We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits & misses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hits & misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was all psyched up to either enjoy myself silly or expect the worse for my upcoming visit after reading all the mixed reactions from other reviewers!

The verdict .. It's a roller coaster of mixed feelings alright .. With plenty of Ooos and Uurghs for this resort.

Hits ..

The resort definitely has a rustic charm with its ongoing green efforts to collect rainwater and other recycling efforts and also plenty of fruit trees n plants everywhere which attract a good mix of nature from birds to insects which is interesting for lil ones.

The pools ( 2 chlorine 1salt) are great fun and safe for kiddies.

Spend the late afternoon (low tide ) at the lovely beach makes it a great place to explore and take in the gorgeous sunset!

Activities at resort like Eco walk, fish n duck feeding, catch of ocean and also free cartoons at ballroom make sure that guests are kept entertained!

Huge rooms with separate dressing area and showers. Equipped with air con & ceiling fan.

Great rainforest shower with good water pressure giving you a luxurious shower!

Restaurant n bar is smack next to the beAch n offers a lovely view for throughout the day !

Staff ...the housekeeping & security staff had the warmest smiles which was ironic.. Some of the front line (check in & restaurant) were warm but I felt they were a bit jaded and mechanical with the way they processed guests. Not rude jut lacking in warmth.

Location... Lots of mini marts to get essentials & dining options within 5min walk along Cenang beach.

Misses
The rooms definitely not 4star as fittings mirror a cheap government vacation chalet than a luxury hotel. Towels n beddings all thin and tired looking. The wooden furnishings were all scratched and old. Flooring is tiled flooring which gets dusty from the beach n guests returning from the beach! Must be a nitemare for housekeeping !!

Cleanliness - although pool area is cleaned and tidied each morning n spic n span for the day, however nothing seems to done to upkeep for the rest day as I found empty beer glasses and plates left at sunning deck chair area and dropped food pizza ( at tables next to pool) left on ground for people walk around the pool area to step on BEFORE they enter the pool!! Euuu

Breakfast was the only meal I ate at hotel and I was uninspired (by price and standard) to take any of my other meals there ! Very sparse basic variety n quality for breakfast. Agree with other reviewers that food not replenished in a timely manner as I didn't know there was salad dressing for the salad greens offered until day 2 breaky! Obviously someone forgot to lay it out on day 1! No hash browns on day2 only spring rolls.

Wifi .. Free wifi was sporadic as only available at lobby meeting room n restaurant. There's also a 20min time out thingy that logs everyone out after a while. I tried using one evening at lobby and got devoured by mosquitoes 5mins into using the wifi! Gave up after 10mins as wifi got into hang mode .. Not worth the agony!!

Checking in at 2pm : resort was full and made to wait till 2pm for room which is a bummer when traveling with a cranky n sleepy toddler!

Verdict .. I'd still come back if there was a rate promo as the gorgeous beach n natural hotel settings is acceptable as long as you know the shortcomings and prepared to look the other way to still enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thank you for selecting our resort and noted that some aspects of our resort did not meet up to your expectations.

We appreciate your valuable comments in your candid review which we will address on the short-comings. Meanwhile we hope that you had and enjoyable stay and look forward to your return to stay with us in the not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    335
    122
    48
    22
See reviews for
219
281
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After arriving in Langkawi and the Frangapani we quickly realised that we made the right choice in choosing our accomidations. This was our third week in Malaysia after visiting many cities and smaller places in a variety of hotels from 5 star to 3 star and this was one of our favorites.
Positives: Great location, a bit out from the main strip but close enough to walk in for dinner each night and shopping. Distance allows for a peacful retreat and cleaner quiet beach where we spent each evening watching the sunset from our villa.
Villas were so nice, you felt privacy and everything is so close, the beach, resteraunt, pools etc.
Service was great, we got a bucket of ice almost every evening to have drinks by the beach for sunset and for our room and were never charged or hassled. Rooms were clean and cleaning staff was very friendly. Loved th eoutdoor shower in our room. ALso LARGE variety of channels on TV from Discovery to NAtional Geographics..... not that we watched lots of tv...:)
Food at hotel was good and reasonable priced, we ate lunch there most days and went our for dinner. Breakfast was included, reasonable selection, not amazing but god enough. Could improve on keeping things stocked till 10:30 when it ends, often had to ask for more plates, fruit and coffee but this was true our only issue with the place. Fridge in room was large and cold for beverages and snacks.
Wifi is only available at pool and resteraunt area but that was not really an issue.

Place is a bit dated but after you get there and relax and enjoy the beach and quiet this is easily not noticed. Everything is comfortable and exactly what we wanted to end our hussle and bussle vacation.
We also had some friends fly in form Sigapore for the weekend and loved the hotel as well.... for the price it is really a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went there in mid september, and booked a villa and a deluxe double.
The rooms were clean and nice, and looked much better than the pictures online. I loved the deluxe double way more the the villa I must say, its a lot more spacier than the villa, and the room layout is a lot better. The deluxe double was on the second floor, and we had a big balcony outside. I also liked the tree view from the second floor, it looks tropical and relaxing.

They have two swimming pools and another kiddie pool and two jacuzzis. The pools aren't big, but serves its purpose and we enjoyed it.
The beach view is amazing, and the sand is very white with lots of shells on it. The only drawback is the sea water, it wasn't as clean as I would have liked, it had a few natural things that would come along with the waves. They also have many huts along the beach, it looks very cozy and private, I love this about Frangipani very much.

The staff there were all really friendly and contagiously smiley. And did I mention efficient? I finished checking in in like 10 min.

The breakfast, however, had a very limited selection, and I couldn't find enough food that appeals to me to satisfy my stomach. They have a fine selection of bread though, it you are into bread. And also they have the best banana cake, do try it if you're going. On the bright side, the restaurant (where u have breakfast/lunch/dinner) has a lovely platform over looking the sea, so at least you can enjoy the view if not the breakfast.

The location is great, walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants. It is also a short 3 min drive to the Island hopping harbour area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Good location, room big & clean, good buffet breakfasts, nice sea view swimming pools, outdoor jacuzzi. Lots of restaurants and bars just outside. About 10 min walking distance to Pantai Cenang shopping. Helping us to book the 6 hrs amazing mangrove tour at Rm90/pax (including lunch). Good service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been here on April'13, in a front beach villa. Very good place for relaxing, good view (Sunset),just right in front of our villa.
Price is higher compare to others resort (with same star). Room is clean, room facilities is average,standard.
Breakfast is average. Just one thing, from lobby to our villa is very far, make me suffer have to carry my daughter,plus buy stuffs bring back to villa make me think twice...haha.
Overroll, we enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

a totally overrated hotel! I stayed there for 4 nights half july 2013. Prebooked for the rate of appr. 550 MR = Euro125 p.n. sgl use, incl. breakfast. A very high rate, I was expecting high Quality.
What a disappoinment the resort was. The room was a mere standard room, very soberly designed, nothing fancy, in a large two storey block. View so so ( the walls of so called garden villas) , safe for the rooms with nothing in front but the sea and swimming pool. Graden in between room complex and villas, so so. Nothing special. Breakfast seemed okay 1st morning, although what is called muesli was actually dry porridge flakes with 4 raisins in it (I did ask for more.....), but every morning something was lacking because out of stock. The hotel was fully booked, how come out of stock??? On top of this I was supposed to pay for internet use on a hotel computer, though wifi was free of charge. (I did not bring my own computer and do not have Ipad) In 2013 internet use should always be free, especially at this rate.
If the rate was about half of what they presently charge, the price/quality balance would have been totally okay. Now, the hotel is outrageously overpriced. All in all a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing our resort and noted that you were not satisfied with our property.

Whilst our wi-fi facility is free, there are daily changes of the main items in our buffet breakfast and we are sorry on the muesli that was not well prepared by one of the chefs which remedial action has been taken on him.

Notwithstanding the above, we hope you had a wonderful time here in Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just what I was looking for, a quiet relaxing holiday for a weekend. Room was good. Options for doing other activities if you want. recommend doing the eco walk, which shows what the resort is doing to reduce impact on local environment. major points - compared to other Asian hotels/resorts.
Lots of options on type of accommodation, information provided in room could be improved.
WiFi availablity restricted - not in rooms.
reception and other general areas looking a bit tired, need paint etc.
Staff greetings and service - excellent

Room Tip: Room did not have fan, so had to use aircon. Stayed in rear of resort - so nice and quiet. Full sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.