We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusively comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lahore, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exclusively comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rebak island is private, cosy and comfortable. serene surroundings, relaxed air, sea view rooms, lying on the hammock, listening to the waves, it is ideal for intimacy and romance.

the staff is cordial and attentive. the GM (Pantea perhaps the name) is most hospitable and gracious. buggies arrive on time. quality of food was overall good but pricey. breakfast buffet was filling with a lot of variety.

we were picked from the hotel. the speed boat ride to the resort is without charge and fun, takes around ten minutes.

however, the place offers little activity. for the outdoors type, boredom may set in after a while. to avoid the same, one may make frequent trips to the main island using the free boat rides (specific timings). beach strip is not too long.

Room Tip: any that offers a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    307
    92
    51
    35
See reviews for
279
524
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were met at the airport and whized by taxi to the ferry over to this hideaway island resort. Getting there feels very James Bond. We loved our stay here, a beautiful beach location with kayaks and bicycle to use to explore the island. Really lovely friendly service. Good breakfasts, great restaurant foods, but be aware this is the only place on the island to eat though you can take day trips to Langkawi for free and onto other islands like Koh Like by arrangement. Be sure to join other guests and yachties moored in the nearby marina for Happy Hour if you want to make friends. The one downside is that the planes fly over between 9am and dusk to Langkawi airport, its not the worst thing ever as the good really does outweigh the bad but it does interrupt total tranquility. Also check out the early morning nature walk with Jerome. What he doesn't know about the beautiful surroundings isn't worth knowing .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed in Rebak Island Resort a few days ago. But, the minutes i arrived at their jetty to the island, i was greet with unwelcome face by their security. I was asked either I am the guest or their trainee several times. And i answered several time that I was a guest but yet, he still asking the same question.

But, all the problem was not end there. Once i get the keys me and my family straight go to the room. And the door was look very run down and it was stuck. I have to use all of my energy to open it.

On the next day we want to order in room dining, but even the menu was torn. Then I even found toiletries from the previous guest inside the drawer where they kept hair dryer.

The worst thing happen is the A/C for bedroom is leaking and living hall a/c is not cold at all. We sat down on couch to watch TV but it is not in proper condition. The TV reception is not clear. Then we order smoked salmon at Senari, but yet, it is too salty.

The only good thing about Rebak Island Resort is some of their staff is really helpful and friendly such as Abu, Pramod and Faridah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

i was in superior seafront ,the room is good and cozy it have enough space for our 2 year old son to play around in the room .pool is nice and all staff is very friendly ,but if you are party goers type this is not the place to stay as there are no night entertainment at the lounge and the lounge is closed at 2300hrs ,there have pool table in the lounge but you have to pay to use it.other game at the lounge is free to use . 1 setback is last boat time from main island to hotel is at1945 .after that time you have to pay myr 160 per trip . so you have to plan your time in main island if you don't want to fork out extra money for boat trip ;-)overall this place is a good place to relax .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It has been a magnificient resort in it's prime and, although the Dining & Pool areas are great, the rooms are a little tired and in need of maintenance/refurbishment. The staff are exceptional and the resorts best asset. The range of food is very good and the 'happy hour' at the beach side bar was excellent value & therefore very popular.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra and booked a seaview room but most rooms seemed to have a good view and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i was on rebak on 2th of April it was nice trip since it was on island we liked the boat trip and the room view also i have some issue and complaint about housekeeping and room furniture but it totally its ok and i think its perfect for honey mooner due private island and private beach
finally and in general its fair

Room Tip: try to get room on sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to departure the resort and its staff were simply fantastic!

The resort is in a beautiful setting on its own island just off of Langkawi, yet it is very easy to get to. The hotel had a staff member waiting with a large printed sign outside arrivals in the airport, a five minute drive brought you to their jetty where you're brought by a quick speedboat ride (maybe 10 minutes) to the resort.

The resort facilities are excellent, the open air lobby has a bar (with lots of games like a pool table, table tennis, air hockey..... to keep you entertained) and reading room on one side and a lovely restaurant on the other. There is another bar on the beach in front of the hotel.

The pool is very nice, with a good swim up bar and the sun loungers have nice thick cushions.

There are lots of other facilities such as tennis courts, squash, volley ball etc along with jet skis, kayaks available too.

The food in the hotel was to a very high standard too, I was a little concerned beforehand as some reviews here mentioned there being only one real restaurant or one menu in the resort, but it's actually such a big menu that you could literally stay a week and have a different style ( Indian, Chinese, Italian, Western.....) each night. Breakfast was also excellent.

The cocktails were very very good........I tried most of them!!!!!!

The real shining light for this hotel however are the staff, from general manager right through every staff member we met you are made felt welcome and to feel like nothing is too much to ask. In fact I noticed a "Never Say No" sign behind one bar and over a 7 night stay I didn't hear that word once. It is a genuine warmth you feel from the staff however, and one that leaves a lasting impression. I won't start mentioning staff names as I couldn't single one out without listing them all.

If you're looking for excellent service in a beautiful relaxing setting this is the place to go. A hotel and team of staff the Taj group should be very very proud of.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.