We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Langkawi to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pandak Mayah 1 | Pusat Bandar Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

One of the rare high-riser hotel in Langkawi.. Located next to the town area..
Rooms and services are good. Overall good value for money..
The only minus point is that it is 21 km away from main beach and action areas.. (Strongly recommend to rent a car in Langkawi anyway.. it just takes 20 min to reach wherever you want.. hence above minus point can be taken care of..)
It is not resort like but stay is comfortable.. Gym, Steam, Sauna etc close earlier than ideal (Around 8:00-9:00 pm)

Room Tip: Choose Sea-View room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    314
    132
    29
    17
See reviews for
168
189
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Bayview Hotel actually exceeded my expectations. I was looking for a relatively cheap and cheerful place to stay for three days while planning my wedding at a 5* hotel in Langkawi. I read online reviews and looked at pictures. It didn't look anything special, but frankly, I wasn't bothered as long as costs were down. When I got to the Bayview, I was very pleasantly surprised:

- hotel looks much better in real life, photos don't do it justice
- environment is Clean, nice look and feel.
- Modern interior decor, large windows in lobby for added brightness
- We stayed in a deluxe sea view room overlooking the yatch club and pool
- free wifi was good
- I read negative reviews about the buffet breakfast, but honestly, it is decent given the price you pay. You have put things in perspective here. If you want a 5* breakfast, then stay at a luxury hotel
- i thought the location in Kuah Town, was convenient for the local experience. Night market, delicious local hawker restaurants, duty free shops, ferry pier (for pulau payer) and a taxi stand is opposite the Hotel

To date, I've visited Langkawi six times and stayed in both 4* and luxury hotels. My actual wedding took place at a 5* hotel close to the Bayview. I recommended the Bayview to my budget conscious wedding guests, and many of them did stay here. It worked out well.

To sum it up, bayview It is one of the better hotels in Langkawi (for the price). I loved the convenience being by Kuah Town. It isn't attached to a beach so if you want to be by the sea, then stay somewhere else (from Bayview, taxi : 25 mins to Cenang Beach, 20 mins to Tanjung Rhu - a more secluded beach). Bayview has regular promotions so most of my wedding guests were able to stay for MYR150 night -- cheaper than what I paid. I will stay at the Bayview again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I wouldn't suggest staying here if you are looking for a beach get away. The hotel is located around 30 mins drive from the main tourist area, so you will either need to take a taxi or hire a car as there is no public transport. The hotel itself is ok, 3 stars is probably about right. The pool and pool area are ok but lacking a bar. The surrounding area is quite quiet and lacking options (food and activities).

Room Tip: Splash out the extra few $$ to get the executive package, gives access to the executive lounge (comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. As with all older hotels, there are signs of aging in terms of the rooms. Air conditioning is also not as cold as we would've liked it to be. The breakfast buffet was bland with limited choices. However, service was prompt and pleasant and it was a comfortable stay. The prices were very reasonable too under a MATTA fair promotion. They also upgraded us to a sea view room with a wonderful panaromic view.

The best thing about this hotel is the location which is right in the city centre. It is within walking distance to a bustling shopping area which has good choices of food as well as shops. You can also get around town from the hotel to other tourist spots within reasonable time and distance.

Overall, a comfortable stay in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked this hotel during matta fair promo period, so managed to get a seaview room @ RM 210/night with breakfast included, the price is considerably fair for a very spacious room and large bathroom. Room is clean, air cond is cold, the view is ok as you can have pool view and sea view at the same time. Toiletries, hairdryers, fridge, safe are all there, pretty up to a hotel standard.

The hotel is located at Kuah town, a 20 min drive to the happening Pantai Cenang, but very near to all the duty free shopping places and Kuah jetty. They have swimming pool, gym, steam and sauna but I didn't get to enjoy any of these facilities since we spent most of the time outside.

The buffet breakfast is not so good, very limited selections. Another thing to note, I got some bed bug bites even though the room and the sheets look clean.

Anyway, if you prefer a stay further away from crowd and have a relaxing stay, maybe you can consider this, or else would recommend to go for Pantai Cenang accommodation or maybe just some budget hotel around Kuah area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen_Tan, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Warm greetings!

Thank you for your positive reviews on our hotel - a very spacious room, large bathroom, clean room, air cond is cold, toiletries, hairdryers, fridge, safe are all there. We have also taken note of your comments on the selection of our breakfast and bed bug bites where our Executive Chef and Executive Housekeeper had been tasked to look into these respective matters immediately with serious concern.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you at the Bayview Hotel Langkawi again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Check-in and check-out were quick & staff are nice and polite.
The 2 large twin beds put together was big enough for our family of 4 with 2 under 12 children; the hotel offered a free rollaway bed, which we didn't need so didn't take. Our package included airport transfer & welcome drinks which were very pleasant. Hotel in good location near shops so good for shoppers, but not near beach, so we got tours which offered hotel pickup to Cenang beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely experience. The hotel is situated in the city centre and perfect if you looking to do duty free shopping in Langkawi. The night market begins at the bottom of the hotel so the area offers a bit of night life as well. Unfortunately the hotel is a bit far from the beach but if you hire a car which was a fairly simple process this solves the problem. The hotel is a bit dated but offers large clean rooms which add to the overall charm of Langkawi. We were fortunate enough to see the Queen at the hotel as she was attending some formal occasion been held there. After speaking to the locals we were told she is particularly fond of Bayview so if you staying here keep an eye out for her!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pandak Mayah 1 | Pusat Bandar Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel Langkawi is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the commercial district of downtown Kuah, which is a mere 5 minutes from the jetty where ferry boats ply to and from the mainland and 25 minutes from the airport. The hotel prime location is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Here, you will be spoilt for choice as there are numerous restaurants, duty free shops, souvenir shops, hawker stalls and night market (every Wednesday & Saturday) within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Langkawi
Langkawi City Bayview Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.