We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Continental Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Continental Langkawi to your Saves list
Grand Continental Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 398 MK Kuah Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night after a long trip to Langkawi and were disappointed as the hotel is very tired. The bathroom in particular was in poor condition and the hotel in general seems a bit out-dated for 3*.

The service, pool and breakfast were good though

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We booked this hotel for a week end stay in Langkawi. We(I , my husband, his friend and his wife) checked in early and there was only one room available. The hotel staff was friendly enough to pro vide us with 1 room to relax and gave us another room within an hour.
The view was good. The TV telecasted very limited channels. The coffee maker and the oven were dirty. We did not expect this service from a 4 star rated hotel.
The complimentary breakfast was ok and the dishes catered mostly to the chinese and Malaysian cuisine. We vegans, managed to grab some corn flakes and fruits to satisfy our hunger.
Langkawi is a place bestowed with Pristine natural beauty. So we made the most of our day visiting waterfalls, taking an island hopping tour and trekking. We were very tired by the end of the day.The beds were not that very comfortable and we couldn't have a sound sleep.
So, I will recommend this place only if you need proximity to the various sights of Langkawi and do not mind much about the amenities and luxuries in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yio Chu Kang, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I went ahead and booked the hotel even though the reviews were mixed. This hotel did not wow me but I was very comfortable here. The lobby and corridors didnt have the horror movie effect that hotels in this category sometimes have (I know cos I've stayed in one in Perth).
The rooms was large enough for my son to run around and everything worked except the kettle which was changed within 5 minutes of calling housekeeping. Service was friendly and all the staff greeted the guests on corridors and lifts which is something I expect only in a higher grade hotel. They cleaned the room well everyday and the carpet seemed new.
It is convenient as it's very near to a shopping centre (5 minutes walk) but if you're used to glittery malls like those we have in Singapore, then this mall will bore you. Who goes to Langkawi and expect great shopping anyway?
I chose the hotel because I wanted to have a few days of town experience before I moved to Holiday Villa on the beach. But the town was dull with no buzz in it at all. There's relatively cheap seafood (as opposed to that in Pantai Chenang) in Kuah opposite Bella Vista Hotel and that was the only good reason for being in Kuah. Should have stayed more days at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Hubby wanted to stay in Kuah for part of our holiday.
Hotel is in a good location. Good department store 2 doors up.
We had a lovely view over the Bay, towards the Jetty. I enjoyed it every morning and night.
Breadfast was included. Ok, not great on variety for the 1st morning. 2nd morning breakfast was much better.
It is currently being freshened up on the outside. Dont like the position of the pool, just outside the restaurant. A bit of privacy would be appreciated. We didnt use it because of this.
No in room safe .A bit of a pain. But could get a safety deposit box at reception.
The rooms are a bit tired, but perfectly ok. Bed is comfortable. Rooms are cleaned daily.
This is not a 5* hotel. But for a 3 or 4* hotel is is very good value for the price. Have stayed at a lot worse for a lot more money.
No problems with check in or checking out. Doorman collected our luggage from taxi, and took it to our room. When leaving he placed suitcases into car for us.
Reception staff could be a bit more informative. Werent able to answer a lot of our questions re places we wanted to go in Kuah town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel is a bit old and should be upgrade it. On the 1st day upon check-in, I found out that our door lock was spoiled. Luckily after we called the hotel and they managed to fix it for us. Breakfast was okay. Location was great where there is a shopping complex next to it and few minutes drive to kueh town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Nice place to stay
Close to all good points
value for money

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Continental Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Langkawi

Address: Lot 398 MK Kuah Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Continental Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Continental Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Grand Continental Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Continental Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.