We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach location and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Langkawi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach location and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was well worth it. The rooms were standard not very modern but were fit for purpose. Breakfast was plenty, pools were okay too didn't use them. Hotel had its own beach which was lovely since it was the last hotel on that section so wasnt crowded. We hired a car and explored the island went to the cable car and drove around that was wonderful. We also went to the other beach Cenang I think it was called which was up the road where McDonald's duty free sea world and shops were, the beach here was equally lovely and you could do water sports and watch people get in balloons over the sea being pulled by speed boats, looked fun but not sure about the safety!! This hotel is located in the quieter side and is very nice. You can get taxis to places too. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is a value for money hotel, and do not go there expecting too much of luxury - what you pay is what you get.
Nevertheless, the rooms were pretty basic and decent enough. The staff were really helpful, friendly and courteous, and they accommodated all our requests with a smile.
The hotel location is quiet and peaceful, and is right next to the beach. They have a hotel/bar facing the beach (kind of private beach), which is really nice. The complementary breakfast had a nice spread.
All in all - we had a really pleasant stay at the Lanai.
Tip: Book this hotel if you are looking to spend much of your time outside exploring the island and not much concerned in indulging in luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolme_kiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we have been there(i think on aug2012) last year but i was satisfy with clean room and very beautiful and calm beach the pool was perfect . they should improve breakfast . i hope stay there again .
there are many open restaurant which you can eat sea foods and there is 20 minute walking to cenang shopping center and many restaurant and bars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farzad-das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall a nice resort when you want to do what you want without being constantly interrupted in the guise of hospitality. We were a family group of six, from the UK, India and Malaysia in a two-bedroom beach front chalet. The atmosphere was relaxing and casual and, the service, when requested, friendly and quick. Not a large selection of dishes on the menu, but whatever served, including buffet breakfast was delicious and wholesome. Nice beach front restaurant and bar. Great value for money and family friendly facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort is right on the beach which is wonderful. The rooms are little old fashioned but very specious. Housekeeping and overall cleanliness of the resort is satisfactory. The swimming pool is big and well maintained. I'll book here again if I visit revisit Langkawi and one the main reason for that would be gala buffet breakfast. Overall this resort is ideal for couples, family and small groups.

Room Tip: try to book from booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_CityOfJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived late but l still checked out 3 rooms they were happy to do this. The room was ok with block out curtains we found the the bed was firm but comfy and they provide 2 pillows each. The bathroom is small they need an exhaust fans though to combat the mould.

Breakfast is Buffett enough for everyone tastes, the restaurant at the beach is great with meals and cocktails watching the beautiful sunsets. There are plenty of banana lounges around the pool and there is a kids pool as well. Though we mainly used the ones under trees at the beach lovely sea breezes. Staff at the front desk were very helpful in ringing taxis for us. There are Restaurants with in walking distance and a supermarket for nibbles close as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in a villa. Very modest and just a few steps away from the beach. Tanjung Jaga Restaurant or 'beach cabana' as i call it is the perfect place to watch the sunset, May is the best month as informed by one of the hotel staff. Car, motorbike or bicycle for rent also available nearby the hotel, about 8-10 minutes walk.
There are a few western, asian, and middleast restaurants nearby. Will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TengkuFatimahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#37 of 99 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
8.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 15 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
8.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing