We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Federal Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah, Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average accommodation but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a triple room. Room was clean and had everything we needed but slightly outdated. Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Towels also available at the pool which was great.

Pool is absolutely fantastic and you are 2 minutes from one of the best beaches in Langkawi. Food and drink slightly overpriced at the pool bar. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night (Holiday Villa) and had a lovely meal. There are also other food places and little shops right across the road and you are a 5 minute drive away from one of the busiest streets with lots of restaurants and bars on (highly recommend going to Babylon!)

We hired a car at the airport which I would highly recommend (or a scooter - the roads are very quiet and safe), especially if you are thinking of doing the cable car and visitng any of the waterfalls. The car was well priced and we definately got our moneys worth! It was lovely driving around such a beautiful island. If you just want to laze at the pool/beach for the whole time you are there then don't bother but otherwise be sure to get a car!

Overall thought this was a great place to stay and couldn't really argue with the price we paid.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 339 which was on the top floor so a bit difficult carrying all your luggage up - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    115
    71
    39
    20
See reviews for
66
84
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. All staff helpful and friendly. Room was relatively clean and the bed comfortable. Great pool with pool bar.can reccommend the beach bar. Great food along the street. Good value resort.
Downside was that they do not provide drinking water in the rooms and tried charging RM12 for a bottle at the bar!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in Federal Villa for 4 nights over the Easter break, Room no. 369. Arrived airport around 8pm, got to the FV about 9pm. The taxi driver dropped me to the FV reception which was not attended – now this has been handled by Holiday Villa. (so if you are taking taxi to FV, make sure they drop you off at the Holiday Villa reception- I guess not all taxi drivers realize this, unfortunately)

Anyway, check in was quick and one staff helped me find the room; it was located at ground floor, outside is garden and far end, you can see the sea. So it’s not very bad. The size is ok, but as many reviews mentioned, it appear very old and not really looks very clean.

The aircon works ok, even a bit noisy. There are four units (split system) hanging on one side (outside) of the wall, which makes fair bit noisy during night. There is no compliment water supplied during my stay, and no hair dryer as well. But there is a kettle and two mugs with a few sachets of coffee/creamer/sugar and tea bags provide (no re-fill). The room service was done daily, bed was made and clean towels are provided. There is electronic mosquito repellent provided, I did found a few mosquito around during night. The pool is big and clean, as well as the garden, so it’s not hard to find a nice spot on the beach or in the garden to do some read, or just relax, watching the sunset. The beach is great.

The hotel is located at the end of Tengah beach, so it a bit quieter. But still very convenient as there are some shops/restaurants just crossed the road; you can easily find all necessaries from the T Shoppe, or rent cars/scooters from them as well. Cactus Café is good for breakfast and Boat Restaurant was nice for dinner.

It’s probably 10-15min walk to the Ceneng beach and the busy street where more café/restaurants around, now there’s MacDonalds, KFC and Starbucks opened business.

I like the place in good location, with nice beach, and big garden. The room definitely needs some works to make it looks fresher. Again, you pay what you get; If you can pay more, you can always find better places. The draw card for the place is the beach—which will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this place from Wednesday 20th March for three nights, booking online at Booking.com. I paid £57 per night for a Deluxe room. I only took this because the two Hotels I wanted were full with functions. The price attracted a 10% service charge. Why? There was no breakfast included. We arrived from two nights at the fabulous BayView Hotel in Kuah at £66 per night including breakfast which was wonderful. OK no beach, but appart from that a great Hotel.

The Federal is alongside the better resort of Holiday Villas, and the adjoining fence taken down. The reception is unmanned and administration done by Holiday Villas reception. Holiday villas rooms are very nice indeed. The rooms for Federal are very tired and very basic. The shower room is utterly basic and very small. Electric shower unit and no hot tap at basin just cold. There were no spare electric points for mobile phone or latops. Gecko lizards and mosquitos are about.

The walk back to the reception is 5 minutes wallk as these rooms are away from the main area.
Food in the resort is very excpensive, but outside on the main road there are several good well priced resuarants, especially the Boat Restaurant. We even saw Staff coming back in with a carry out food bag from here, which tells you all. The resort wanted £15 extra per person per breakfast on top of the overpriced room.

I complained and got no where. They said I had booked their basic room and needed to pay an extra £14 per night to get an upgraded room. I said I had booked a Deluxe not a basic. Therefore dont expect any help from the staff and in the UK these people could be sued as misappropriation of the discription of the room. Queues to check in and out are horrendous.

Staying with it, as there was a cancellation fee, the pool area and the beach are magnificent, which compensated a little. This resort is a little isolated as its at the South end of the Beach and if you want more choice you need to go 2 km North near the Underwater World. There are no Resort or Public buses- you need to walk or take a Taxi. Its 20RM (about £5) to the Airport.
The planes from the airport turn and go directly overhead, but you get used to that. Also the Airforce like to fly their Jets and Helicopters overhead.

If you can afford the extra for a better room with breakfast included, then this place is fine. Otherwise, do go elswhere until they improve this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic beach which is only 50-100 metres away. As mentionned above the bathrooms needs renovations but surelly when u spend most of the time out, it is not anymore of a problem. When we first arrived at midnight I had a bit of a shock when we came into the room, and the next day I decided to go and find other hotel arround the arrea.... but beleive me with similar facility and exactly same beach the nearbuy Frangipani is charging 3 times more. We loved evry minute spend there!!! a great tip dont go on Chineese New Year hotels are overpriced one week in advance or one week later prices are cheaper!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were delighted to be upgraded from Federal Villas especially as we booked 2 side by side rooms and had a 9 month old baby with us. Staff were wonderful - only complaint was lack of BBC which had been replaced by aljezira so only English Channel was the National Geographic which was ok but missed not having news.
However bigger problem was no internet in room even tho notice in room stated available. Internet only worked intermittently in lobby only. Also it was expensive as no free wi fi. Only buy half hour at a time- we bought 24 hrs of time as expected to b able to read news in bed- it was a waste of money. Was given another 24 hrs of time when complained but that was hit and miss too. Also have to us time consecutively so can't stop and start. Apart from these 2 annoyances had a fabulous time- the staff couldn't do enough for us with the baby. Th pool and beach were first class. Did not eat at hotel but across the road at the Cactus as recommended by Trip Advisor for breakfast - we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms looked pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romsey england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from 10 days staying at the Federal.Stayed in room 368 which was over at the quiet side and only 50m from the beach which suited us just fine,sure the room was a bit dated and the bathroom could do with a decent shower but this didnt stop us enjoying our stay (who wants to stay in the room all day when the beautiful beach is so close!!!).The staff i found all helpful and pleasant,if your nice to them they are nice back! There are plenty of restaurants just outside the complex and even more a mere £1.30 taxi ride away at Cenang and most have wifi.The pool was clean and big enough and the grounds had plenty of sun lounges scattered around.overall a very pleasant stay so go there sit back and enjoy the sun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah, Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.