We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best beach resort in Langkawi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best beach resort in Langkawi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort is right on the beach which is wonderful. The rooms are little old fashioned but very specious. Housekeeping and overall cleanliness of the resort is satisfactory. The swimming pool is big and well maintained. I'll book here again if I visit revisit Langkawi and one the main reason for that would be gala buffet breakfast. Overall this resort is ideal for couples, family and small groups.

Room Tip: try to book from booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    63
    51
    21
    16
See reviews for
54
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived late but l still checked out 3 rooms they were happy to do this. The room was ok with block out curtains we found the the bed was firm but comfy and they provide 2 pillows each. The bathroom is small they need an exhaust fans though to combat the mould.

Breakfast is Buffett enough for everyone tastes, the restaurant at the beach is great with meals and cocktails watching the beautiful sunsets. There are plenty of banana lounges around the pool and there is a kids pool as well. Though we mainly used the ones under trees at the beach lovely sea breezes. Staff at the front desk were very helpful in ringing taxis for us. There are Restaurants with in walking distance and a supermarket for nibbles close as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a villa. Very modest and just a few steps away from the beach. Tanjung Jaga Restaurant or 'beach cabana' as i call it is the perfect place to watch the sunset, May is the best month as informed by one of the hotel staff. Car, motorbike or bicycle for rent also available nearby the hotel, about 8-10 minutes walk.
There are a few western, asian, and middleast restaurants nearby. Will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My teenage so and I stayed here for 4 nights. I booked the rooms on Agoda. It is the second time I have booked through Agoda and will never do it again. I believe when booking through Agoda the hotel supplies sub standard rooms., even when paying a similar rate to booking direct.

When we arrived we were shown our room. It was so damp there was mould growing on the wall behind the bed. The balcony doors did not close properly and were not secure. The bathroom was so old. Shower dribbled a tiny bit of water. At some point the wooden door had rotten and they had replaced it with a plastic folding door. There was an open whole to outside where they had removed a ventilation fan or something similar and not bothered to fill it in. Every piece of wood in the room was stained or scratched. The airconditioner was not cooling. We reported it straight away in order they could send maintenance to repair it. He arrived fairly quickly and attempted to gas up the system. Clearly it was so rusted and old and he was unable to fill with gas, he covered it with towels to try and stop the gas escaping but to no avail. Eventually when it could not be made to work properly we were told they would give us another room. The " new" room was inI slightly better condition, still with the horrible plastic door but at least the air conditioning worked. The staff member who changed our room for us Informed me that we were originally put in an "old" room. So....why do they have new and old, at the same price? Clearly it's partly Agodas fault and partly the hotel who are charging the going rate for a decent hotel near Pantai Cenang but not offering the services. Food was poor, staff not particularly friendly, beach looked nice but when in the water the bottom was slimey and muddy, even at high tide. Hated the place and wouldn't go back. Think they have not done a days maintenance since it was built. Don't go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The first room was not only dark and depressing, the carpet smelled musty and there was mould under the Aircon. Checked the Bathroom, mould everywhere on the ceiling. Went back to the reception to get another room.
The second room had tiles on the floor and looked clean at first sight. But already at the entrance we could smell the mould.... Again we checked the bathroom and the whole ceiling and walls were covered with mold.
I did not even make the effort to check if the rest of the room was clean, the bathroom alone was so disgusting we checked out immediatly.
Staff at Reception was not surprised and couldnt care less.

I can live with basic or even depressing rooms but not with dirt and mould. This place is nasty.

Room Tip: DONT BOOK LANAI BEACH RESORT - there are much better accomodations for the same price nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and my wife spent 3 nights in this hotel and were happy with the place overall. Swimming pool good fun..the best part is the beach which is right at the resort..there is excellent bar at the beach which serves good food and drinks. The resort is nearby many good restaurants and SPA. We tried Chinese and Mexican cuisine apart from the Indian restaurant Sagar.

There are water sport activities right on the resort beach. Our checkin was quick and checkout was great as they agreed for late checkout and to the surprise no charges on the final bill.

The room was a bit old fashioned but everything worked well.

Good place for couples and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We checked a few rooms on arrival and less musty rooms were on poolside. The hotel is-indeed a little tired but the pool is great for our kids and the beach out front is lovely with everything a family could need. Agree it is more of a family resort, we were overall happy with our stay but its a 200 ringgit a night resort per room rather than 300. As started earlier its pay for what you get but with a chilled and patient outlook it delivers. No frills but not a nightmare if you deal with any issues in the right way.

Room Tip: Personally we selected on arrival and found the poolside rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Pantai Tengah, Pulau Langkawi, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.