We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarage hotel but strategic location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Continental Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Grand Continental Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Continental Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 398 MK Kuah Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel but strategic location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The title above summed up the hotel above. The hotel was pretty avarage. Theres seems to be so many golfers satying in this hotel, maybe because they just wanna stay in cheap hotel and concentrated on playing golf solely, i think so. The room was pretty big. I was here with my two kids, and they have enough space in the room to be running around. Then i ordered food from my room that is mee bandung, and to my suprised, the noodle taste very nice and worth the price. The aircond was quite silly though. It cannot be adjusted and it can be very cold late in the night, so you have to get up and slow it down to fan mode! Theres a massage center next to the hotel. Its quite big and seems to be having lots of customer coming in. BUt trust me, its not worth it. The masseurs dont know what he/she is doing is seem to just pinching you the whole time. As a matter of fact, cheap massage center in Langkawi are all not worth it. If you wanna go pamper yourself, just go to the expensive one avalaible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, right on the edge of Kuah. It's next to a whole bunch of really cheap duty free shops (much cheaper than the airport) and a shopping centre. If you've rented a car, this place is perfect - plenty of parking. The rooms are spotless, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Room service is prompt and reasonably priced. The internet was alright on the first night, but on the second night they were having problems. The reception staff were very informative and apologetic. The room was very large, and had a nice view of the ocean. It was very reasonably priced, and considering I booked it with very low expectations when everything else was booked out I was very pleasantly surprised!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pleasant hotel. Service a bit lax, but things get done eventually.

A service charge is added to the hotel bill. Not exactly sure what that is for.

Wireless internet is free but connection is really, really slow.

Location not too bad. Very close to the ferry jetty. Had a view of the sea from our room.

A bit pedantic about the checklist in each room. So make sure you have everything on the list when you arrive, for example we only had 1 towel when there were meant to be 3...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arrival: no one bothers to open the doors. No one bothers to help with the luggage.
Reception: no one bothers to smile.
Room: spacious, but a little ratty. The TV looks like it was from the '80s. No Wi-Fi, no ethernet.
Bathroom: recently refurbished. So, not bad.
Conference hall: not prepared. Leftovers from the previous conference, 3 days past, were still there. Wonderful.
Call maintenance to help clear up conference room: they took photos, stating that it was for 'quality' reasons. Then they left. What about the room?
Call person-in-charge of the conference room: comes in, sits down, threatens us, acts indifferent to our complaints.
In the end, we had to set the room ourselves. What were we paying them for again?

The location was OK, though. Also, there was this security guard who helped us load stuff onto the van when we left, so not all is bad. That was the brightest moment of our stay. He alone gave this hotel another point for 'service'. How nice.

Then again, I guess they were kinda cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is located just beside Langkawi Parade. Hence it is very convenient to do your shopping or grab anything that you need. It is also not far away from all the other shops and eateries. It's location makes it convenient to travel to Kuah town or should you just want to nearby the hotel.
The room was average and is was our bad luck to get a room with an a/c that was not cold enough. We had to request for a room change that was immediately provided. During our stay the hotel was undergoing some renovations. Hopefully it helps improve the hotel's facility. There is also a reflexology located right below the hotel should you need one after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am a Malaysian and have been to many hotels in Malaysia. Comparing the hotels, I feel this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in Malaysia. Bathroom heater did not work. Air cond was not working. When they changed my room, the toilet there did not work! The breakfast provided was so little that it developes a long queue of people waiting for the food. The swimming pool is so near to the breakfast area that one of the guest fell into the pool! This hotel is a shame to the beautiful island of Langkawi.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

never in my travels have i ever stayed at a property with notes telling you not to steal the ashtrys not to steal the towels it was like hey what am i doing here.the recption staff were difficult and tried to charge a higher rate but later conceded to the lower rate.the view is a swamp.having said all this it is in a great location right next to the shopping mall if you are in kauh town to shop.i was very pleased to check out after 2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room not looking over the swamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Continental Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Langkawi

Also Known As:
Grand Continental Langkawi Hotel
Grand Continental Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Grand Continental Hotel Langkawi
Address: Lot 398 MK Kuah Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Continental Langkawi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Grand Continental Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Continental Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.