We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a beach front hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a beach front hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed here for several nights, looking for an inexpensive, clean place on a quiet beach, yet close to Cenang. With The Lanai, we found all that we were looking for.

Checkin was smooth, though we agree with other reviewers that the front desk staff don't appear to be too friendly. Nobody comes running to take your bags to your room, and without any elevators in the hotel, some travellers might find it a challenge getting their luggage to the 3rd floor rooms. We were a bit surprised that the hotel does not have any non-smoking rooms.

The room we were initially given felt quite stuffy, possibly due to a heavy smoky smell. Since we both have asthma, we ended up asking to change our room. The front desk staff were very helpful and let us look at several available rooms until we found one that was not stuffy. One tip we learned is to run the AC to circulate the air in the room. With our second room, we found it not stuffy at all, had a TV that got the full range of channels (not sure why the one in the other room had issues), and had a shower door that worked correctly. Overall, it seemed like the first room we had was more of a "lemon", but the second one was much nicer. We were also suprised that our second room had a partial (very partial) ocean view, whereas our first room had a view blocked fully blocked by a coconut tree.

Breakfast was good, with lots of hot and cold items. Some of the breakfast staff are quite friendly, though the cooks at the made-to-order station are quite task oriented. The breakfast items had some variety each day, whch is nice if you're staying here for several days.

Location wise, the hotel is located at the far end of Pantai Tengah. Pantai Tengah, overall, is nice and quiet, with impressive views of the nearby islands. The Lanai provides complimentary beach chairs on the beach (be sure to pick up your towels from the pool desk). The Lanai has a beach cafe and bar, both of which we found quite reasonable. Don't miss the daily happy hour where beer is about 3-4 Ringgits.

The Lanai is a 20 min taxi ride from the airport and a 5 min taxi ride from Pantai Cenang. The walk to Pantai Cenang takes about 20 minutes and several restaurants and shops along the way. Within a 5 min walk from The Lanai to Pantai Cenang, we found several nice (and inexpensive) restaurants including serving Malaysian, Chinese, and Indian food in serene settings. Pantai Cenang has lots of restaurants, but none as romantic as the restaurants in Pantai Tengah.

Overall, if you're looking for a nice hotel on a quite beach, consider The Lanai.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    63
    51
    21
    16
See reviews for
54
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur, malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

the location is great! a very nice beach, few minutes drive to town (not kuah town), the staff is nice. but no lift. breakfast is ok but not much choices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Before our stay at the Lanai we had read mixed reviews but after our stay of 10 nights, we can only say it was fantastic. Sure the hotel is not 5 star but you aren't paying 5 star prices.
The Lanai is a little 'tired' but what you get is a relaxed atmosphere, right on the beach and only a short stroll to great, cheap restaurants.
The rooms were always clean, the pool sparkling, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
If you want pampering and luxury, stay somewhere else, but if you want fun, relaxation and a great holiday with friends or family, the Lanai is the place.

We travelled in a group of 9 friends and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta, australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed for 11 nights and had a lovely time. The rooms were musty on arrival but they aired out with being lived in. We had a 2 bedroom villa which isn't that cheap for the standard but they are difficult to find, especially on the beach. If the single rooms suit you then it is good value for money. The rooms need upgrading but they were still fine and clean with lovely fresh towels daily, beds made and coffee cups washed, air conditioning and hot water ( staff could let guests know that they need to switch hot water on ). The pool is one of the best we saw with a lovely setting and towels available poolside. The staff are all lovely and breakfast proved to be a mostly enjoyable surprise each morning. The setting is perfect being at your own end of the beach. It is a lovely walk into town along the beach for much of the way or it is cheap to get a taxi to the main area ( 6 ringit ). At the end of a hard days relax the beach bar is the perfect place to watch the evening set in and the food available is good. We three mums had a great time and will endeavour to bring our families next time and would love to stay at the Lanai again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great location and hotel is neat and tidy. Clean linen every day. Staff are friendly and very obliging. The cafe on the beach serves good quality food at reasonable prices. Great pool and we had a great time.
Was with a group of 9 and we all enjoyed 10 nights.
Its close to restaurants but quiet. Beach is great for sunbathing.
Breakfast was of a good standard with sufficient variety each day.
Recommended. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Although this hotel is right down one end on the beach I think it actually makes it more appealing. Like some reviews have mentioned, because this hotel is postioned at the end of the beach it is like it having your own private beach. For me the hotel itself was great value for money, the staff were friendly, the pool was clean, the rooms comfortable and the breakfast good too. However there is no denying that it is on the verge of needing a bit of TLC. The rooms are slightly out dated and the building itself could do with a lick of paint; I can imagine that in its heyday it would have been a top notch hotel. To summarize I would recommend this hotel if you are staying on the island for a few days and you want the beach front hotel experience without paying silly money. This hotel is not for you if you are looking for a two week holiday/honeymoon to Langkawi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel was quite good and location is perfect.There and good restaurants nearby and even you get Indian food.The breakfast at the hotel was good with lots of varieties and there is a restaurant in the resort itself which is open till 10p.m so if u don''t prefer to go out you can eat there.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.