We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, the staff are outstanding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great service, the staff are outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was hesitant to stay here (due to some of the reviews) but I am very glad we stayed which has prompted me to write a review. I haven't written a review here in years but do read trip advisor before selecting accommodation. Firstly, the staff here are excellent. From the line staff to the management. Unlike at some properties, the managers aren't locked away in offices, they are on the floor engaging with guests and the departments work well together. I saw reception staff escort guests to the restaurant and seat them several times. Nothing is too much trouble for the team here. We hired a car for the day, which was easy and cheap and we got a good look at the island. We are not into nightlife and cheap hawker food and prefer good food and wine so it was no hassle for us to be on Rebak, actually we preferred it to the mainland and were relieved to get back onto the boat at the end of the day. Langkawi is no Hawaii - there are some nice areas and many not so nice areas so you aren't missing much by staying on Rebak Island. I have read the F&B complaints on this site and disagree. The menu is one of the most extensive hotel restaurant menus I have seen. There is a buffet which seems to be a different cuisine each night there is a wide variety of dishes on the a la carte menu from western food to Malay to Indian. To be honest I had a difficult time choosing what to have. On the first night we shared everything we ordered and the second night we had our own meals. We are not into buffets but if you are there is plenty to choose from there. No it is not cheap, it is an island resort. I thought the prices were comparable to other "island" locations. I think the resort is perfect for families or couples. We were a couple but there is so much space here that families with kids were no bother, there is plenty of room for everyone. I didn't feel we were too remote to do anything. All activities can be arranged from here anyway and some of the resorts at Langkawi are a pretty long way from anything so the boat ride for 10 minutes is no hassle. There appears to be some refurbishment happening to some rooms at the moment. It was not a disruption to us as the accommodation is in blocks and it would be easy to complete one block at a time.It was no issue. The owners need to spend some money on repairs and maintenance to the public areas too. Would definitely stay again. All you want when you go away is attentive service and this place really delivers it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bedroom garden suite, although there was no view we appreciated the extra space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    280
    81
    48
    33
See reviews for
251
473
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had an excellent family vacation at the Rebak Island Resort. The Gen Manager - Mr Sandeep Mukherjee and the staff were excellent. Personalised attention and excellent suites added to the charm of the location. The Boat rides to and from the resort were memorable, though would recommend increasing the frequency and the timings. Overall a two thumbs up !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rebak Island is an amazing place. The staff are very attentive and friendly. They are keen to assist you in anyway possible. The accommodation, surrounds and dining areas are all faultless. Although the advertising is geared towards couples there were several young families all having a wonderful time (without disturbing others). I loved the short boat rides to the main island, with lots to see and do. And it was always great returning to the peace and comfort of the island
I highly recommend Rebak Island for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I recommend the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After too much searching we have decided to book our Honeymoon in Rebak Island Resort. When we arrived it was Ramadan and we had to wait around 1:30 hrs till the next ferry boat arrived.
The resort is nice and clean. All our requests were accomodated. However, I had to remind them 3 times that we are honeymooners until they gave us a treat.

The SPA experience was fabioulos but over-priced.

The restaurants are good. We enjoyed all the meals we had. I was very happy to find out that they serve Shisha by the Bar.

On one of the days when we were planning to go to Langkawi downtown but unfortunately the sea was not stable so they stopped all the trips to Langkawi.

Room Tip: The Sea-View King rooms are really nice but make sure you take the rooms on the second level and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It started with the reception at the airport, the pampering was to the hilt at Taj Rebak Island Resort. The hotel has to be reached by a 15 min scenic boat ride from the Lankasuka jetty. Friendly hotel staff headed by the General Manager Mr Sandip Mukherji ensured that time in the resort was spent effectively and guests have a memorable holiday. The suite had breathtaking views of the waterfront and the private beaches. The kayak rides to the nearby islands was an experience to cherish......Sea food BBQ.....island treks.......visit to the Mangroves by Dev Travels and their knowledgeable guide Mr Selva....Paradise on earth.......waiting to visit again and hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We would absolutely join with those reviewers who totally loved Rebak Island. If you want a flashy night life and cheap food, then don't go. If you want to feel relaxed, pampered and at peace for a few days, this is certainly the place for you. The friendly staff seem to actually enjoy ensuring that you have the best time. We enjoyed chatting and finding out about where they came from etc, but I'm sure they would be the ultimate in discreet if you wanted privacy. We just stayed on the island and enjoyed the swimming pool, kayaking and biking, and generally relaxing. The breakfasts were a huge treat, and we enjoyed the many curries in the evening. The days just passed gently by. Totally hassle-free. What a fabulous luxury in our busy lives. If you have the money it would be easy to stay on Rebak and venture out to see the sights of Langkawi from there. We stayed at a much cheaper place on the main island first to do our sightseeing and this worked very well for us. We really enjoyed the nature walk which was part of the programme of activities provided at the resort. I would love to think that we will return to Rebak Island one day, but meanwhile I hope to carry the Rebak feeling with me for a long time.

Room Tip: Our 'garden room' was very spacious and had a huge dressing room, which was such an asset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The property is beautiful and the service is a class by itself, what with personalized attention from the staff. If there is a downside, its only that the staff can tell you about what is happening on the main island - for instance, we went all the way to the cable car to find it closed for a day for maintenance. The hotel could put such information on a notice board, perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O.Box 125, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.