We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited rebak island resort december 2012,i stayed 1 week.Before I went there I have too much doubts about the hotel,because we have 2 years old child with us,When we were check in the manager upgrade our rooms to sea wiev rooms,all the staffs are friendly and very helpful,I cant say any bad expreince about the hotel,I advice all the families who are traveling with babies..

Room Tip: Sea wievs rooms are perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    256
    70
    37
    30
See reviews for
216
429
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having a high pressure job, wanted to "get away" and chill. Chose Rebak Island as had stayed at Taj West End in Bangalore some years ago and at only 400SGD/1000MYR for 3 nights in Deluxe Garden View rooms seemed good value.

Arrival was seamless, met at airport, whisked away in nice minibus for 5 minute drive to a jetty. Its in the middle of nowhere but has canopy, chairs and lots of attentive, friendly Taj staff. Waited only 10 minutes before boarding a speedboat for 10 minute ride to the Island. You arrive into the marina surrounded by nice yachts from all around the world. Was met again by Taj staff who whisked us off to the lobby in an electric cart. Check in was seamless again and was delighted when we were upgraded to seaview room.

Upon arrival to the room was pleasantly surprised, room was massive with sofa, LCD TV, huge bed, separate area behind with 2 sinks, wardrobe and balcony, then small hallway to big bathroom with bath and big shower. And the room very tastefully decorated in nice colours.

The grounds are lovely, beach is clean. You can ask a buggy to pick you up anytime. Restaurant is nice and yes its expensive cause its the only place on the island!

My advice and recommendations. If you want to come somewhere, where you are staying on your own private island, you want to chill, relax by the beach, swim in the pool and enjoy nice surroundings you cant do better than this for value for money. My tips, if you want cans of drinks, including beers, walk down to the marina and the shop down there sells Cokes for 1.60 MYR and Tiger beers for 2.60MYR and other stuff because of course the drinks at the hotel will be 5 times as expensive. Also get some mosquito repellent as in the evening they can be quite prevalent. If you can, pay a little more and book the hotel with breakfast included as its a 40MYR add on each if you want it and there is no where else.

What the hotel could improve on, the TV is only a 32 inch and since the room is massive and the bed is far away, a 42 inch would be more inkeeping with a 5 star hotel. It would be nice to have a paper in the morning.

For those that are extremely fussy or have never been to Malaysia or even SE Asia before, you cant compare a 5 star hotel here with one in say Tokyo or New York. This is Malaysia and even this hotel is not "perfect" but sometimes perfect can mean sterile and this hotel has plenty of character.

So in summary, where else can you say you stayed on your own private island in a very good hotel for less than 70GBP a night! Would I come back? Without a doubt!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well to start with, Rebak island resort is the most sort after destination for memorable honeymoon. The hotel (island resort) surrounded by clean blue sea water has a quite surrounding. At night time, you only hear the light sound the waves make. Best part is, you get Indian food. Especially for honeymoon couple, I strongly recommend this place. This is a must visit/stay hotel. Swimming pool is the highlight.

Room Tip: depending on your budget, sea facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were in this hotel on New Year's Eve 2008, and we spent a wonderful vacation here. Moreover, we have combined our stay with 2 nights stay in Kuala Lumpur. Rooms were very spacious with beautiful architecture malayskou. Also, the bathroom was large and everything in it was a separate room with bath toilet basins. The bath and terrace we had a beautiful view of the Andaman Sea. Windows should be closed because of curious macaques, who will come up to the room with the open window :-) Also restaurant was interesting. Was opened out. The food was amazing throughout the day. For breakfast selection was 3
 kinds of pure fruit juice which was amazing :-) Pool was clean and which nature and gardens around the hotel were beautiful. The hotel has walked across the lawn lizards, macaques and toucans sat there. We went even further by hotelacez jungle where the beautiful unspoiled beach. But it is associated with a risk because there were traces of huge Varano and also snakes are dangerous. Andaman Sea was at this point very clear but the beach was beautiful. Anywhere where you want to ride electric cars what we want because we wanted to take in beautiful scenery. The hotel staff was fantastic and very helpful. Especially the boss hotel was very accommodating. We had all inclusive and the staff serving us up on the beach dressed all in white. It was super-awesome mixed drinks :-) Not far away is the beautiful harbor where we spent the New Year's Eve. Silvester was no fireworks because the port is not allowed to do fireworks, but as I ever was lacking in this case since there was an amazing atmosphere :-) The sound of cicadas during the day is pervasive and it makes the atmosphere trópov.Jediné also left minus was that the hotel was dump (which went to feed the macaques :-)) out there a bit marred what I feel .. but I understand that something must refuse to give me so much as not to interfere. It is a magical hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Tired rooms (dont believe the website claims of recent refurb - its well overdue) and very dark and dingy bathrooms.
Reception sofas are shabby, litter abounds, the monitor lizard viewing pit is full of discarded plastic.
The beach is artifcially banked and the sandbags are beginning to show, poor drainage around the pool area means that some areas are a bit whiffy by the afternoon.
Sandip the manager is downright rude and hostile, should be in a different industry entirely as hospitality is certainly not his strong suit.
All in all not an experience I will be repeating

Room Tip: Avoid them all if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

With their good service level, they certainly deserve 5 star from me. EVERYONE there super uber friendly and helpful!!

There's nothing much to do there and it will be ideal location if you just wanna have a quiet break & suntan or for mini team building holiday. There's a timetable for activities which the hotel draw up to kill your boredom.
Cooking class, fish feeding, movie night etc. Its up to you whether you wanna stay on the island or travel out.

There's only 1 restaurant - "Senari". Cost about MYR45+ to MYR90+ or more per main course, quite pricey for average quality.

Kayak is free... you make kayak out around the island to enjoy view which is inaccessible by foot. Jetski and other watersport you'll have to pay.
I don't see any guest doing any watersport there at all..

Massage services pretty pricey too as there's no competitor on the island.

There's buggy services to pick you from the jetty to the hotel lobby even if its a less than 5 mins walk. If it rains, buggy can pick you from your resort to the dining area too.

There's DVD rental services however not many selection. There's a small library with internet service, free to use.

Board games and bar available if you're really bored to tears.

You may arrange for private dining at the cabana to enjoy beautiful sunset or along the beach.
I would suggest u choose the Cabana because there's lotsa mossies and lil crabs at the beach.
The private dining cost about MYR 600+ for 2 inclusive of either a bott of RED, WHITE or Sparkling White. we chose a 5 course BBQ seafood and meat. Slipper lobster not very fresh. Beef over cooked. Chicken was good. Starter was smoked salmon with some avocado. 2 soups.
Anyway there's a booklet for you to choose your menu. Latest time to place order for private dining set at 3pm. Too bad if you're back from main island too late to place order by 3pm.
--------------------------------------

I was at the Senari for breakfast and the hotel staffs came with a small birthday cake and sang birthday song which took me by surprise!! Its a good initiative which left me a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang,malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I bring my dad go for relaxing,my dad say enjoy n wil come again.A taj hotel is very good resort,the staf friendly n attentive.food is nice n freshly.for honeymoon n relaxing is very good place,the room is very comfort n big.

Room Tip: Superior sea view,second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.