We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langkawi Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Langkawi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Langkawi Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very well set, rooms clean, beach was nice and clean, breakfast had good choices, mix of western and Asian food, especially eggs friend with your choice of ingredients while you wait in minutes. We drove around and found this place easily, location is quiet convenient, just drive out to shop and for food. Liked the set up, Malaysian resort look.

Room Tip: Spa had cold water and distance from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    382
    133
    51
    24
See reviews for
251
316
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Charming resort, right on a very lovely beach, with a beautiful outlook over the sea. The villas are basic but extremely clean and comfortable, and the resort makes a genuine effort to be eco-conscious (although we were a bit confused by their "no plastic" policy, as water is supplied in plastic bottles....). Service could sometimes be a little slow in the restaurant but the food was very delicious and all freshly prepared. The resort staff (service and management alike) were excellent. On departure, my parents "emptied" their villa safe but unfortunately overlooked a sizeable amount of currency which got left behind. The cleaner alerted hotel management who in turn contacted me. The money was returned to us electronically within a very reasonable timeframe. We were very grateful. We had a lovely short family holiday at the Frangipani and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very child friendly resort. We saw many other families with young children there. Baby beds and high chairs are provided. Pools are nice but more umbrellas needed - hard to find shade by the pool. The beach is nice but unfortunately there was litter there (empty plastic bottles,etc). For a eco-conscious resort we did not expect to see that!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at the Frangipani Resort & Spa for 4 nights in March 2014. We really liked the place. It was clean, quiet and the staff was very service minded. We stayed in a garden bungalow (214 to be precise) and really liked it. It was of sufficient size and had all you needed. The garden showed was cool. The area was really quiet at night, which was nice.

The beach was fabulous and the two pools where also nice as variation. Lots of water sport activity going on further up the beach.

The hotel was within walking distance to all the restaurants on Cenang beach/road, but the beach front restaurant at the hotel was also nice. Another recommendation is the Indian restaurant just outside the hotel.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is a good compromize if you do not want to pay extra for the beach front bungalow. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We visited the Frangipani in May 2014 and we were impressed by the genuine efforts made by the management to create an eco-friendly resort. The rooms were spacious and functional with very good beds, staff was friendly and service oriented. A particular praise goes to the watersport-team for providing us with a great jet-ski experience. We can truly recommend the resort.

Room Tip: Families may want to take two (combined) Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This resort ticked all the boxes that we were looking for - beach access, close to other restaurants, good quiet room, good facilities. Some of the reviews were patchy but we decided to stay here and we're pleased we did. We had a garden bungalow in amongst the mango trees and frangipani - it was quiet, clean, well maintained. Loved the outdoor shower and have no complaints about the room. The breakfast had a good selection - comparable with other resorts in the region.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. It's close to many other eating places, the beach is right there, with lots of sun chairs, nice pool etc. I like their emphasis on recycling and green environment. It reinforced the good perception that we got of Langkawi.

Room Tip: We liked the garden villa - no problems at all. They have beach rooms if you would prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eppstein, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed at the Frangipani for a week with my husband and eight-year-old son in April 2014. We really enjoyed our stay!

Rooms: We stayed in a ground-floor standard room two rows back from the beach (room 112). When we saw were the room was located, we were actually happy we had decided against a beach bungalow, as those don't seem to get much privacy. People will walk by their terraces constantly on the way to the beach, or the saltwater pool, or back to the restaurant. We, on the other hand, could sit on our terrace for an hour with no more than two or three people walking by. The location was very quiet, but as the resort is quite small, we could still walk to the beach, the restaurant, and any of the two swimming pools in under a minute. It has been stated on trip advisor that some of the rooms looked quite dated, but in fact ours looked brand new, as did the bathroom. It must have been refurbished recently. The room was very spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished. There was a walk-in closet with ample storage space. The only minor problem was that the A/C unit dripped, leaving a puddle on the floor, but that didn't bother us enough to complain about it. The bathroom had a nice powerful shower but no bathtub. A few extra hangers for towels would have been nice. As it was, we had no choice but to crowd our six towels on the one rack provided. Other than that, the room and bathroom provided every comfort we needed. One thing I might add is that the rooms are poorly insulated. There is quite a gap between the floor and the door, for example. This makes the A/C units less efficient and thus leads to loss of energy. The Frangipani priding itself on being an eco resort, management might want to look into that.

Grounds and communal areas: The grounds are kept meticulously clean and tidy, as are the restaurant and the swimming pools. The gardens, featuring mango- and frangipani trees and other blooming plants, are nicely landscaped. There are a freshwater pool and a saltwater pool, neither of them very big. Most guests seemed to prefer sitting by the main pool, which nonetheless never seemed crowded while we were there, whereas the saltwater pool was virtually deserted most of the time. We preferred sitting by the beach.

Beach: There are plenty of sun loungers at the beach. We prefer sitting in the shade and were always able to find a nice shady place, even in the afternoon. The scenery sitting there gazing out over the sea is just beautiful with several small forested islands in view. That said, I've been to better beaches. The water isn't clear at all, and a lot of plastic waste floats on the water and is swept ashore. The hotel's beach itself is relatively clean as the waste is picked up on a regular basis, but once you venture a few meters to the left or right, the beach is literally covered in waste. There also appears to be a problem with jellyfish at certain times of the year, as the hotel has a flag system in place that will warn of sea pests when these are sighted. We had green flags every day, though, and swam a lot in the designated swimming area without any problems. The jet skis and motor boats pulling parasailers passing very near the swimming area are a bit of a nuisance, as they are very loud and leave a diesel stench. The hotel itself offers these "water sports" at the water sports centre, and I believe it shouldn’t, being an eco resort, as these really aren't environmentally friendly. Guests whishing to partake could easily walk down the beach a few meters, where there is more than enough of that kind of thing on offer.

Food: Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. People complaining about a lack of variety on trip advisor must have been referring to Asian fare. We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order and freshly made croissants and pastries. My pet peeve was the sugar, salt and pepper being provided in little sachets. Surely, as an eco resort the Frangipani could be expected to try to reduce waste and supply salt and pepper in shakers, perhaps sugar as well, or at least to provide a sugar bowl where the coffee is located.
We also had lunch at the hotel most days and dinner three times. The menu was the same for lunch and dinner. The food was quite good. I recommend the organic Oriental Salad for lunch - very spicy but delicious. Prices for food and drinks are reasonable as well. You’ll find many cheaper choices in town, but not if you want the same kind of atmosphere and ambiance you get at the Frangipani’s restaurant. The restaurants in town are usually open-front, and in spite of the ceiling fans we got so hot sitting in there that we couldn’t really enjoy the food. We never got hot sitting on the Fangipani’s restaurant’s terrace as there was a cooling sea breeze. We always made sure we got there before sunset, as watching that was spectacular and very romantic, as was sitting there, right by the sea, by candlelight later on. For a similar experience, I recommend “Sugar”, the next restaurant if you walk down the beach in the direction of town. Price level is about the same, food is very good and their live music was better than at the hotel.

Staff: I cannot fault the staff at all. Everyone was very friendly and polite. Our room was cleaned daily to an excellent standard and toiletries and tea/coffee replenished as needed. Service in the restaurant and at the pool bar was always swift and efficient, as were check in and check out. We were offered late check out at 2 p.m. free of charge, and as our pick-up time was 5 p.m. we were told that we were welcome to use all the hotel’s facilities till then. They even provide a shower room for people to freshen up after check out.

To sum it all up, I think the Frangipani is an excellent, friendly resort and recommend it for a relaxed holiday on Langkawi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.