We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay! Budge Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Bangalore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay! Budge Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is a value for money hotel, and do not go there expecting too much of luxury - what you pay is what you get.
Nevertheless, the rooms were pretty basic and decent enough. The staff were really helpful, friendly and courteous, and they accommodated all our requests with a smile.
The hotel location is quiet and peaceful, and is right next to the beach. They have a hotel/bar facing the beach (kind of private beach), which is really nice. The complementary breakfast had a nice spread.
All in all - we had a really pleasant stay at the Lanai.
Tip: Book this hotel if you are looking to spend much of your time outside exploring the island and not much concerned in indulging in luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    62
    50
    21
    16
See reviews for
54
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we have been there(i think on aug2012) last year but i was satisfy with clean room and very beautiful and calm beach the pool was perfect . they should improve breakfast . i hope stay there again .
there are many open restaurant which you can eat sea foods and there is 20 minute walking to cenang shopping center and many restaurant and bars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall a nice resort when you want to do what you want without being constantly interrupted in the guise of hospitality. We were a family group of six, from the UK, India and Malaysia in a two-bedroom beach front chalet. The atmosphere was relaxing and casual and, the service, when requested, friendly and quick. Not a large selection of dishes on the menu, but whatever served, including buffet breakfast was delicious and wholesome. Nice beach front restaurant and bar. Great value for money and family friendly facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort is right on the beach which is wonderful. The rooms are little old fashioned but very specious. Housekeeping and overall cleanliness of the resort is satisfactory. The swimming pool is big and well maintained. I'll book here again if I visit revisit Langkawi and one the main reason for that would be gala buffet breakfast. Overall this resort is ideal for couples, family and small groups.

Room Tip: try to book from booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived late but l still checked out 3 rooms they were happy to do this. The room was ok with block out curtains we found the the bed was firm but comfy and they provide 2 pillows each. The bathroom is small they need an exhaust fans though to combat the mould.

Breakfast is Buffett enough for everyone tastes, the restaurant at the beach is great with meals and cocktails watching the beautiful sunsets. There are plenty of banana lounges around the pool and there is a kids pool as well. Though we mainly used the ones under trees at the beach lovely sea breezes. Staff at the front desk were very helpful in ringing taxis for us. There are Restaurants with in walking distance and a supermarket for nibbles close as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a villa. Very modest and just a few steps away from the beach. Tanjung Jaga Restaurant or 'beach cabana' as i call it is the perfect place to watch the sunset, May is the best month as informed by one of the hotel staff. Car, motorbike or bicycle for rent also available nearby the hotel, about 8-10 minutes walk.
There are a few western, asian, and middleast restaurants nearby. Will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My teenage so and I stayed here for 4 nights. I booked the rooms on Agoda. It is the second time I have booked through Agoda and will never do it again. I believe when booking through Agoda the hotel supplies sub standard rooms., even when paying a similar rate to booking direct.

When we arrived we were shown our room. It was so damp there was mould growing on the wall behind the bed. The balcony doors did not close properly and were not secure. The bathroom was so old. Shower dribbled a tiny bit of water. At some point the wooden door had rotten and they had replaced it with a plastic folding door. There was an open whole to outside where they had removed a ventilation fan or something similar and not bothered to fill it in. Every piece of wood in the room was stained or scratched. The airconditioner was not cooling. We reported it straight away in order they could send maintenance to repair it. He arrived fairly quickly and attempted to gas up the system. Clearly it was so rusted and old and he was unable to fill with gas, he covered it with towels to try and stop the gas escaping but to no avail. Eventually when it could not be made to work properly we were told they would give us another room. The " new" room was inI slightly better condition, still with the horrible plastic door but at least the air conditioning worked. The staff member who changed our room for us Informed me that we were originally put in an "old" room. So....why do they have new and old, at the same price? Clearly it's partly Agodas fault and partly the hotel who are charging the going rate for a decent hotel near Pantai Cenang but not offering the services. Food was poor, staff not particularly friendly, beach looked nice but when in the water the bottom was slimey and muddy, even at high tide. Hated the place and wouldn't go back. Think they have not done a days maintenance since it was built. Don't go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
Quiet, Beach, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#31 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Pool, Family-fr...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Lanai Hotel
Lanai Hotel
#47 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.8 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Charming, Beach...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Langkawi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.