We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice relax resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice relax resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went to Frangipani resort for 2 nights, perfect place to relax. Breakfast at the sea is perfect way to start your day... Only bad point may be the high noise of the AC unit at night, but that didnt spoil the whole relax experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearby the reception. Rooms at the saltwaterpool are a little outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    349
    128
    49
    22
See reviews for
231
292
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort right in the middle of a busy street. Room floor was a bit dusty. Service at the frot desk was good. Will come back again. Breakfast was a let down though. Rooms were nice and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for staying with us and noted the experience of a dusty floor in the room. Although this is the first time we received a comment of this nature, nevertheless we need your assistance to let us know the room you stayed in for us to investigate further by writing to me at jeffrey.goh@frangipanilangkawi.com.

The task of the chef is many and one of his challenges is to adjust his menus to suit the many different taste buds of our clienteles especially during breakfast period as we are receiving mixed comments.

Mean time we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you again at The Frangipani Langkawi in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I had no option! But not complaining either. Some times, she is right.

Our second stay at this resort - the first being 5 years previous. The attraction is its 400m beach frontage. This time we had a beach front villa rather than a garden villa. No major difference in the rooms, but was great to be able to sit outside soaking up the views. A hot time of year but no problem with a choice of an ocean dip, a saltwater pool or the regular swimming pool at the resort. Each villa has its own outdoor shower as well. The rooms are clean and well maintained, but we spent most of our time enjoying the other facilities of the resort. Staff are all very helpful and obviously proud of their eco friendly credentials.

The buffet breakfast though not exceptional, was above average.

There are many resorts throughout Langkawi. What sets the Frangipani apart is its laid back, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are just back from the Frangipani Hotel for 4 nights and we loved it. Everything was lovely, our Beach Villa with the comfy bed, the rainshower outside which I really loved, the surroundings, the beach, the calm around you. Just perfect. And not to forget the restaurant where we had dinner every night with this amazing sea view. And the food was really good. Why should I go to other restaurants in the neighbourhood then?The staff (housekeeping, restaurant) were friendly although they forgot sometimes what we had ordered to eat... We are on holiday so what.
But I have to confirm what relaxgabby mentionned about the pool staff at the saltwaterpool. This guy who means to be Casanova himself should not work there. I did not feel well with him and I will explain separately to the Hotel Management.
Besides that everything was great and we surely will come back.

Room Tip: Take a Beach Villa and you won't regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Frangipani Langkawi as your holiday destination and your valued feedback. We are pleased that in your overall experience, you had a great time and a satisfactory one too during your stay.

However, we are very disappointed and regret to note of the incident and wish you to know that we have started investigations to identify the Pool staff mentioned. It would really be of help and do appreciate it, if you could provide us with some useful details like date and time of the incident so that we could take appropriate action for the sake of all guests. You may email them to: jeffrey.goh@frangipanilangkawi.com.

It is our happiness that the incident did not mar your wonderful stay and we look forward to welcome you and husband again at The Frangipani Langkawi in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Pros: Ambience, friendly and helpful staff, 2 pools.

Cons: Take a little walk to reach the hotspot along Cenang where the restaurants and bars are. For safety go in numbers.

CAUTION: General workers at the hotel. We asked to have our faulty AC fixed by some maintenance workers and they lingered more than was necessary and were reluctant to leave our room (we were all female travellers) until we had to sternly ask them if they were done fixing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for staying with us in July 2012 and your recently highlighted review do not allow us to identify the said staff to take any appropriate action as we do take guest comments seriously.

However, it is our disappointment to learn about the nuisance that you encountered with our maintenance staff as mentioned. Although it has been almost a year since the incident, we wish to express our regrets and apologies to you and your other colleagues who have been travelling together.

We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience of two pools - fresh and salt water and also received friendly and helpful services from the staff.

Nevertheless we look forward to your return to The Frangipani Langkawi in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I took the sea facing view room and the room given to me was conveniently located which is right in the middle of the two pools. The resort is great if you want to have a relax and calm vacation. I love sitting by the beach doing nothing but just meditate. The staffs were friendly and helpful except that I encountered a overly friendly pool/environment staff which I would warn single ladies or young girls to stay away from, parents with teenage daughter should take note of this. Aside from the very uneasy encounter, my overall stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for choosing The Frangipani as your holiday destination and the kind comments of your stay.

We are very disappointed and regret to note of this incident which the head of the department and HR has been instructed to investigate and take stern disciplinary action on the staff if found guilty. We take our guest comments seriously and do not condone such act in the interest of our other guests in the future.

We hope this incident will not mar the overall enjoyment you have had with your family and look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Frangipani ,Langkawi for 5 days in the last week of April 2013.Was a bit apprehensive after having read the reviews but Agoda was running a good offer, hence booked a deluxe room.

Quite frankly, it was one of the best vacations we have had.My wife and son enjoyed the place, the beach is fantastic, which was a few steps from the Beach Villa, which we upgraded to, once we reached.

The location of the resort is very advantageous, specially, when you're in a place like Langkawi.Right next to the happening Cenang street and beach, with great restaurants like :

1 - Nasi Kandar(Tomato) , - Great Curry Rice options.Malay food was also good.
2 - Artisans - Pizza's to die for(economical as well) and the Mcdonald's/KFC's etc..

Everything is walking from there, if you like to walk. OR rent a car - for about 55-70 MYR a day..or a bike for 40 MYR a day..Very reasonable..
You can drive/ride to all tourist attractions and reach in about 30 minutes to the farthest one.

The resort itself is a bit dated, but still is good value, because of the location.Condition is not really run down.
Rooms were spacious and clean.The Deluxe rooms come with a terrace or balcony each.
The beach villa's face the sea, and you literally walk only 1 minute to be on the beach.

All the rooms are anyway 5 minutes from the beach.

Food, I believe, is a little expensive at the resort with very few options in the room service menu.Breakfast buffet and egg counter was good.

Room service is only from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Staff was not very interactive but friendly though, when you would walk upto them for something.

I am not sure why they did not have a shower option along-with the bathtub?

Check-in was excellent & seamless.We arrived a few hours early, but despite a 3 PM check-in policy, we were given a room at no extra charge.That was good.Specially, when our son was tired and wanted to take a nap.

Wi-fi is a disappointment, since it works only in the lobby and Mentari restaurant.But we were busy with the beach and going around Langkawi, hence did not really bother us much.

Overall, nice location, decent enough place.Could be definitely better being a 4 Star property, but it was a good vacation.Would consider going back, if we plan another trip to Langkawi.

Room Tip: Book the beach villa, if you want to enjoy the beach.The beach villa's are perfectly located to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

We thank you for choosing The Frangipani for your recent vacation in Langkawi with your family and glad that you found our resort, being strategically located is very convenient to your expectations.

Your overall lovely comments on the resort in particular and on the Island in general are well received accept the staff at the resort although friendly but not receptive will be looked into for further improvement. The deluxe room that you stayed in was recently being refurbished and the resort being looked upon as a bit dated is being maintained while plans are insight for an upgrade including the additional coverage on the Wi-Fi facilities.

We are delighted that your overall stay has been satisfactory and we always look forward to welcome you and family to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.