We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough by changing its name from Awana to Resort World Langkawi, a complete overhaul needed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Resorts World Langkawi to your Saves list
Resorts World Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3D2N Sunset Cruise NO GST
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not enough by changing its name from Awana to Resort World Langkawi, a complete overhaul needed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent view, thats about it !! This old Genting hotel is in the midst of changing its name from Awana to Resort world Langkawi,I seriously hope not just the name changing to revamp this old looking place but a complete overhaul would bring this place back to its lustre. Everything here seems to need a total change, most importantly the front desk's staff attitude, they should be more pro-active rather then re-active and defensive. Really like the service of the F&B place though, friendly staff and ever helpful. Rooms are still in the 80's with old furniture. The hotel is "L" shaped, and rooms can be far away if its located in block 4 or 5. Car parks around block 4 or 5 could be dark at night so bring a torchlight if you park near to rooms there. Place if too far to walk from Cenang Beach , so get yourself a rented if you are staying here.

Room Tip: Get rooms nearer to Lobby, in block 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    270
    188
    64
    32
See reviews for
171
226
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and although the room was fine, it did look a little dated furnishings-wise. the view was stunning, and the pool side had plenty of loungers although most afternoons was invaded by large (loud) family groups. The food was fine and the free wifi was great. The live band could certainly be heard quite late at night, so probably not great if you had young children. The main downside was the location, you had to get a taxi to any beach or restaurant and although we tried walking back from Cenang beach one afternoon it took us an hour!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel to stay in langkawi. Very friendly staff and great location. Room we stayed in were facing the sea so we had excellent view all the time. A definite relaxing hotel!

The things we are not really happy was the quality of the room. The room looked aged and the bathroom door does not represent class as it was made out of plastic. The TV set was from a cheap model as the voices and the movement from the tv do not synchronize.

But the breakfast will make you forget about everything you don't like about the hotel. It was a real feast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at this hotel Jan 19 to Jan 21 night. The view of the hotel is fantastic. I have a room on top of the reception with a superb sea view . The front desk staff has provided good service to me, especially Mr Fahmi who solve my Internet connection problem.

My complaint is on the noise created by the live band which play until midnight on Jan 19. I was told that the live band is on almost everyday. Luckily for me the band is not on Jan 20 and 21 and I can have my peace and quiet for my last 2 nights.

This hotel is perfect for its price range except the live band . The management should seriously consider to cancel the live band.

Room Tip: Away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When I was arrive at counter was good greeting and friendly by your staff name sofea and fahmi.I realy happy on my stay and hope to come again to this hotel.Thanks you for sofea and fahmi to give a good servise when I stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We checked in on 20 Jan. Ezeq was the fantastic front office staff who checkedus in. It was the smoothest ever check-in we had. Fast, efficient & we go our room at 1230hrs - just 6 mins after arriving at the hotel. The bell-boy was courtious. We ordered room service - the room service staff was pleasant & kind - told me nnot to rush to sign the bill; just take my time to set my food down first then sign the bill. The room was awesome. Superior seaview with balcony! Everyone in the hotel is so super friendly! Wished I had stayed here all my 3 nights instead of just the last night!!

Room Tip: superior sea-view room (with 2 queen beds) + balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very slow and painful service.. you need to give reminder calls for any room service..
When we walked in the room and when i opened the cupboard, the door came straight into my hand, all out from the cupboard.. despite calling the maintenance team twice, they end up coming after one and half hour.. the bell service is slow.. there was no water even kept in our room on the first day.. not much english speaking staff which make it difficult for a foreigner.. the location of the hotel is nice though.
I personally wouldn't stay in this hotel ever and wouldn't recommend too.

Room Tip: Superior Sea View Room has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Address: | Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts World Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired marina and resort, located in a secluded end of the famous Pantai Cenang & Pantai Tengah on Langkawi Island, is just 15 minutes from Langkawi International Airport. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, the surrounding islands including the Pregnant Maiden Island, the gorgeous sunrise, or the well-manicured natural garden. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. Best of all, the resort is a mere 10 minutes from Pantai Cenang beach and other duty-free shopping venues! Along with excellent on-site eateries and facilities, idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.