We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Bayview Hotel Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pandak Mayah 1 | Pusat Bandar Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Bayview Langkawi from 3-6 Feb 2013. We checked into an executive sea view room on 12th floor. W are very satisfied with the room. It was spacious with two huge twin beds joined together. The bathroom was spacious. Mattresses were firm and we slept well. All executive rooms were provided with free simple high tea at executive lounge daily from 5.00 to 8.00pm. An added bonus was the provision of 4 cans of soft drinks and 2 cans of Carlsberg beer free of charge on a daily basis in the bar fridge. Buffet breakfast was very appetizing with a good spread of western and oriental food. For 4 star hotel, what more can we ask for.

The hotel has the best location in KUAH town. It is surrounded by banks, restaurants and numerous duty free shops that stock spirits, cigarettes, perfume and a huge variety of chocolates imported from USA and Europe. If you are chocolate lovers, this is your place to spend vacation. You can book a taxi for between 4-8 hours that take you around island tour. Cost is minimum 4 hours for Ringgit100 with RM25 for each additional hour. Very good value for money.

Oh! Don't forget to try out bread and pastries at "The Loaf " bakery. Their chicken, tuna and sausage pastries are really excellent. Taste is 8/10. I also recommend their hazelnut Latte that is really fantastic 9/10. They have only two outlets at Telaga Harbor Park and Pantai Cenang. By the way The Loaf is owned by former PM Dr Mahathir. It is a pity that they operate only in Langkawi. If they are in KL, they would be running off their feet to meet customer demand.

I would strongly recommend Langkawi Bayview Hotel as a value for money hotel for its location and excellent rooms, food and service.

Room Tip: Go for their Executive sea view rooms. You pay slightly more but the views and additional bonuses ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    296
    120
    27
    16
See reviews for
145
177
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Bayview Hotel for 3 days in Jan 2013. The moment we entered hotel upto check-out we had great experience. The hotel staff is very polite. We booked Sea facing Deluxe rooms which was very spacious with huge beds. Our room was sea facing and had excellent views in morning.

The breakfast spread was elaborate with local as well as international cuisine. The hotel is surrounded by lot of duty free shops with really cheap prices for chocolates and alcohol.

I would definitely stay at Bayview Hotel during my next visit to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family members could not decide where to go for our year end holiday and since our last holiday there was more than 5 years ago, we decided on Langkawi. This is my 4th time there and each time, I have stayed in different hotel.

This time, we decided on Bayview cause it is in Kuah Town and it is less than 10 minutes from the Jetty. Our main purpose for this trip is to shop and to spend time with my family members. Most of the historical site and tourist attraction has lost it glory. The only attraction is duty free shopping and the beach at Pantai Cenang. Pantai Cenang, has grown from a quiet beach to a popular beach destination with a lot of restaurants, hotels and shops.

Our group of 23 adult and 3 children, checked into 8 rooms with extra bed. As usual, checking in during the holidays season is late and slow. Since we were early and the rooms are not ready, we left our luggage with the hotel and only checked in after 3pm.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean. It is comfortable to accomodate 3 persons with extra bed. We only have one room facing the seafront and this particular room is spacious compare with the other rooms that are facing the back. Even the bathroom are much more bigger with additional shower cubicle.

Breakfast is almost the same affair for the two days that we were there. It is the usual fare that you will get in most hotel but satisfying. We all love the different type of breads and cheese that they offered, together it is fulfilling.

Every night after dinner, we walk out from our hotel and shopped until all the shops are closed. Even on the last day, we went shopping until our departure time.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the seafront and on higher floor to get a beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Got a sea view room..though not really the one smack on the beach...nice view in early morning..huge bed..super clean toilet..in room music...theres a night market daily right in front of hotel..near to dataran helang...nice hotel for a low price compare to other sea resort but better rooms..beware of the thai food restaurant beside the hotel..rip me off..food at ridiculous price...other than that..enjoy my bayview stay...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perak, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Bayview Hotel is situated in the center of Kuah Town where most of the duty free shops, banks and malls are located. I was at Langkawi for only 1 day and to be honest this is one of the most decent hotels here. Not for those who are keen on sightseeing but if shopping is your main agenda, this hotel is at the heart of Langkawi's shopping attractions.
It is about 30 minutes taxi ride from the airport and the fare is fixed at RM24 but it is located quite near the jetty.
Arrived on 25 January 2013 and stayed in room 1321. Overall, the room was comfortable and cozy but the menu for breakfast was limited. Staffs were helpful and served with a smile. One thing that I really want to share with you guys is that: Don't bother calling the hotel to get the prevailing daily rates for your stay, just book from the internet through agoda.com or others because these sites offer much lower prices.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview executive rooms located on the 12th and 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuantan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Its a nice hotel with a great service. The staff there really nice & helpful.When we arrived at the lobby , the staff there straight away help us out with our luggage.We only spent less than 5 minutes at the reception to get our room.The breakfast was great..lots of choices ,in room dining also was great , it took less than 1/2 hour to get your order.
We spent 2 nights there , & it was great.Overall from the hotel environment to their service ,it really is good.Thumbs up.This is the place that we definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean and value for money. It is situated in Kuah town so, location is it advantage as most of the places are equidistant. We hired a car for 125 RM a day and use to drive down to all the attraction/beaches.
Service is good and rooms are quite spacious.It is better to go for sea view room at upper floors as the View of jetty point and sea is awesome.
Breakfast is good and chef can prepare the vegetarian food of your choice , if you ask them.
I would recommend this hotel, if you are in langkawi to visit the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pandak Mayah 1 | Pusat Bandar Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel Langkawi is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the commercial district of downtown Kuah, which is a mere 5 minutes from the jetty where ferry boats ply to and from the mainland and 25 minutes from the airport. The hotel prime location is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Here, you will be spoilt for choice as there are numerous restaurants, duty free shops, souvenir shops, hawker stalls and night market (every Wednesday & Saturday) within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bayview Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Langkawi
Langkawi City Bayview Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.