes ride on speed boat from mainland Langkawi. The hotel have free pick up service at the airport then transfer on the boat to the resort. It is a good service. Staff at the resort are very friendly and helpful. Most of from India, Bangladesh, Indonesia and Pakistan. Wherever you go people would like to say hello and ask for helping you. Check in was friendly and helpful, we even get 2 out of 4 rooms at 10 am.

Hotel has a lot of activities, beautiful beach, great swimming pool and also have tennis, squash and volleyball facilities. We played tennis and volleyball during our stay. Hotel also has a nice spa, I had facial and foot massage package. The restaurant has good food, because you can not easily get out of the island, so this is the only place you can access to food and drinks. Good breakfast, lunch and dinner. Indian, Malaysian, Western and Chinese food available.

Here are some issues:
* The room is big but the facilities are so old. The study desk in my room is tiny and feel like check hostel desk.
* Towels are paper thin and also have 2 available, you can not feel it is a 5 star resort. I don't think I never use these towels at home
* TV programs are very limited, nothing much available and make it more difficult if you stay long on the island
* They were renovating my building (building 8), completed covered my balcony during my stay and I cant even have a cup of tea on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful view. It smells very strongly as well
* 3 out of 4 in our group got a little beautiful gift from the hotel as Rebak Island gift, I am only one did not get any. Some got two one from the Spa one from after check out. I don't know what is the criteria to get that but it is not nice to know you are the only one are not appreciated guest from the group.

2 days are the max for my stay to be honest. I think I will definitely get bored if I stay extra day. The hotel also have free wifi with two devices. All in all it was a good stay but I might try somewhere else next time just for different experiences.

Room Tip: water front rooms and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rebak Island Resort is a lovely place to relax for a few days. Despite being on an island, it's only a ten minute boat ride to the mainland and close to the airport, so very convenient whilst feeling exclusive - the best of both worlds.

Our children (aged 9 & 7) had great fun riding on the bicycles and the buggy cars, playing on the beach and in the pool. Because the island is small, they could roam around while waiting for meals to arrive or while we were enjoying a pre-dinner drink and we didn't have to worry about them.

The staff, from the guys at the dock, the cleaners and the wait staff were all very friendly and helpful and made our stay. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the management team at front desk, some of whom were both unhelpful and at times downright rude, but apart from check in/check out one does not normally have to deal with these people, so I wouldn't necessarily be put off by that. There is a huge choice of food at the main restaurant and we didn't have a bad meal in the four nights we were there. The rooms are lovely and spacious - there are no adjoining rooms, but we had two next door to each other which worked for us.

Where this resort falls short, in my opinion, is in its facilities. The website advertises the fact that one is able to enjoy kayaking and cycling. True, except there are only 6 or 7 kayaks and there were 160 guests staying at the resort when I asked this question (it got busier the next day as the Hari Raya holiday started). Add to this the fact that kayaking is only possible for a few hours per day during high tide, and your chances of using a kayak are slim. Similarly with the bicycles - there were maybe 12 adult bikes and only 2 kids bikes, one of which had no brakes - there were constantly kids circling around the bike area waiting to get their hands on one. Surely a 5 star Taj group hotel could afford to invest in a few more kayaks and bikes? The gym had no aircon (very hot treadmill workout!). However, the thing I would most urge this resort to invest in is mosquito nets. This is a tropical island so inevitably there are mosquitoes. Other properties we've stayed at in similar climates have either had nets or coils and/or bug spray in each room. Having requested bug spray three times on the second day it finally arrived to our room (at 1am because we were being bitten and couldn't sleep) and then we had to argue to be allowed to keep it. Despite enjoying our days at Rebak, ultimately we were just relieved to be leaving in the end because we hadn't had a decent night's sleep due to being bitten and the buzz of mosquitos in our ears and we were exhausted. Small measures could turn this resort into a firm favourite. As it is, we will definitely return to Langkawi (this was our first time and there is so much more we'd like to see and do there), but we will probably consider alternative hotels before returning to Rebak Island, which is a real shame as it really is a unique resort with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After much confusion due to the innumerable resorts in Langkawi, we chose this resort for our honeymoon.. and we never regretted the decision. We opted for a deluxe room with sea view.

Pros:
*Well maintained property. We loved going on early morning walks and exporing the property.
*Excellent rooms with huge bathrooms.
*Nice pool.
*Though there are better beaches in Langkawi, we enjoyed lazing in front of the beach and watching the mild waves.
* Convenient boat transfers and the boat ride itself was fun and a little thrilling as well the last day when there was a storm!

Cons:
*Food was overpriced and there were only few options for veggies.
*The sea view from the room was half blocked by trees.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in February this year for 5 nights. We had one of the sea view Villas and it was lovely. We have never stayed in Malaysia before and found the whole experience wonderful.

The pick up from the airport and the ferry to island went without a hitch. We were checked in privately by the reception staff and given cold towels and fruit drinks when we arrived. Our room was gorgeous (although the bed was rock hard) and it has the biggest bathroom in a hotel that i have ever seen with an actual . The private terrace was great and every staff member that went past gave a friendly smile and a hello.

The best part of our trip had to be the food. It was amazing! Breakfast had everything you could ask for, even vegemite for us Aussies! We had three of the speciality banquets for dinner and were never disappointed. And the cocktails at the swim up bar were beautiful. Big credit to the head chef Jose who came out and introduced himself to us and then kept in touch all week by saying hi and even made a special visit to the jetty to see us off - what a great guy!

Make sure you visit the little store at the jetty - they sell food and drinks and beer at much cheaper prices than paying for them from the hotel all the time and the girls were really friendly.

Getting across to Langkawi was a breeze - although it was nice to come back to ou quiet island after dealing with the hussle and bussle of the main city!

We certainly enjoyed our time, the island has a few rough edges so to speak but it was one of the most relaxing weeks we have ever had. Make sure to try a pre-dinner cocktail at the beach shack before tea to watch the sun set - amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Expedia, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.