We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great beds, lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great beds, lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We tossed up between the Meritus pelagi and this resort and are so please we chose here. Love the kampung style villas, rooms were spacious, clean and the beds the best we have had in Malaysia. It's less ostentatious, lovely to hear the waves crashing as I write and has everything we need and more. Good selection for breakfast and friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had great interleading rooms and fit our three children comfortably across 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jandhfm and family ,

I trust the month of July 2014 has commenced positively and everything is well for your family & indeed you.

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services during your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA .

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    381
    133
    51
    24
See reviews for
250
316
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife, teenage daughter and I spent 6 nights at the frangipani in early July. We were initially attracted by good rates and location. As another review suggested it is an older resort but we found it well maintained. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. All seemed to have there own balcony or porch. The grounds were beautiful and tranquil. The highlight was the friendliness of the staff. The pools are good and the beach right out the front of the hotel clean and good for swimming. The food was inexpensive although the menu not extensive. There are plenty of good restaurants close to eat at. The tour office in the resort was efficient and friendly. Wifi around the pool and restaurant but not in rooms. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Glenn Young

Thank you for your time in posting your kind review about our services during your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA .

Truly appreciate that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful garden, our villa's, the peaceful tranquillity that surrounds the Resort and our team member friendliness - which is the main asset here at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA.

Do rest assured that all your comments will be passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the resort. Located well for a short walk to shopping & dining. Staff were very accommodating & pleasant. Hard to beat the location as far as the very clean, relatively uncrowded beach. Wonderful vistas. Would definitely consider staying again. Our only complaint was the boxed breakfast we received because of our early departure - very disappointing for such a quality resort; day old products with little or no nutrition. Most of it ended up in the airport garbage; otherwise a very delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Veronica649,

Thank you for sharing your observations on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely regret to note your less than satisfactory stay with us and our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered on this occasion. Kindly rest assured that our Kitchen and F&B team had looked into the issues you had raised about the boxed breakfast and every effort is being made to minimize any future recurrence.

On a brighter note, I am happy to note on your feedback about the staff accommodating and pleasant attitude which will certainly motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guest.

The whole team at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back again for a much more enjoyable stay the next time.

Kind regards

Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We absolutely loved our recent stay at the Frangipani and can't fault it. Main thing we enjoyed was the overall feel of the resort - Peaceful and quiet - a very tranquil and relaxing place surrounded by beautiful frangipani trees and beautiful scenery. The location is perfect - just far enough away from the action at Cenang, but close enough to enjoy the activities and restaurants which are a 10 minute walk away. The views from the resort beaches are simply stunning. You never get tired of looking at it. Our days were spent lazing around the beach/pool/bar area and it was simply blissful. Quiet, peaceful, idyllic. The perfect beach holiday.

We stayed in a Family Deluxe room with our 3 children. The room was perfect for us, being two interconnecting rooms with balconies. Modern bathrooms with a huge overhead showerhead which was devine. Rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard. Our room certainly wasn't dated/old looking - we were very happy with the standard of the rooms. Beds were huge, firm and comfy. No complaints here.

Breakfast was a buffet daily, with outstanding beach views from the restaurant. No complaints re the food - great omelette station, hot meats, pancakes, croissants - plus pastries- everything we love. Service in the restaurant and pool bar restaurant was outstanding. Even the grounds maintenance workers and security guards were very pleasant and attentive. It was nice to see people always cleaning - picking up leaves out of the pool etc. Every staff member we dealt with was exceptional and pleasant. We didn't eat dinner at Mentari restaurant, so we can't comment on the dinner menu. We had lunch daily at the Bar restaurant and particularly loved the Roti Canai station. Our kids loved the pizzas.

There are two huge pools at the resort - one circular pool near the bar and restaurant, with a childrens pool. Then there is a saltwater large rectangular pool at the other end of the resort. Both are great.

I didn't use the day spa at Frangipani, but i did go to the Sun Spa, just outside the resort - but all the spas looked good, all offering different packages.

Free Wifi in reception and around the pool - very good connection at the pool bar restaurant/breakfast area. Totally satisfied with this.

A few shoutouts to local businesses around the hotel - Four seasons Laundrey was great, sun spa, Restaurant: Red Sky, and the mini mart across the road from the hotel. Everything you need is very close to the resort.

Overall we were completely happy and we will definitely be returning. We were very sad to leave!

Room Tip: The high story rooms for families had nice balconies, but all rooms looked good. Ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Qldfamily,

Sunny greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

I trust the month of July 2014 has commenced positively and everything is well for your family & indeed you and we wish to thank you for taking the time to compliment our services and the quiet,peace tranquillity of the Resort during your recent stay

Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff, to let them know that their efforts to provide quality service are being appreciated by you and your family.

All of us at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA will be looking forward to welcoming you back again at the property.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

with best regards,

Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Family we're looking for a few days in the sun, hotel is right on the beach and the ocean was fine for swimming. 2 pools available as well. Close to a number of restaurants and duty free shops.
Staff were always available to assist with any questions.
My only negative comment is that this hotel was obviously built a number of years ago and the rooms could have some work done to upgrade.
The hotel will grow on you from first impressions, if you are looking for a hotel that is close to the beach and local restaurants and are happy to use your room as a base only then this resort will suit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear andrew b,

Warm Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you for comments entitled "Short Family Stay" and thank you for staying at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA and on behalf of all the team here , may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our Resort.

We also take note on your comments about the slightly dated rooms and I have channelled the information to the Resort Management accordingly.

Once again, thank you so much for your patronage and constructive comments and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

with best regards,
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved it. Great place to stay!
Great beach for swimming, sun baking, parasailing, jet skiing and sunset drinks. Nice pools, shady and sunny sitting areas. Great room for a family of 5 at reasonable price for Langkawi Beachfront. Great position to walk for dinner at Tengah or Cenang, Loved restaurants we went to nearby and Frangipani had good options to eat in when you felt like it. Hired a car from airport and easy drive to Frangipani. Easy getting around the island to waterfalls, cable car, eagle feeding, wildlife park ( excellent hands on for kids). Duty free shopping Cenang or Kuah cheaper than any airport duty free alcohol. Frangipani staff were really nice and we felt well looked after. Breakfast was all you need and served well. Omelettes made quickly as ordered, fruit, noodles or rice, breads, pastries, bingkas, potato specials. No pork bacon if that's a deal breaker for you. Resort, rooms, pools really clean. Once again, loved our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BenSU748PE,

Sunny greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

There is nothing to add to your superb review than sending back a big thank you for taking the time to post this feedback and all the beautiful compliments in regards to your lovely stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you and your family back again to Langkawi and The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA .

best regards
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach which was great when the sun was shining. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The pool area is nice as is the pool bar. Breakfast is fine with the usual hotel style breakfast options available. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant one day which was fine but there are better options available nearby. All in all we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Stephanie N

Warm greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Langkawi.
It is good to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

with best regards,
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.